We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious suites, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Ranked #58 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spacious suites, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I usually stay at business hotels or hostels while traveling around Japan but the Royal Kyoto Hotel had an unbelievable deal for their facebook friends so I took advantage of the offer and booked a standard room here. When I checked in and went up to my room I found out, much to my delight, that I got upgraded to a suite. It was extremely spacious and quite over the top for a solo traveller but I wasn't about to complain! The rooms are at international hotel standards and very comfortable.

The location of the hotel can't be beat, right on Kawaramachi Street, one of the main streets in downtown Kyoto. There are plenty of restaurants around and the location is great for access to both buses and subway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMiss29er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, マネージャー at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear LittleMiss29er,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning your stay at our hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the location of our hotel. It’s also nice to hear that you appreciated our Facebook offer and upgrade. In addition to the great shopping in our area, we are also close to many beautiful temples and exciting places like Nishiki market. Next time we invite you to enjoy a cocktail in the comfort of our Lounge Haven.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    692
    328
    92
    34
See reviews for
334
583
124
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel was a great location, front staff fantastic and very helpful. We were disappointed though as the internet didn't work in our room and couldn't be fixed. The spa wasn't operating either. Also the WIFI was hit and miss in the lobby. The rooms were very very small for our family of four. Had trouble moving around our luggage and our suitcases didn't fit on the stand provided (63cm),
If you just want some where convenient to stay and somewhere to crash each night this is ok. Again though we do rely on having access to internet for forward planning as this was a problem.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the size of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, マネージャー at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Susan O,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our hotel.

We are disappointed to hear that that you had issues with the internet and that these were not resolved. We are in the process our upgrading our equipment and installing wifi throughout the hotel. We are also renovating our Spa to better serve our guests with new facilities starting in March.

We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and thank you for bringing these to our attention. I invite you to contact me directly if I may be of further assistance.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

A very clean and friendly hotel. The hotel is well situated near to bars,restaurants and the shops. The rooms are clean and minimalistic. The staff are efficient and friendly.We didn't
Eat in the hotel but can recommend a patisserie just around the corner for a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, マネージャー at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Annie186346,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning your stay at our hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the location of our hotel. It is indeed a very exciting area with easy access to all means of transportation, great shopping and exciting places like Ponto-cho and Gion.  Perhaps if you return to Kyoto you can try our affordable restaurant Prandia.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
246 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The rooms are nice, clean, the design can be a little old, but its a great hotel fr anyone who wants to walk around downtown in the evening- be close to where all the action is or could be...
The breakfast is quite varied and worth it, and it has quite a few good restaurants for dinner in the vicinity. Definitely the best located hotel in its rank in town.

Room Tip: Would be best to get a room that is not next to the elevators, with many people coming in and out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mish_H50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, マネージャー at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Mish H,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning your stay at our hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the location of our hotel. It is indeed a very exciting area. Every little street and arcade holds an incredible number of shops and surprises. Perhaps if you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We loved our 4 night stay at this hotel. It on the tail end of the downtown shopping area, which means that there are tons of bus and metro station connections for other city sight seeing. Behind the hotel are also a slew of fantastic restaurants--we included an italian restaurant as well as a organic, local japanese restaurant. In addition, the hotel bar was lovely--sophisticated but cozy--a great option when you just want one nightcap and looking to avoid the "service" (cover) change that is often charged in Japanese bars. Out rate may have been a little cheaper than normal ($90 USD) because the spa was closed while we were there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimpleNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, マネージャー at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear dimpleNYC,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning your stay at our hotel.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of your room and found our hotel conveniently located near so much shopping, restaurants and close to many means of transportation. Glad also that you enjoyed our Lounge Haven and perhaps next time you can try our own restaurant Prandia.
We apologize for the inconvenience of our Spa being closed. We are renovating to better serve our guests and Kotoran will be reopening in March.
We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
285 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on the basis of its location and price. The hotels location is its greatest asset. It is well located to access Kyoto’s attractions with the subway around the corner, a bus stop nearby, and sights including the Gion District, Pontocho and Nishiki market within walking distance. The hotel is close to many restaurants, cafes and shops. Kyoto's tourist sights are spread throughout the city so access to transport is important to maximise your time.

The hotel room was surprisingly large by Japanese standards, it was comfortable, clean and contained all the amenities that I required. The staff were exceptionally polite and welcoming, including showing me my room when I arrived, providing maps of Kyoto and offering advice on the best way to get to the various sites around Kyoto. Small things like this make a difference to the overall experience. It is not the most modern hotel and I did not eat at the hotel restaurants as there is so many good value choices in the surrounding streets.

As mentioned elsewhere there is no wifi in the rooms (only in the lobby) which I found unusual for a 4 star hotel. I read the hotel is addressing this. If you do have a laptop you can still access the internet via cable in the room.

For the price I paid to stay here I felt the hotel was good value and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, マネージャー at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Adam JK_82

Thank you for your generous comments concerning your stay at our hotel.

We are happy to hear that you found our hotel conveniently located close to many of Kyoto’s famous areas of interest and that you enjoyed our service.

Our wifi service will soon be available in all of our rooms and if you return to our hotel we invite you to try Prandia our restaurant or Haven our lounge and try one of our famous cocktails.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is conveniently situated near a subway and buses for sightseeing Kyoto. The room was spacious enough to fit two big luggages (for Japan standards). The hotel staff service was great and friendly. The only con to this place is the poor wifi reception in the lobby. A few guests had to stand nearby a restaurant to be able to access the wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mokona_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud_Payette, マネージャー at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Mokona_hols,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning your stay at our hotel with your family.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, the spaciousness of your room and the service you received from our team. We apologize for the wifi reception and can inform you that in the coming year we will be offering free wifi reception in all of our rooms.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#31 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#33 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa

Property: Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Address: Sanjyo Agaru Kawaramachi, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8005, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#30 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Royal Hotel And Spa
Kyoto Royal Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing