We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everythings we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Ranked #52 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Everythings we wanted”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

A one night stay booked through a JR package:
Pluses: Good size of room, wonderfully clean, excellent bathroom, amazing breakfast, located very close to railway station, free pickup service to railway, quiet rooms and helpful front desk.
Minus: Room was too hot with no thermostat

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elgoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    573
    258
    54
    25
See reviews for
401
331
93
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guwahati, India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Very nice place to stay with considerably large rooms as per japan standards. The location is convenient with the station within four minutes of walking. And of course a very helpful team of front and bell desk.

The breakfast is a very good mix of International as well as Japanese.

On a whole a very nice experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank RajaG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

The room is a typical Japanese room, meaning small. I found everything to be clean, and the staff helpful. It's in a good location close to the train station and within walking distance of several temples.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Rooms are small. Beds are short. Mattress not very comfortable. Weird plastic-feeling blanket. Rooms are overheated and do not have individual thermostat. Bathroom stinks! Did I mention that the bathroom stinks?! I mean stinks as in smells badly. Did not want to be in there for a second longer than I had too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbl1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Perfectly located, just a few steps away from the JR station and the bus terminals.
It's a style of well-run Intourist Hotel. Rooms are small but well furnished.
The hotel is nice but without any bonus.
Good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyfr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had high hopes when we arrived at this hotel as it's in a great location and looks very smart from the outside and into the reception area, Unfortunately we found (as some others have) a few big downers, most notably that the entire property is centrally heated and the rooms are close the 30 degrees celcius. They have obviously had complaints as there was a small portable air conditioner in the room which coupled with opening the window (onto the railway track) and letting the 0 degree air in made it bearable.

We also surprisingly found the staff very rude - surprising because in our travels throughout Japan on this trip we were really taken by how charming, polite and lovely everyone we met was. I asked the concierge for a recommendation for dinner, she told me to "wait there", went out back then came back and dropped an English map on the desk and hurried away to do other things, Not great.

I also took my 13 year old daughter for a swim in the hotel pool. After charging us for the privilege the attendant pointed out all the rules for using the pool twice then followed us in and watched to make sure I guess we didn't do anything wrong. It was a very unsettling experience and we were out in 10 mins.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in October 2013, because we couldn't really find anything else. It is a very grand hotel and the rooms are nice enough but not worth what we paid for them. The hotel is near the train station but on the edge of everything else, although there is a free city bus which we made use of.

One thing I was annoyed at was, when my husband went for a swim in the morning, he had to pay extra for the swim, about £15, totally ridiculous and the pool was nothing special. There was wifi in the rooms and the buffet breakfast had a wide selection.

For the money I don't think this hotel was worth it and I would not return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopulou1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#45 of 369 in Kyoto
2,060 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#30 of 369 in Kyoto
837 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 369 in Kyoto
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#41 of 369 in Kyoto
1,087 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 369 in Kyoto
883 reviews
City Center
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto

Property: RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Address: 1 Taimatsu-cho, Shiokojisagaru, Higashihorikawadori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8237, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#22 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#29 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easily accessible to the Kyoto Station, only 7 minutes's walk away , RHIGA ROYAL HOTEL KYOTO is located within walking distance to World Heritages such as Toji Temple, Nishihonganji Temple and Higashihonganji Temple, and "Kyoto Aquarium" where you will have an exciting time with your family and friends and which is also popular spot for a date. You can enjoy truly relaxing time in our rooms equipped with an air cleaner with humidification function and free Wi-Fi. We are pleased to keep your luggage before your check-in as well as after your check-out, so that you can fully explore and discover Kyoto. We offer free shuttle bus service between Kyoto Station and our hotel and free parking facilities. We have Lounge & Bar and 6 restaurants where you can choose out of a variety of cuisine such as French, Japanese and Chinese. Amongst of those ,"Top of Kyoto" on the 14F which is the only one and unique French restaurant in Kyoto ,slowly turning around to command a beautiful and panoramic view of the townscape of Kyoto not only in the daytime but also in the nighttime, offers you a luxurious and delightful dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Kyoto
Kyoto Rihga Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing