We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice. Very well maintained. Will return.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Utano Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Utano Youth Hostel
Ranked #49 of 279 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice. Very well maintained. Will return.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Great opportunity to meet nice people from all over the world. People with common interests. The different rooms are all very nice and well maintained. You can find large rooms with bunk beds. With twin beds with Japanese style sleeping. Most rooms share toilets and showers. Some rooms have private showers and toilets. The shared toilets and showers are clean and well taken care off. You can wash clothes in the washing machine/dryer.
Next to the showers u can find an ironing board and iron. Hair dryer.
Free Wifi near the reception.
Books and games in reception area.
The reception speak good English and will do anything to help u.
Breakfast is good for Japanese and foreigners too. Well done!!
Will most defiantly return with a group or with my private family.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzzzzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    23
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
3
33
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

A beautiful hostel! We were two families of four traveling together. We stayed four nights in side-by-side bunk bed rooms. Our youngest travelers, aged 5 and 7, loved running off some energy in the grassy courtyard. Our teens loved the free wi-fi in the common area, along with the snacks available in the vending machines. As parents we loved the bath that allowed everyone to get ready at once! There are also great mirror and sink spaces available for more primping. Plenty of room in the laundry facilities too. Plus, each room comes with a great drying rack on the patio.

The hostel is right on the bus line, so we had easy-access to the city sights. The hostel sold discounted all-day bus passes--a great bargain! Some sights were a bit of a jaunt, but we enjoyed a break from walking and cooling off from the steamy July heat while watching the city from the bus :) Bicycles are also available. We didn't ride much due to the heat, but we did ride to the store for dinner items one night (there's fridge space for guests to use in the big kitchen).

Breakfast could have been more varied on a daily basis, but there was plenty of food. We didn't eat dinner at the hostel. We did participate in the cultural activities--making knots, preparing the traditional Kyoto sweet, and drinking authentic Chinese tea. Very fun to mingle with other guests as well as the super friendly staff.

Can't recommend this hostel highly enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sydney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brh1976
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The newly-built Utano hostel is absolutely gorgeous, and set in the Northwestern section of town: it's quite a way from the train station and downtown Kyoto, but is relatively close to places like Kinkakuji (the golden temple), Ryonaji (famous for its zen rock garden) as well as the Arashiyama & Sagano areas of town.

If you like tranquility and a combination of natural scenery and quiet old buildings and temples, this might be an appealing location. If you like nightlife and bustle, probably not.

Anyway, I happen to love the area, and I've stayed at the Utano hostel four or five times (including the old Utano hostel which wasn't half as nice). Despite the beauty of the building and the allure of the location, it is far from a perfect hostel.

For one thing, it is extremely expensive. I believe I paid 3,800 yen for a dorm bed, which is almost double what I've paid in other cities, and much more than the 2,100 I paid at a private hostel downtown. For two people, it's basically cheaper to stay at a Toyoko Inn—especially if you're buying breakfast (included at Toyoko)—and it's not much more expensive for one person.

Another problem is that the hostel is huge and thus attracts a lot of groups: you are likely to encounter groups of schoolkids. This can lead to some noise, and for some reason they decided to use sliding doors in the new hostel, which let in a lot of sound (this decision is really strange, since in most respects the building seems really well thought out).

You can also rent bicycles from the hostel, which is a great way to get around.

In short, I would recommend doing what I did: splurge and stay at the Utano for a day or so to soak in the natural beauty and easy access to Arashiyama/Sagano and Daikakuji temple (all are west of the hostel, while Ninnaji, Ryoanji, and Kinkakuji are to the east); then change to a cheaper hostel in central Kyoto for better access to Gion, Kiyomizudera, and the rest of Higashiyama, as well as a better chance of meeting other independent travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bwv812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hostels!! A li'l far from all the touristy places if Kyoto, but the excellent city bus connectivity kind of solves that.. Nice open areas and huge kitchen and dining areas are a big plus. This is the hostel to stay, if you are visiting Kyoto..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vipin_Shankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very nice place to stay for a small money (well consider it is Japan, so "small" might be not that small for foreigners). The place has private and shred rooms, we have stayed in private and were completely satisfied with a service and comfort. Private room includes TV (so again, you are in Japan hence try to enjoy their shows, because mostly japanese programs are available) and a shower. Balcony is in every room i suppose, WiFi internet is available only in the lobby and rooms close to the lobby. Common facilities are of a good quality. Rooms are clean and definitively worth money paid. The only problem is location - it takes about 45 mins to ride by bus from JR Kyoto till the hotel, from other after 30 mins walk you are in Riyoan-ji. Staff is very friendly, but not always can speak enough English (not a problem at all, because they always try to help you in a best way).

Room Tip: Try to get room as close to lobby as possible in that case you'll get free WiFi in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajonins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have been in this hostel 3 times. The place is peacefull, clean, friendly and quiet. Breakfast is well presented. It's a little bit far from downtown but buses reach you easily to there. Certanly a good choice of hosteling. No complains to do!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NavegadorUrbano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The place, people and surroundings are spectacular. The only caveat is that there's a little far from kyoto station (45 minutes) that is where everything is located (bars, restaurants, etc). You can take the bus or a taxi (although very expensive). At the hostel, people are very friendly, rooms are extremely clear, and there are some choices of food (expensive too). You can buy at the supermarket frozen food or anything and cook it at the hostel kitchen. Wifi it's free there. There are also computers with internet but you have to pay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elgolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyoto
Kiyomizu Youth Hostel
#192 of 279 in Kyoto
5 reviews
Gojo Guest House
#26 of 279 in Kyoto
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
K's House Kyoto
K's House Kyoto
#5 of 279 in Kyoto
755 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Hana Hostel
Kyoto Hana Hostel
#11 of 279 in Kyoto
252 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya
Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya
#99 of 279 in Kyoto
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utano Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utano Youth Hostel

Property: Utano Youth Hostel
Address: 29 Uzumasanakayamacho, Ukyo-ku, Kyoto 616-8191, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Western Kyoto
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 279 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Utano Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Rakuten, Agoda, HRS, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Utano Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utano Youth Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing