We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nikko Princess Hotel Kyoto Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Ranked #20 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    424
    77
    15
    4
See reviews for
410
304
92
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

The Nikko Princess made our visit to Kyoto even better than expected. We were treated to an exceptional standard of service that is not matched at many 5-star hotels. Perhaps because it is smaller than some of the big name hotels in Japan, the staff knew our name very quickly and gave us only the best advice and service.
Special thanks go to the delightful concierge who treated us as though we were royalty at the Ritz in Paris. We wanted to get tickets to a performance of the Bunraku puppet theatre of Japan. Not only did she get us excellent seats, she went to the box office while we were touring the city and had the tickets for us when we returned.
The restaurants are excellent and diverse, the hotel's location is perfect for walkers, and the room amenities are just right for adventurous travelers.
If you choose the Nikko, ask for a room with a view of the city. They a tiny bit more expensive but well worth the extra room and the view.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isajk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Great hotel, very large comfortable rooms and fabulous bathroom.

Great breakfast buffet and very helpful staff.

However the location is indeed a bit out of it (three blocks fromthe hustle and bustle, on a narrow side street).

  • Liked — The large bathrooms
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capucine7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2008

We stayed here as part of a tour of Japan. The Nikko is pretty huge and rambling, but the rooms are spacious - particularly for a lone traveller, with comfortable beds and a truly magnificent bathroom - with comprehensive wet room and bath.

Only downer (admittedly not a great one) was the poor selection of dishes available at the buffet in the evening - we tried it the first night, being tired after travelling most of the day and decided not to bother again. You do get some fresh cooked dishes as part of the meal, but the main options are rather lacking in variety.

The selection is better, however, in the mornings for breakfast.

Great staff, except for one unfriendly chap on the reception desk who seemed to have got out of bed the wrong side. Mostly the front of house team were friendly, helpful and prepared to 'go the extra mile' - even if we weren't expecting them to.

A great stay - though I think the one thing that really made me not want to leave was probably that bathroom!

  • Liked — The staff and the bathroom
  • Disliked — Only the Evening buffet
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chakas_Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

The negatives: the location is a bit out of it, there is usually only one staff member on that speaks english, the entire hotel is very dated, the rooms are a bit scruffy and the restaurant (incl breakfast) is pretty ordinary.

The positives: the staff are always friendly, taxis are plentiful.

It's not that it's really bad, it's just not very good. We came straight from the beautiful Marriott Associa Nagoya and this was like going back down several notches. Couldn't really recommend it.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank jirrupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 369 in Kyoto
2,958 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 369 in Kyoto
1,202 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 369 in Kyoto
883 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#13 of 369 in Kyoto
2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto

Property: Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Address: 630 Takahashicho Karasuma Takatsuji Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8096, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel nikko princess kyoto is located in the heart of Kyoto City, close to major subways, private trains and major banks. The city's business and shopping centers are just around the corner, and major sightseeing areas are only a short distance away, including the Nishiki food market, Bukko-ji Temple and other traditional small shops and buildings. Additionally, you can find many historical aspects of Kyoto to enjoy within walking distance of the hotel. Our 216 guest rooms are very comfortable and equipped with all the modern conveniences you could expect. We proudly offer our excellent service and Kyoto's warm hospitality to all of our guests. We welcome you to stay at the hotel nikko princess kyoto and enjoy a wonderful time in Kyoto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Rakuten, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Princess Kyoto
Kyoto Nikko Princess Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing