We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Excellent quality hotel in Kyoto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kyoto Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Ranked #22 of 349 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent quality hotel in Kyoto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great rooms in this large hotel. Very helpful staff with a good amount who can speak English. Only 2 lifts mean a wait at peak times. Good breakfast & decent open area bar. Very comfortable beds & quiet rooms. Slightly outside the centre but only a 10 minute taxi ride. Right next to the Imperial Palace with a nice park on the doorstep. The outdoor pool was closed in November & the hotel has no spa - the only negative in this stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awayagain_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    283
    55
    17
    9
See reviews for
268
236
39
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is in fact, a great hotel. The four star rating reflects it's location, which is not centrally located. Had I read reviews on TA beforehand, I would have been better prepared for this aspect of the hotel!! The rooms are fabulous, the staff very friendly and the handy shuttle actually works...once you figure it out!! Subway system in Kyoto not as convenient as Tokyo so this makes getting around a bit more of a challenge. All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I visited Kyoto in October and had the great pleasure of staying at the Brghton Hotel. Simply put it was a fantastic experience. The Brighton is a 5-star, very modern hotel located in a Kyoto suburb, 10 minutes walk from the Imperial Palace. Extremely corteous and helpful staff, excellent and very large rooms and bathrooms, two choices of restaurants (one Japanese, the other Western), and a very nice cafe are some of the features of this hotel . Unquestionably a hotel we would stay on again were we to return to Kyoto. As mentioned, the hotel is in a suburb but a free shuttle takes guests to and from the metro (subway) station every 20 minutes, from where Kyoto (main) JR train station can be reached in minutes; and -if like us- you have a JR Rail Pass, you can easily make one-day trips to either Nara, Osaka, Himeji or other places. While some persons may think that the hotel location could be an issue, that was not our case at all... on the contrary, being in a secluded are just added to the charm of the city; and a Seven-Eleven store 1.5 blocks away from the hotel is a good place to get some essentials, as is convenient a casual French restaurant nearby. Some people, not us, may regret that only one English TV channel is available. Kyoto visitors may want to get the daily bus passes which make visiting the many wonderful attactions even more pleasurable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soulsama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Kyoto Brighton Hotel and it was wonderful. We travelled with a toddler and we needed the extra space, and the hotel did not disappoint!

The room was spacious (even by Australian standards) and beautifully appointed, and the bathroom was luxurious with a great shower and tub!

The hotel staff were incredibly helpful and polite and most spoke English. We didn't eat at the hotel, so I can't comment.

Aside from taxis, we used the shuttle bus a fair bit to get to the train station Karasuma Oike. The bus leaves every 20mins and based on our experience, it is always on time (it cuts both ways - 10secs late and you will miss the bus!). FYI: it costs approx 1,500yen in taxi fare from Kyoto station to the hotel, not too bad if you have luggage.

The hotel doesn't have WiFi in the room but I was able to access the free lobby area WiFi by standing near the room door.

My only gripe about the hotel is its location. Food options are really limited in the area. It is a pain to get to the department stores and Gion area attractions. On the plus side, the hotel is close to the Imperial Palace and Nijo Castle.

Overall I rated the hotel as excellent as we really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A very well run hotel with excellent service in a quiet residential location near the Imperial Palace park. The shuttle bus to a major subway station and central downtown avenue is handy. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KitMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
96 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is definitely value for money. Service is excellent, and the rooms are very well-appointed. Shower and toilet facilities are excellent.
Breakfast is too expensive at 23,000 yen. There is a convenient shuttle bus taking you into town every half hour.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GGlen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The staff make this place. Stayed six nights. Large quiet room. I lost my phone in a taxi. The front desk called ALL the taxi companies trying to locate it. I also recommend some of the neighbourhood restaurants - for breakfast we walked around the corner to a place called Brazil - great cheese on toast and salad served by a man who knows his coffee. For dinner we went to a great place two blocs away. Hotel restaurant is very good as well. Again, recommendations came from the assistant manager.

I liked that the hotel was in a residential area and the Imperial Palace gardens is great for runners (him) or walkers (me). It's all so close anyway - the station was only a 15 min walk. Would recommend riding bikes to all the sites - actually this is the only issue with the hotel. Their bikes are old.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timetotravel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 349 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 2,660 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#18 of 349 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#12 of 349 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,978 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Brighton Hotel

Property: Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Address: 330 Shiteicho, Nakadachiuri, Shinmachi-dori, Kamigyo-ku | (West side of Gosho), Kyoto 602-8071, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Nishijin District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 349 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kyoto Brighton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning HotelLocated at heart of Kyoto with newly renovated Atrium lobby and bar. The hotel has won 4 Black Pavilion on Michelin's guide in 2012 and is located near Nijo Castle, Nishi-jin and other must see tour spots. Facilities and servicesFree shuttle bus to Karasumaoike is available. Also there are 6 restaurants/bars offering cuisines from traditional Japanese to contemporary Western with chef from International Culinary Olympics Japan team. Spacious Guest roomsRenovated in 2010, all rooms include hotel's original brand Dream Journey Bed, large size bathtub and a cotton waffle bathrobes with night shirts. Flat-screen TV is viewable from both the bed and dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kyoto Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing