We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, rather expensive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Ranked #20 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Excellent, rather expensive hotel”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile


I had a room on the executive floor (not my usual category) so I don't have a clue about the regular rooms. However, if you want a stylish and spacious (to Japanese standards: huge) room with a view and every comfort: recommended. Nikko is a classic Grand Hotel with excellent service and gracious staff. Of course, all the extras come with an assorted price tag, so you might want to skip breakfast and head to the Starbucks around the corner.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank ClemRobyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikkoprincesskyoto, 支配人 at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto.

I was so glad to hear that you liked the spacious room and enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim is to ensure we try our hardest to make all of our guests feel at home and meet their expectations.

Thank you for your kind feedback and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    424
    77
    15
    4
See reviews for
410
304
92
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stay there for six days.

Location of hotel is good. Close to MTR station. Quiet environment but only minutes away from the lively shopping district.

I love the bath room because it has a large shower space.

Buffet breakfast does not have too many choices but quality of food is good. But I don't quite understand why they only provides omelette. Fried egg is not available.

The hotel produces a map which is very useful for tourist. It even shows where to board buses to major sightseeing spots.

The pity thing about this hotel is the lack of English TV channel. Only CNN and the rest are Japanese channels.

Also be aware that they don't have a gym.

Overall I still rank it as an extremely nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dusty747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikkoprincesskyoto, 支配人 at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto.

I was happy that you found staying in the local area convenient, and that you enjoyed the quiet environment surrounding our hotel. It was also great to hear that you liked the bathroom.

Thank you for your comments about the breakfast and TV channels which we truly appreciate to improve our service and facilities. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important for us.
We are sincerely looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut, lebanon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Although the hotel seem outdated when entering into the reception area, the rooms are very clean and spacious. Shower area is huge, they have a large bathtub and a spacious area for a japanese style shower (plastic chair and bucket to shower while sitting).
Buffet breakfast has a large selection of pastries, eggs, juices etc....
Location of hotel is about 10-15 minutes by taxi to the main train station and about the same to the nice area of Gion. Wifi available in the rooms. A 7-eleven store is right by the corner of the hotel with ATM machines inside.

Room Tip: there isn't much to see from the room windows on either sides of the hotel, but better choose ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 159Holiday159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikkoprincesskyoto, 支配人 at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind words following your recent stay with us at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto.

I was delighted to hear that you liked our Japanese style bathroom with a large bathtub that pleases many of our guests. I was also happy that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet.
As you said above, we are in 10-15 min drive away from Kyoto station and Gion area, with a good transport links for bus and subway.

We appreciate your feedback and sincerely hope you will come back and stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

May be it's not the newest hotel, but rooms are big enough rooms, staff is friendly and it's near the subway station, 2 stations away from central Kyoto stations and connections to the Shinkansen. Breakfast is excellent, as the two restaurants are for having dinner after a tiresome tourism day. Price/quality ratio is slightly high, and, as above said, it needs some update.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis_de_Zaragoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikkoprincesskyoto, 支配人 at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto.

I was so happy that you liked the room, our stuff and the location. I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfast. We have cafe & dinning, Japanese, Teppanyaki grill and Chinese restaurant for lunch and dinner.
I have noted your comments that you felt our hotel old fashioned. We are aware that our hotel is in need of refurbishment in some parts and we all spend lots of energy in repairing those.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in March. The staff were very gracious and helpful when two in our family became ill. The buffet breakfast downstairs was excellent. The only drawbacks for us were: (1) no fitness center on site or anywhere near - the hotel directs you to an athletic club about a 1/2 mile away that doesn't open until 10 a.m.; (2) rooms were a bit stuffy - no form of room ventilation - e.g. fan. (In summer the A/C would be operating and in winter the heat, but in the spring you couldn't turn on either so the air was totally still. A/C was running in the common areas, just not the rooms.) The pluses outweighed the minuses for us. Again, the staff were extremely nice.

Room Tip: I would inquire about rooms that allow you to turn on fan and/or A/C if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E-and-E-Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikkoprincesskyoto, 支配人 at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto and we greatly appreciate your warm comments on our staff and breakfast.

However I sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience you have had during your stay. We operate our air conditioning system based on the temperature in/outside of our property, and in spring only the ventilation is working most of the days. I feel sorry that you were not able to relax in your room due to this.

We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback and truly hope that you will come back to Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Plus Points:
- good sized and very clean room.
- peaceful atmosphere throughout the hotel, despite having business / bridal conference facilities
- staff were extremely helpful in providing tourist information about the locality and answering our many "international guest" questions. Our trip to stay at Kawaguchiko (near to Mount Fuji) on a particularly busy weekend (that coincided with a public holiday on the Friday) would not have been possible without their help!
- good restaurant plus alternative options in the local area
- 7/11 and family mart nearby
- access to shopping and public transport at Shijo area (metro, jr line, buses)

Areas for Improvement:
- more diverse selection of TV channels (for films, documentaries) would be welcome for international guests. They use this as a method to encourage guests to use their on-demand tv / movie services.

Room tip:
- all rooms seemed to be very quiet and well furnished

Overall Take-away:
- this hotel is well in line with international standards. Good for either business or as a couple or small family.
- I enjoyed my stay here and would certainly stay here again if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: Room tip: - all rooms seemed to be very quiet and well furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MatthewScrivener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikkoprincesskyoto, 支配人 at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your kind review following your recent stay at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto.

I was very delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our guest rooms, peaceful atmosphere, location and most importantly the services you received. I have passed on your comments to our team, especially our concierge and they appreciated your kind words very much.
I would also like to thank you for your comments about TV channels. I am always happy to receive guest feedback as it enables us to improve our service.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We are all sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kyoto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just came back from Kyoto and I stayed at the Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto as we had an event there as well.
The staff and hospitality was great and I was warmly greeted each time I stepped in and out of the hotel. It would be great though if they could provide free wifi in the lobby area as I was early and could not check in till a while later.
Room wise, they managed to change my room from a twin to double as I was traveling alone, and was very thankful for. It was spacious and very comfortable, including the toilet! Free dedicated wifi provided in the room which was appreciated.
Location wise, they had quite a number of convenient stores around, as well as quite a number of restaurants in the various streets down. You definitely don't have to worry about not being able to get food. It was near to a lot of the local attractions, and took a really short taxi ride to get to them. If you were up for it, you could definitely walk as well.
All in all, great experience at the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Getassha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikkoprincesskyoto, 支配人 at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind words following your recent stay with us at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto.

I was so delighted that we were able to allocate you a room that suited your needs and that overall you enjoyed your stay and the service that we offer. I feel however sorry that we should have informed you that we do provide free wifi in the lobby.

We would love all of our guests to make us home away from home and sincerely hope that you will come and stay with us once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 369 in Kyoto
2,955 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 369 in Kyoto
1,201 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 369 in Kyoto
882 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#13 of 369 in Kyoto
2,346 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto

Property: Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Address: 630 Takahashicho Karasuma Takatsuji Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8096, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel nikko princess kyoto is located in the heart of Kyoto City, close to major subways, private trains and major banks. The city's business and shopping centers are just around the corner, and major sightseeing areas are only a short distance away, including the Nishiki food market, Bukko-ji Temple and other traditional small shops and buildings. Additionally, you can find many historical aspects of Kyoto to enjoy within walking distance of the hotel. Our 216 guest rooms are very comfortable and equipped with all the modern conveniences you could expect. We proudly offer our excellent service and Kyoto's warm hospitality to all of our guests. We welcome you to stay at the hotel nikko princess kyoto and enjoy a wonderful time in Kyoto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Princess Kyoto
Kyoto Nikko Princess Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing