We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent location, decent rates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Ranked #20 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

After confusion with the taxi driver over whether the hotel was the "Prince" or "Princess" (I'm still not sure which), evrything went smoothly.

Service was excellent. Everyone was helpful and friendly, and most spoke pretty good English. Check-in and out was quick and smooth.

It is a slightly older hotel, but well-maintained and clean. It is in an excellent location. It is a short walk to Shijo Dori (the shopping district) and the Gion District. There are subway stops nearby, but we stuck with taxi. It was about 10 minutes from the train station by taxi.

Rooms are clean and comfortable, but a bit dated. They lack state-of-the-art electronics links. It's been a while since we've been to a hotel that hands out actual room keys as opposed to electronic card access!

We didn't try the restaurants. The lobby restaurant looks good, but there are so many choices nearby we didn't eat in the hotel.

Three Starbucks within a couple of blocks if you're addicted!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,080)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

The location is great, the service is polite and helpful. BUT the western breakfast is over priced and inedible. Packaged scrambled eggs isn't with the 2,500 yen!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We enjoyed the spa in the room. The bathroom is big enough like to use in the onsen. Staffs in the front desk and concierage are very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This hotel is good choice For holidays. It is Fantastic, Service is very active and friendly. I don't fell a isolation though i was away from home. Cleaned rooms made a pleasant environment for a relief. From the entrance up to the room there was a warm welcome.. I really love to visit again................

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sampath m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

we stayed here for a conference. the round-shaped hotel is very clean but is oozes the glory of years ago. unfortunately it is located outside the city center, but with the subway nearby you're everywhere you want within minutes.
All in all ... a good stay

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebAndStevenStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Really good location. Close to the train station and not far away from the some touristic places.
If you want Kyoto to move to other locations is perfect !
Close to the train station there is also a bike rental business. The best way to know Kyoto
The staff is really nice and the room quite confortable

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

I would recommend the hotel to any business traveler. Nice spacious room, excellent bathroom with features to remember, good breakfast, friendly staff. The location is not exactely central but still in walking distance to the downtown area. The only downturn of my stay was the check out: while trying to pay my credit cards were not recognised and I noticed that some other European travelers had the same problem. It is worth to pay a day in advance as the check out turned out longer and more compliated than expected.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank show112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 376 in Kyoto
3,065 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 376 in Kyoto
1,264 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 376 in Kyoto
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#10 of 376 in Kyoto
2,434 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto

Address: 630 Takahashicho Karasuma Takatsuji Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8096, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $156 - $676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel nikko princess kyoto is located in the heart of Kyoto City, close to major subways, private trains and major banks. The city's business and shopping centers are just around the corner, and major sightseeing areas are only a short distance away, including the Nishiki food market, Bukko-ji Temple and other traditional small shops and buildings. Additionally, you can find many historical aspects of Kyoto to enjoy within walking distance of the hotel. Our 216 guest rooms are very comfortable and equipped with all the modern conveniences you could expect. We proudly offer our excellent service and Kyoto's warm hospitality to all of our guests. We welcome you to stay at the hotel nikko princess kyoto and enjoy a wonderful time in Kyoto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Princess Kyoto
Kyoto Nikko Princess Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing