We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Great. Room So-So.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Miyako Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Miyako Hotel
Ranked #43 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Location Great. Room So-So.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The pluses: Great location and access to transportation; fabulous big shopping and dining complex in the JR station just a few steps away; easy access to the Karasuma-Dori (a major north-south street); pleasant breakfast rooms with range of options; clean bathroom; free in-room wifi; in-room amenities including toiletries, slippers, robes, trouser press, and fridge; clean bathroom; and free safety deposit boxes at front desk.

The drawbacks: Dated in-room decor in our second floor room in the main building, light staining on the upholstery and on the wall above the headboards, horizontal surfaces (i.e., headboard, beverage centre) would not pass the "white glove" test for dust, testy hairdryer, tea machine near vending machine marked out of service, no stamps available at the front desk, no fitness facilities on site.

Bedding was very basic - a light bedspread that many might prefer to fold down instead of sleeping under, top and bottom sheets, and one pillow per bed. No blankets or extra pillows stored in the room but probably available on request.

Housekeeping's eco-service door magnets were a little confusing (e.g., towel change only, garbage only, etc.). Bedmaking and bathroom tidying were not mentioned on any of the abbreviated services so we opted not to use any of the magnets in order to avoid returning to an unmade room. However, we certainly didn't need a linen and robe change for a two night stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the South Tower may be more modern than those in the main building. Good to inquire when bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Just2LetUKnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    996
    347
    78
    31
See reviews for
609
556
160
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Metro DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is convenient for travelers to Kyoto. Because of it's location directly across from Kyoto Station, it's a pickup point for many local tour companies as well as an overnight stop for organized tours. Therefore, the lobby, restaurants for breakfast and elevators can be very busy especially during peak periods. I think that it's also important to know that there are several categories of rooms. The least desirable seem to be the ones on floors 2-6 in the front building that faces the station. These may be older, non-renovated rooms. Almost all seem to be or have been smoking rooms. Floors 7-10 appear to have been recently renovated rooms. These floors also have rooms that face the courtyard, not the station. If you like to sleep with a window open, you'll want to ask for one of these rooms. There is also another wing of the hotel which seems to be quieter with a more upscale feel. The rooms all have a balcony and may face the courtyard, a side street, or a back alley.
We were on an independent tour package. When we booked our trip we specifically requested a non-smoking room but the hotel tried to tell us that there had been many reservations for non-smoking rooms and that they couldn't accommodate us. We refused to accept that and were given a so-called premium non-smoking room on the 7th floor. There was a small refrigerator and tea service. The hotel lets you pick your room cleaning option. Look for the magnetic heart shaped stickers. The beds are firm but we slept well on them. They are also lower to the floor than many western style beds which may be a problem for people with disabilities.
There are many restaurants in the station and the EON Mall next to the hotel has a food market on the ground floor where you can pick up freshly prepared hot and cold foods.
for the environmentally friendly choices.

Room Tip: Floors 7-10 in the front wing are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zsuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
168 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is one of the better hotels I've stayed in in Japan. The rooms are an adequate size, it's clean and well kept, and it has all the conveniences I look for. The fast free wifi was great both in the room and throughout the hotel.
The train station across the road (servicing JR, private line and subway) has everything in it. However, it is a very large station the requires some navigation for a first timer into Kyoto. If you're taking the train into Kyoto, make sure to stop to ask for directions to the South side of the station.
Around the corner from the hotel is the Aeon Mall with a supermarket, a host of restaurants and a Toys R Us store (important for my 2 young kids!).
Overall, a great hotel I'd gladly stay at again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finendandy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Our room was in the newer section on floor 8. I think it makes a difference to be in the newer section - it's renovated.
When we arrived, one of the staff grabbed our luggage and walked us to our room - were we supposed to tip them??? Anyway, I thought that was great service.
The room itself was very large for Japan standards. The only thing is that the bathroom was a bit outdated and didn't rly fit in the decor with the room. The bed was a true American king size.
There is wifi on each floor and lobby so that's convenient. The hotel is also right across kyoto station and a 2 mins walk to the jr line. We've stayed at the Granvia before and thought new miyako is better value and better location. Granvia has bigger rooms and nicer bathrooms but no wifi and our room was really really far from the elevator since the hotel is very wide.
Overall we would stay at new miyako again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stroumpfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The location for this hotel is good, near to the Kyoto Station. However, the hotel is far too touristy with heaps of tour groups swarming around in the huge commercial lobby. The hotel itself is also huge - but in a bad way, in that it took several minutes to walk from the elevator to my room (which was at the very extremity of the place). Would honestly not return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kristiec123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Very handy to the station and very clean. The hotel caters very well for western tastes and the bfast buffet is great value. CNN channel keeps u up to date with world news in English. Extremely clean and very helpful staff. Try the shopping mall across the road from the station.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarnoCoffsHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
162 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Lucky again as we have been throughout tour of Japan.Location perfect to get around and views of Shinkansen from 6th floor corner room. Really bright and spacious, free Wi-Fi and eng Lang tv at last ( although Japanese more interesting!).
This was not all guests experience as others complained re smoky rooms but ours was fine.
Didn't,t eat in hotel as choice in Kyoto station is vast and much cheaper and lots of local colour to take in.
The station is a thing of wonder and beauty, huge , bright full of shops and restaurants .There is roof garden and skywalk- marvellous.Also,like everywhere in Japan , very safe with people only too keen to help if you are lost or uncertain.
Getting around is easy, buses ( station adjacent) are many and cheap. The subway is a little more difficult less English , but we found it quicker and more direct to get to central shopping area and Nishiki food market, both highly recommended. 2stops on K line 210 yen each way, get off at shijo station
Hotel also walking distance to 2 huge temples, or no. 9 bus, no tourists and both world heritage sites.
Hotel highly recommended.

Room Tip: High corner room great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikefre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#27 of 363 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
City Center
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Miyako Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Miyako Hotel

Property: New Miyako Hotel
Address: 17 Nishi Kujoin-machi, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8412, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#19 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Miyako Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your New Miyako Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Miyako Kyoto
Hotel New Miyako
New Miyako Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing