We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent location, decent rates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Ranked #23 of 348 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
515 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, excellent location, decent rates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

After confusion with the taxi driver over whether the hotel was the "Prince" or "Princess" (I'm still not sure which), evrything went smoothly.

Service was excellent. Everyone was helpful and friendly, and most spoke pretty good English. Check-in and out was quick and smooth.

It is a slightly older hotel, but well-maintained and clean. It is in an excellent location. It is a short walk to Shijo Dori (the shopping district) and the Gion District. There are subway stops nearby, but we stuck with taxi. It was about 10 minutes from the train station by taxi.

Rooms are clean and comfortable, but a bit dated. They lack state-of-the-art electronics links. It's been a while since we've been to a hotel that hands out actual room keys as opposed to electronic card access!

We didn't try the restaurants. The lobby restaurant looks good, but there are so many choices nearby we didn't eat in the hotel.

Three Starbucks within a couple of blocks if you're addicted!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    364
    69
    12
    4
See reviews for
360
249
82
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The location is great, the service is polite and helpful. BUT the western breakfast is over priced and inedible. Packaged scrambled eggs isn't with the 2,500 yen!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We enjoyed the spa in the room. The bathroom is big enough like to use in the onsen. Staffs in the front desk and concierage are very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

This hotel is good choice For holidays. It is Fantastic, Service is very active and friendly. I don't fell a isolation though i was away from home. Cleaned rooms made a pleasant environment for a relief. From the entrance up to the room there was a warm welcome.. I really love to visit again................

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sampath m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

we stayed here for a conference. the round-shaped hotel is very clean but is oozes the glory of years ago. unfortunately it is located outside the city center, but with the subway nearby you're everywhere you want within minutes.
All in all ... a good stay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SebAndStevenStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santander, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Really good location. Close to the train station and not far away from the some touristic places.
If you want Kyoto to move to other locations is perfect !
Close to the train station there is also a bike rental business. The best way to know Kyoto
The staff is really nice and the room quite confortable

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
111 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

I would recommend the hotel to any business traveler. Nice spacious room, excellent bathroom with features to remember, good breakfast, friendly staff. The location is not exactely central but still in walking distance to the downtown area. The only downturn of my stay was the check out: while trying to pay my credit cards were not recognised and I noticed that some other European travelers had the same problem. It is worth to pay a day in advance as the check out turned out longer and more compliated than expected.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank show112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#16 of 348 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 348 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 2,614 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#24 of 348 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#12 of 348 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,932 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto

Property: Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Address: 630 Takahashicho Karasuma Takatsuji Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8096, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel nikko princess kyoto is located in the heart of Kyoto City, close to major subways, private trains and major banks. The city's business and shopping centers are just around the corner, and major sightseeing areas are only a short distance away, including the Nishiki food market, Bukko-ji Temple and other traditional small shops and buildings. Additionally, you can find many historical aspects of Kyoto to enjoy within walking distance of the hotel. Our 216 guest rooms are very comfortable and equipped with all the modern conveniences you could expect. We proudly offer our excellent service and Kyoto's warm hospitality to all of our guests. We welcome you to stay at the hotel nikko princess kyoto and enjoy a wonderful time in Kyoto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Agoda, Rakuten, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Princess Kyoto
Kyoto Nikko Princess Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing