We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great base for sightseeing and eating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Ranked #58 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A great base for sightseeing and eating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

This hotel, although somewhat pricy, is a solid place to be based out of for seeing Kyoto's numerous sights. Its key strength is that it is very close to the Kyoto Shiyakushomae metro stop on the Tozai line, and it is about a 5 min walk southeast across the river to Sanjo station on the Keihan line. With these two options, plus the bus system, its easy to move around town. Plus, getting here from Kyoto station only involved a few subway stops and one transfer.

From Kyoto Shiyakushomae subway stop, take the attached shopping center's exit 1 and walk west, and you'll see the sign in a minute. Check-in and out was smooth. Service was pretty good and they were able to promptly accommodate a couple of nonstandard requests. They have 2 handy desktop PCs and a printer in the lobby. I did not try any of the restaurants or the bar.

The floor I was on allowed access to the elevator only from one side, due to some poor building design. Unfortunately for me, I was on the side furthest from the elevator, and it really took forever to get to/from it... So ask for a room close to the lift! The clean twin room was not too small. There was a closet and fridge. The bed was a little small, but comfortable. It wasn't too hard to regulate the heater/AC. The bathroom was a very decent size for Japan, with a rare roomy sink area, and had some nice Shiseido products and a good bathrobe. The free Wifi wasn't super speedy, but got the job done. TV had BBC for keeping tabs on Putin's scheming, and maybe 1 other English channel. Housekeeping was quite good and polite - when I had my Do Not Disturb sign up, they always followed up later to see if I wanted housekeeping. A couple of weak points - I think the room I had was converted from a smoking room, because occasionally I could smell some unpleasant tinges of smoke at night. Also, the walls seemed a bit thin - I often heard goings-on in the hall or next rooms (crying babies and other delights). Travel with earplugs.

In the immediate vicinity are many good restaurants (try the pancake place on Kawaramachi-dori for a good eggs benedict when you tire of Japanese fare), 7-11/Family Mart convenience stores, currency exchange via discount ticket booking booth, bakeries, cafes (Starbucks to the southeast, not far from Sanjo station), and the Teramachi-dori shopping arcade across the street to the north. Its also a 5-10 min walk south to interesting Ponto-cho, Gion, and the somewhat tame (certainly isn't Fukuoka or Osaka) nightlife area of Kamiya-cho.

I had one oil based full body 60 min massage at the spa on the top floor. It was quite pricy, but undeniably good and relaxing (couple of times almost hurt at how good it felt). The staff is very polite, and they serve tea afterwards. If you have some $ to spare, its a good experience.

Overall, despite a few weaknesses due to iffy building design and thin walls, the excellent location and good service make this a solid recommendation if you've got a little money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank GMK1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear GMK1954,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at our hotel.

We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and proximity to public transportation. We apologize for any inconvenience you endured due to the noise from the surrounding rooms.

You may have noticed that we are located in a very exciting area with easy access to all means of transportation, great shopping and exciting places like Nishiki market. Perhaps when you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    692
    328
    92
    34
See reviews for
334
583
124
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Diamond Bar, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Not only was this hotel very clean and comfortable but it was also very reasonably priced and the location was great. Coming from Kyoto Station takes about 14 minutes by the subway line. Just take the Karasuma line get off at Karasumaoike station and transfer to the Tozai line and get off at the Kyoto Shiyakushomae station. After that it's a two minute walk to the hotel. There are tons of shops and restaurants around and best of all is walking distance from Gion district where you can go walk through the historic streets and catch a glimpse of some Geishas. In short, I would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Gabriela G,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our hotel. We are thankful that you appreciated our location, the service from our staff and that you found value for your money.

If you should decide to return to Kyoto may we suggest that you explore Teramachi dori with it’s great shops and restaurants and it will lead you directly to the Imperial Palace which is only a short walk away. You may also want to try our Kotoran spa and enjoy one of it’s relaxing treatments.

Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
588 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Very well located, not far from Pontocho, this hotel is very convenient to explore Kyoto. The bus to go to Kinkaku-ji stops right in front.
When we got to the reception, we were told that our room was not yet ready, and that we should come back later. We were not very happy with this, since we had requested early check-in. Nonetheless, they promptly offered to store our luggage.
The room was really disappointing:very small and not that cosy. The same goes for the bathroom. Though, everything was kept well cleaned. There was a kettle, coffee and tea available.
The staff was friendly and courteous, but at times, communication was complicated.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazinheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Hazinheira,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at our hotel.
We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and proximity to public transportation.
We apologize for any inconvenience you endured at check-in and because of the size of your room.

You may have noticed that we are located in a very exciting area with easy access to all means of transportation, great shopping and exciting places like Nishiki market. Perhaps when you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
240 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed two nights as a family with two young children. The hotel proved to be very conveniently located. We could walk to both shopping and sigtseeing districts.

Our room was large and comfortable. Clean. We didn't have breakfast included, but ate brunch in the ground floor cafe. Quite expensive, but good enough food.

Service at the hotel was very good, as expected.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Clara H,

Thank you for your generous comments about your stay at our hotel.

We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, your accommodations and the service from our staff. You may have noticed that we are located in a very exciting area with easy access to all means of transportation, great shopping and exciting places like Nishiki market. If you return to Kyoto you may also want to try our Kotoran spa and enjoy one of it’s relaxing treatments.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Featherston, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

What I like when we've been traveling for a month is a hotel with a 40% off drinks happy hour, which runs for two hours each night. Both nights we spent a happy couple of hours in the bar relaxing and drinking a range of great cocktails from the extensive drinks menu.

From the moment we arrived at this hotel the staff were friendly and efficient. The desk staff spoke English too, which was a nice surprise. From the bellhop to the bar and restaurant staff the service was consistently high.

Our room was clean and the beds firm and comfortable. We ate in-house a few times - for dinner and breakfast, which was nice each time. There's also a great sushi train nearby (head out the door, turn left, cross the crossing to your right at the intersection).

We recommend this as a great place to stay. About a $12 taxi ride from the station or a bus stops right outside too. Easy to get around places. There's also bikes for hire at the hotel, which could give you another fun option.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank emmamccleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Emmamccleary,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our hotel.

We are thankful that you appreciated our location, the service from our staff and Happy Hour in our Lounge Haven. If you should decide to return to Kyoto may we suggest that you explore Teramachi dori with it’s great shops and restaurants and it will lead you directly to the Imperial Palace which is only a short walk away. You may also want to try our Kotoran spa and enjoy one of it’s relaxing treatments.

Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
154 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

this hotel is great. excellent location, not far from the subway and within walkinh distance from the shopping (e.g. 0101, Daimaru, etc) and dining area. Very friendly staff who speaks very good English. Room is clean and tidy, I especially like the air filtration and humidifier in the room. However the room is way too hot and stuff and the pillow was horrible. Got a stiff neck from it. The washroom also smells a bit but that goes away after a while. The complimentary breakfast was ok but would be more attractive if the food was better and more variety is given.

Nevertheless, great hotel overall. Woule come back if i visit kyoto again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jensen0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Jensen Y,

Thank you for your generous comments about your stay at our hotel.

We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, your accommodations and service you received from our staff. We apologize for any inconvenience you endured because of the warmth of your room.

You may have noticed that we are located in a very exciting area with easy access to all means of transportation, great shopping and exciting places like Nishiki market. Perhaps when you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Hotel have surpassed our expectations. Good service, big room, comfortable furniture and well-equiped bathroom. Although room itself was not big, there were enough space for two persons.
Very good location, you can reach Gion in the evening and take a bus to go everywhere else at day time.
Hotel staff is very supportive and organized, they can give you informative city maps and bus schedules - just ask!
Good value/price ratio.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Julia,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our hotel.

We are thankful that you appreciated our location, the service from our staff and that you found value for your money. If you should decide to return to Kyoto may we suggest that you explore Teramachi dori with it’s great shops and restaurants and it will lead you directly to the Imperial Palace which is only a short walk away.

You may also want to try our Kotoran spa and enjoy one of it’s relaxing treatments.

Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#31 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#33 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa

Property: Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Address: Sanjyo Agaru Kawaramachi, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8005, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#30 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Royal Hotel And Spa
Kyoto Royal Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing