We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely hotel with amazing staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kyoto Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Ranked #21 of 351 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely hotel with amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were made to feel incredibly welcome throughout our stay. From the manager that left some sweets and a note in our room (as it was our honeymoon) to the staff that were always willing to help with any questions we could throw at them.
The hotel itself was excellent with a number of different restaurants on site. We didn't use the fitness centre as we weren't there for long.
It's possible to walk from the hotel to the centre of Kyoto but it might take a bit of time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    294
    57
    17
    10
See reviews for
279
250
42
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have been to Kyoto in last summer and stayed at this fantastic hotel. The room and bathroom were very clean and in good size (not too small as in Japan some of good price hotel offers really tight room). There were good selection of restaurants, especially the Chinese restaurant offered good set deal even though we do not normally look for bargain food but that was one of nice Chinese meals we've had in Japan. The pool was bit small and quiet but pleasant. The room rate was very good price because of the location I think. It is bit far from city center, you need to take some bus from Kyoto station and it is located in very residential area.
In overall, very happy staying it was.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eatcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

A very nice, welcoming hotel, with extremely helpful staff. Rooms were excellent ,well equipped and plenty of space.
The outside pool is a delight - don't overlook it!
Didn't get time to use the fitness centre or spa ... too much to do in Kyoto in just 3 days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuttonFamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

It has taken me a long time to get around to writing this review. My family lived in Tokyo in 2011 and after the March 11 earthquake went to Kyoto for "a weekend" to get a break from the aftershocks. We booked the Brighton after getting to the train station in Kyoto and could not have been more pleased with it. The staff are beyond good. While we were in Kyoto, Fukushima happened and we were unable to return to Tokyo for about a week. The staff at the Brighton helped us find everything from a place to wash our clothes to purchase medicine for our sick 8 year old (they even wrote down what we needed in Japanese and called the pharmacy to ask them to stay open late until we could get there). We were dressed like what we were--refugees--but they treated us so kindly and respectfully. They even made room for us when we found we would have to extend our stay. When we finally left, we asked the Brighton to mail some things back to the US for us, which they did with great efficiency.

The hotel is lovely, the rooms are spacious and lovely. The bathroom was huge!!!! And, the bathroom was filled with everything you need. The hotel restaurant is really good (although a bit pricey).

We would definitely stay at the Brighton again. I have nothing but good things to say. I am having to falsify the date I stayed here, though, because the list doesn't go far enough back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

A very nice hotel for business trips, putting up your guests for a wedding, or if you have the bucks for a vacation. I was lucky to stay here during a conference. Beautiful rooms with big bath tub, shower and techno bidet. Nice views and extremely helpful staff. I think dedicated for your every move. The breakfast Japenese, and international buffet were both very good. The center of the hotel is one large atrium and they frequently use it for concerts. When we were there there was an exceptional opera singer on.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank lunamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

I booked this hotel through Expedia and got a great price otherwise I couldn't have afforded a place so nice. This hotel is beautiful with a large lobby atrium surrounded by 6 floors of rooms. Rooms are large by Japanese standards and have daily newspapers and small refriderators. It seems there are lots of wedding parties held in the ball rooms on the ground floor as there was always a bride in her wedding dress posing for photos somewhere in the lobby.
Big room, big bathroom, the bed was rather hard but I slept very well. Nice bed linens and pillows.
The hotel is located in a strange place however in the middle of a residential neighborhood and not really close to any restaurants. It is a 10 min walk to two subway stations but there is a free shuttle bus every 20 minutes to and from the Karasuma-Oike subway station (go up the stairs at subway station exit #1 and wait by the curb - not the nearby public bus stop).

All in all everything was perfect and the hotrel staff was first class.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonpieh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, Usa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

What a lovely place. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, and the room (suite) was very spacious and comfortable. We paid plenty for it at about $550 a night in November, which is high season because of the fall colours, however, when we were originally going to go in March, we would have only paid $290, so quite a difference there. I really wanted the whole family to accommodate one room instead of 2 small ones in the heart of Kyoto, so I paid up. It is situated in a residential area, about 8 mins walk to the station or bus stop. The palace gardens are only 5 mins away. Also the Nishijin Textile Center is only 10 mins walk and worth visiting. The place isn't in the heart of kyoto (about 2 subway stops), but if you don't mind walking a little to get to transport, which is when you see how real Japanese live and shop, then this is a true gem. A 7/11 convenience store is a block away, and was great for us to grab breakfast food to take to the room and place in the fridge. Our bedroom had 2 twins (which could sleep 2 people each), and the living room had a long slender couch, almost 'S' shaped, which our kids insisted they wanted to sleep on as it looked fun!!! and they did comfortably. There was a TV in each room, bathroom, and additional vanity. So very large for Japan. I'd definitely stay there again and recommend it to others, depending on your budget.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suebg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 351 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,721 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#11 of 351 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#18 of 351 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Brighton Hotel

Property: Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Address: 330 Shiteicho, Nakadachiuri, Shinmachi-dori, Kamigyo-ku | (West side of Gosho), Kyoto 602-8071, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Nishijin District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 351 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kyoto Brighton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning HotelLocated at heart of Kyoto with newly renovated Atrium lobby and bar. The hotel has won 4 Black Pavilion on Michelin's guide in 2012 and is located near Nijo Castle, Nishi-jin and other must see tour spots. Facilities and servicesFree shuttle bus to Karasumaoike is available. Also there are 6 restaurants/bars offering cuisines from traditional Japanese to contemporary Western with chef from International Culinary Olympics Japan team. Spacious Guest roomsRenovated in 2010, all rooms include hotel's original brand Dream Journey Bed, large size bathtub and a cotton waffle bathrobes with night shirts. Flat-screen TV is viewable from both the bed and dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Rakuten, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Kyoto Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing