We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Ranked #63 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
201 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great location but expensive”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We have booked this hotel via booking.com which offered great deal of 65 USD/night for a double room. And there is a catch: booking gets the worse, smallest room on the 4th floor.The room was soo tiny that we could barely stand on one side of the bed but there was no place for suitcases to be placed or even opened. Total disaster.This is not what was shown when booking on booking.com. Moreover there was some terrible noise from downstairs (the floor was really shaking). The room under was some kind of storage where they bring dirty laundry etc. We went to complain at the reception.At first they told us they would send staff member to verify the level of noise (???) as if we were lying!Then they tried to place us in a smoking room (!!!!!) which of course was unacceptable. In the end we decided to cancel our stay and were offered a twin room for this one night (it was already very late at night).
The twin room was a nice surprise: comfy, spacious room with 2 beds that we managed to put together. We decided that if they allow us to stay in a twin, we would go for it for the rest of our stay. Reception told us this was possible but we had to move to the 10th floor as our floor was booked by a large group. And what a great surprise: we got the 10th floor executive twin, with a separate overhead shower and separate bath with hydro massage. The room was very large with a mini sofa on top and two really large beds. Some people mentioned the terrible pillows, well they were great in the executive. We stayed there for 6 nights and loved it and were not charged extra.
The hotel is extremely well located (1 min from metro), in front of 5 stars Okkura Hotel, walking distance to everything, including shrines and temples that are just on the other side of the river (30 min walk towards the mountains- a nice sightseeing walk). However, cigarette smell everywhere, including the restaurant (which is out of price btw), corridors and reception hall. Very friendly staff. There is an overpriced SPA (facial for 180 USD). French pastry shops (boulangerie) located nearby (great for breakfast in the room). A shopping arcade full of divers shops, including souvenirs just on the other side of the street.

Room Tip: Advise: avoid booking with booking.com and book an executive room.(the price was 220 USD). Beware so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archimedesrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, General Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa.

We are pleased you found the location ideally suited to your requirements. As you have highlighted, the subway station is only 1 minute away, plus the hotel has the benefit of the city bus stopping at the front of the hotel and many major tourist attractions within walking distance.

I was disappointed to learn the first room you booked failed to meet your requirements. The hotel has many room types from standard rooms to suites and these area available on all major websites. I am pleased however that you ultimately received a room that met your satisfaction.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Best regards

Clive Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    715
    334
    99
    38
See reviews for
348
605
125
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Zama, Japan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

This hotel was a good location, close to the train station so you could get around easily, however, the rooms were super small. We expected that, being a Japanese hotel, but it was small. You could barely get into the bathroom and close the door, it was so tiny. We didn't try to breakfast, as it was very expensive, but there are many little pastry places all around that we ate at instead. Probably wouldn't stay here again. Free internet was nice though.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandacarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, General Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa.

We are pleased you found the hotel conveniently located, within 100 meters of the Subway station and with city buses at the hotel's doorstep. The hotel is also in walking distance of many famous tourist attractions such as Pontocho and Gion.

I am disappointed to here you found the room a little small for your requirements. The hotel has a very large array of room types from Single rooms to larger family rooms. The hotel website has a full list of these as well as rooms sizes.

Again, thank you for your review of Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa.

Best regards

Clive Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is a nice hotel in a good location in Kyoto. It's about 100 metres from Sanjo subway station (if memory serves me correctly), near to the river and within walking distance of Gion and other main areas. Twin room was of a decent size and overall a nice stay. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: I booked quite last minute online and got a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham07930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, General Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa.

We are pleased you found the location so convenient. As you have highlighted, the subway station is only 100 meters away, city buses stop at the hotel front and we are within walking distance of many major tourist attractions such as Pontocho and Gion.

Again, thank you for reviewing the Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa.

Best regards

Clive Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed at the Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa for 3 nights while attending a conference recently in Kyoto. The room was very small although clean. Free internet was a bonus, but the floor I was on was in need of refurbishing as was my room.

Service was a little inconsistent - left hanging on the end of the phone by the reception desk etc.

The best thing was that the hotel had a couple of bicycles for hire (1300 yen - I think for up to the whole day). Took an early morning ride and it was very easy to get to some of the temples (Kodaiji) and the Gion district. Lots of interesting restaurants close by as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, General Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa.

Firstly, my sincere apologies for the less than adequate service you received when calling the Front Desk. This is service shortfall is unacceptable and I have personally discussed this with my team to ensure such incidents do not happen again.

We are pleased you found the location suitable to your requirements. The hotel is located within 100 meters of the subway station, City buses stop at the front of the hotel and we are within a short walk of many major tourist attractions including Pontocho and Gion. As you have mentioned, the hotel is also located in the entertainment and restaurant district.

You have also mentioned that cycling is a great way to see Kyoto and the hotel has bicycles for rent.

Again, thank you for your review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

If you are going here expecting a 5 star experience you will be disappointed, but it is excellent value for the money. Rooms are comfortable, nice views of the river, great location and helpful concierge. I recommend going with a cheaper hotel like this one and using the money saved on some top Kyoto restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pathcontrolmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, General Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa.

We are pleased the hotel met your expectation and your budget. As you mentioned, the hotel is ideally located within the key entertainment, shopping and restaurant district. Buses leave from the front of the hotel and the subway station is 1 minute walk away. Major tourist attractions such as Pontocho and Gion are also within a short walk.

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our Concierge, she is very knowledgable and an asset to the hotel.

Again, thank you for your positive comments.

Best regards

Clive Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My partner and I stayed in a Superior Double room which was very spacious and definitely enough size for the both of us and our three luggages.
It was our first time in Japan and having not realised that their street numbering system is not of the conventional system, it was actually really difficult for us to find the hotel. We asked cab drivers, even the 7-11 across the street and they weren't able to tell us the exact location of the hotel, until finally after 30 mins stranded in the street we found one person that told us we were standing across the road! So from my personal experience, I would suggest making sure you have a transfer pre-booked instead of catching the bus from the train station (as we did).
The hotel itself was lovely, quite average, but polite and friendly staff, the hotel was quite clean (there were parts of our room which were dated, e.g. difficult stains in the carpet), the bedroom was very clean. Free wired internet in the rooms which was handy, very basic ammenities. I thought the bed was incredibly comfortable, I found it difficult to get up every morning! The beds do tend towards the harder side though.
The biggest selling point though is definitely the location, essentially in downtown, and right in front of a beautiful picturesque river, and within walking/bike riding distance to many attractions.
We did get this room at a fantastic rate though which made it great for value (approx AUD 250 total for three nights), though to be honest if we had paid as much as some of the reviewers on here have noted, my review might be different.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpha5723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, General Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa.

We are pleased you found the location so appealing, however it appears you found the exact location a little difficult to find.

The hotel being located on Kawaramachi Street is in the middle of the main shopping and entertainment area. Our website has detailed directions and we are only 100 meters from the Subway station.

We are glad you enjoyed the beds and found the staff polite.

Again, thank you for your review of Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa.

Best regards

Clive Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Had a fantastic room with separate lounge area, more like a suite! Had breakfast included which was good. Staff spoke English & were very helpful & friendly. Concierge has helpful sheets with bus timetables & bus numbers to make sightseeing easy & the bus stop is right out front of the hotel. Two computers on the ground floor for guests & wifi. Bath/ hair products provided in rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezza19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, General Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay. As you mentioned, the hotel is ideally located with the city bus at our doorstep, the subway only 100 meters away, and many tourist attractions such as Gion and Pontocho located within an easy walk.

All of our rooms have complimentary amenities such as toothbrushes, razors, hair brushes, shampoo, conditioner, soap etc.

Again, thank you for your positive review of Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa.

Best regards

Clive Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#33 of 369 in Kyoto
517 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#32 of 369 in Kyoto
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto
City Center
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa

Property: Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Address: Sanjyo Agaru Kawaramachi, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8005, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#30 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Royal Hotel And Spa
Kyoto Royal Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing