We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Ranked #68 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located for sightseeing & is close to interesting Pontocho with many restaurants. We had a room with an excellent view of Higashiyama on the east side of Kyoto. The room itself was small but perfectly adequate. Recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ST2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, マネージャー at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear ST2001,

Thank you for your generous comments about your stay at our hotel.

We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and value for money. We are indeed located in a very exciting area with easy access to all means of transportation, great shopping and exciting places like Nishiki market.

Perhaps if you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,592)
There are newer reviews for Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 600 of 1,592 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here just one Sunday night. I booked a Single beded-room that should be very small, but luckily got upgraded to Superior twin. Two beds, a work desk, and sitting place with a table and 2 chairs. Clean, reasonably equipped, simply farnished, there were neither something wrong nor anything too fussy.
Both Keihan line and Subway line are close. Just one station away on Keihan is the station for Gion. But actually you can just walk to Gion area in a sunny day along the Kamo river or along a shopping street. I enjoyed that small sight seeing.
This is the center of the active city so you do not miss to eat, drink, shop, get some snacks and see. I went to one of the traditional sweet shop and tea room around Hotel Okura looking over Ichi-no-Funairi(small canal) which is just a street away and I had dinner at a restaurant in a historic building(ex-Shimadzu corp's building) beside the City hall. They are both nice and you can get some sense of old Kyoto and early modern Kyoto. Handy!
It was my bussiness trip but still I can enjoy Kyoto for a while. This location made that possible!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tthd874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, マネージャー at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear tthd874,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and value for your money. It is indeed a very exciting area with easy access to all means of transportation, great shopping and exciting places like Ponto-cho and Gion. Perhaps if you return to Kyoto you can try our affordable restaurant Prandia.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a great stay.

Check in smooth, very welcoming and efficient. We were told we would be disturbed by building work in the daytime - much apologies were given and we each received a little gift of apology. We heard workmen for about 1 hour of our first day and that was it! The restaurant was shut but we don't usually dine in anyway.

The room was reasonably generous by Japanese standards.- a proper double bed, a chair as well as a dressing table, TV and fridge and a full size tub in the bathroom. It felt like an oasis after the hustle and bustle of transferring from Tokyo with big bags in train stations!

Our view was the centre of a hotel i.e. some skylights and a brick wall. We didn't book the hotel for the view, we kept the curtains shut most of the time. The bed was comfortable, Japanese style pillows (soft one side, with a grain on the other - pretty good for putting your head and neck in the right position). The room had a sort of climate control where you can adjust the speed. Adjusting the speed made little difference and it was just cool enough. This was June and it's pretty hot so I imagine it would be adequate most of the time, but if it got any hotter it could be a struggle.

My only small concern was the alarm clock built into the headboard which was quite bright above me at night (I am really not good at light when it comes to sleeping). However we discovered that the magnetic do not disturb/ please make up the room signs were the perfect size for blocking this out! Problem solved...

The hotel is in a great place - on a bus and subway route, near the City Hall and it's really easy to get around. Get a 2 day Kyoto sightseeing pass and use it on any bus or subway train. The hotel provide a local area map - but you would probably want an official bus map too.

We went all over the place - NIjo Castle, various shrines, the Golden Pavilion, the Manga Museum etc and the hotel was welcome respite from all the walking! We didn't use the restaurant or bar so can't comment on this (but can recommend the Irish Bar "Dublin" round the corner!!)

We love Kyoto and realised that 4 days isn't enough. We really want to come back, and we would gladly stay here when we do so. We had such a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraBarton76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, マネージャー at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear SaraBarton76,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our hotel.

First of all we wish to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay because of our renovations. We are thankful that you appreciated our location and your accommodations. We are indeed located so close to many of Kyoto’s attractions and shopping.

If you should decide to return to Kyoto may we suggest that you explore Teramachi dori with it’s great antique shops and restaurants and it will lead you directly to the Imperial Palace which is only a short walk away. It’s also fun to just zig zag the different little streets to really appreciate life in Kyoto.

Again we apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and I invite you to contact me directly if I may be of further assistance.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We would not recommend the hotel unless you can get an outside twin bedroom. We had a very small room with a double bed looking towards an inner court (prison like). We were not able to change as the hotel was full of school groups. We were two couples staying three nights. The reception never came back with an alternative. The bathroom is very small and the shower is in the bath. AC cannot be controlled. We wanted to have lunch at the restaurant near the lobby around 11.30 am and were told that it was full up for the kids who at 1 pm were still nowhere. The lobby is dark and not inviting. The location is very good close to shopping and Gion area but we would look for another hotel when we returned to Kyoto.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank u-8054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, マネージャー at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear u-8054,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our hotel.

First of all we wish to sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We are thankful that you appreciated our location. We are indeed located so close to many of Kyoto’s attractions and shopping.

If you should decide to return to Kyoto may we suggest that you explore Teramachi dori with it’s great shops and restaurants and it will lead you directly to the Imperial Palace which is only a short walk away.

Again we apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and I invite you to contact me directly if I may be of further assistance.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Visited in April 2013. Hotel is situated about 15 minutes taxi ride from the main station where the shinkansen arrives. Buses stop in front of the hotel. The room is big for Japanese standards. Unfortunately the room was very hot, and the airco does not seem to be able to cool the room. The girl at the front desk told us to put the airco on "high" so we did. At night, the temperature got around 26 degrees Celsius while the outside temperature was only 15 degrees. It was very uncomfortable. We tried opening a window but they were locked. The next morning we complained and the girl at the reception told us to put the airco "low"because they increased the temperature of the building air conditioning system. Apparently the air conditioning cannot be adjusted individually per room. The room continued top be very hot so we were offered a fan which helped a only bit. Breakfast buffet is quite expensive, about 2350 Yen per person and we have seen better during our stay in Japan. Staff speaks English and helped us book the Geisha dances in Kyoto. Overall the hotel is not bad but a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, マネージャー at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Daan M,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our hotel.

First of all we wish to sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We are looking into solutions to avoid this situation in the future.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel.  It is indeed a very exciting area with easy access to all means of transportation, great shopping and exciting places like Ponto-cho and Gion.

Again we apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and thank you for bringing these to our attention. I invite you to contact me directly if I may be of further assistance.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Reception service and staff very polite and helpful.
Location is very good to get to other parts of Kyoto and also just to walk to many sights and restaurants.
However, being on the main busy road, it is noisy into the early hours of the AM and can wake you up. Bedrooms are ok, more 3* not 4* as quoted on many hotel-booking websites.
If you can get a good rate, then this should be a satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanBh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, マネージャー at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear SanBh,

Thank you for your generous comments about your stay at our hotel. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, the service of our staff.

We are indeed located in a very exciting area with easy access to all means of transportation, great shopping and exciting places like Nishiki market. Perhaps if you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was in Kyoto for a conference and I stayed at the Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa for 6 nights. First, the upside to my stay is that the hotel is in an excellent location which is near Sanjo station as well as the infamous Gion street. There are also several buses you can take to explore Kyoto, for which I recommend that you buy from the reception a one-day bus pass for 500 yen. However, for the price paid I found the rooms to be too small (expected in Japan) but you can get better deals nearby but I hardly stayed in the room anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amezeini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, マネージャー at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear AhmedElMezeini,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. It is indeed a very exciting area with easy access to all means of transportation, great shopping and exciting places like Ponto-cho and Gion. Perhaps if you return to Kyoto you can try our affordable restaurant Prandia.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#36 of 373 in Kyoto
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#37 of 373 in Kyoto
2,057 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#46 of 373 in Kyoto
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa

Address: Sanjyo Agaru Kawaramachi, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8005, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#30 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $104 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Rakuten, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Royal Hotel And Spa
Kyoto Royal Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing