We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New Miyako Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
New Miyako Hotel
Ranked #41 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed in early April 2013. Room in South Wing was new, spacious and very quiet. The staff was very friendly and professional. With Kyoto Station just across the road, taking JR trains, buses and subway to the various cherry blossom spots and tourist attractions ( and the Haruka to Kansai Airport ) was a breeze. There were many reasonably-priced food outlets in Kyoto Station. Toji Temple was 10 min walk away. Will definitely stay there when visiting Kyoto again to see the autumn colour.

Room Tip: Room in South Wing was new and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 911Steven21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    1,004
    353
    79
    33
See reviews for
617
564
164
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Location was great- right across from the shinkansen. My husband thought people were screaming in the street due to the whine the electricity makes when the train pulls out. The noise is really faint so he was quite confused. This was quite humorous and I let him think this until the second day of our stay.

Staff was courteous- as expected in Japan, those we encountered were friendly and helpful. The were quite surprised a Western woman spoke Japanese. Knowing some Japanese helps in Kyoto where English isn't as prevalent as in Tokyo.

Decent room- This is where my rating for this hotel falls. The room was dark with a dingy feeling and awkwardly set up where open doors could block your movement between the room, bathroom, and exit. This is where the hotel could do some improving. In their defense, we had just spent the night at a very luxurious hotel in Hakone, so this just didn't measure up.

Cool shops- the basement of the hotel has cute shops with all sorts of snacks, knick-knacks and touristy things to buy.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the station are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We were really impressed by the New Miyako Hotel. The location is on the southern side of the station, which was handy as we arrived late. The staff were really professional and helpful.


We stayed on a Premium Floor and found the rooms to be a reasonable size, with the bathroom a tad in the compact side.

The hotel has four restaurants and a bar and there are loads of restaurants at the station across the road.

Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RaqueDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This is a modern western style hotel right across the road from Kyoto Railway Station. The rooms are large ( we had a three bed family room) although pretty warm - we were there in winter. Beds firm if you like that although pillows flat and hard. Nice bar downstairs and we liked that they made the actual bar area non smoking for us when we popped in for a drink to keep us separate from rest of smoking patrons. Staff very friendly and efficient and good place to base yourself from if your touristing the old parts of the city.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

It´s that simple, you get a room in the right wing and hotel could be fine, you get a room in the old wing and be prepared for an old, small and in a serious need of a reform room. Besides the room the hotel is perfectly located near the Kyoto Station and has all the services you would ask from a hotel of this category.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aparicion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We moved to this hotel after spending two nights at a ryokan nearby. For the price we paid I think we had a very good deal. We had 2 premier rooms with interconnecting doors. The rooms are quite large at 26 m sq and each could accomodate twin beds and a 2 seater sofa which was perfect for us. The room decor is pretty standard for any chain hotel but they were clean, confortable and bright.

The best thing about it is probably the choice available for breakfast - there were 3 restaurants to choose from and we tried them all. The best for us was the Kyoyamatoya Japanese restaurant where delicious breakfast bentos were served.

The location is convenient opposite the main train station surrounded by shopping malls, but if you are looking to stay somewhere less sterile with more traditional feel that Kyoto is famous for, then this may not be the right place.

Room Tip: Go for the premier rooms- well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Could not believe this hotel has rooms for $130/night. The lobby looks like a 4 or even 5 star hotel in the states. Rooms are very large by Japanese standard. I got a room in the new South Wing -- very modern, updated, clean, and quite. The restaurant (Randeu?) downstairs is excellent. Good prices, good food, impeccable service for dinner. Breakfast buffet is sub-par for $20. Hotel concierge was very helpful, and you can book Kyoto tours that leave from the hotel.

Room Tip: South Wing, higher floors a better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelnowLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
2,828 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#29 of 366 in Kyoto
776 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
City Center
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Miyako Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Miyako Hotel

Property: New Miyako Hotel
Address: 17 Nishi Kujoin-machi, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8412, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#19 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Miyako Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Miyako Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Miyako Kyoto
Hotel New Miyako
New Miyako Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing