We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located hotel with everything”
Review of New Miyako Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New Miyako Hotel
Ranked #46 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is one of the better hotels I've stayed in in Japan. The rooms are an adequate size, it's clean and well kept, and it has all the conveniences I look for. The fast free wifi was great both in the room and throughout the hotel.
The train station across the road (servicing JR, private line and subway) has everything in it. However, it is a very large station the requires some navigation for a first timer into Kyoto. If you're taking the train into Kyoto, make sure to stop to ask for directions to the South side of the station.
Around the corner from the hotel is the Aeon Mall with a supermarket, a host of restaurants and a Toys R Us store (important for my 2 young kids!).
Overall, a great hotel I'd gladly stay at again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finendandy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Our room was in the newer section on floor 8. I think it makes a difference to be in the newer section - it's renovated.
When we arrived, one of the staff grabbed our luggage and walked us to our room - were we supposed to tip them??? Anyway, I thought that was great service.
The room itself was very large for Japan standards. The only thing is that the bathroom was a bit outdated and didn't rly fit in the decor with the room. The bed was a true American king size.
There is wifi on each floor and lobby so that's convenient. The hotel is also right across kyoto station and a 2 mins walk to the jr line. We've stayed at the Granvia before and thought new miyako is better value and better location. Granvia has bigger rooms and nicer bathrooms but no wifi and our room was really really far from the elevator since the hotel is very wide.
Overall we would stay at new miyako again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stroumpfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The location for this hotel is good, near to the Kyoto Station. However, the hotel is far too touristy with heaps of tour groups swarming around in the huge commercial lobby. The hotel itself is also huge - but in a bad way, in that it took several minutes to walk from the elevator to my room (which was at the very extremity of the place). Would honestly not return.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank kristiec123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Very handy to the station and very clean. The hotel caters very well for western tastes and the bfast buffet is great value. CNN channel keeps u up to date with world news in English. Extremely clean and very helpful staff. Try the shopping mall across the road from the station.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarnoCoffsHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Lucky again as we have been throughout tour of Japan.Location perfect to get around and views of Shinkansen from 6th floor corner room. Really bright and spacious, free Wi-Fi and eng Lang tv at last ( although Japanese more interesting!).
This was not all guests experience as others complained re smoky rooms but ours was fine.
Didn't,t eat in hotel as choice in Kyoto station is vast and much cheaper and lots of local colour to take in.
The station is a thing of wonder and beauty, huge , bright full of shops and restaurants .There is roof garden and skywalk- marvellous.Also,like everywhere in Japan , very safe with people only too keen to help if you are lost or uncertain.
Getting around is easy, buses ( station adjacent) are many and cheap. The subway is a little more difficult less English , but we found it quicker and more direct to get to central shopping area and Nishiki food market, both highly recommended. 2stops on K line 210 yen each way, get off at shijo station
Hotel also walking distance to 2 huge temples, or no. 9 bus, no tourists and both world heritage sites.
Hotel highly recommended.

Room Tip: High corner room great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikefre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

In front of station, so very easy when you arrive by train. Station also has subway which takes you together with train network everywhere in the city. Shops and restaurants nearby. Ask for a refurbished room which seems still very new and fresh. The old rooms are very dark and do not look appealing... Some people like to be in front of the hotel to see the trains but this was too noisy for my taste. I asked for a room in the back which is much quieter. All in all had a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globe_trot_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Out of the 3 hotels I stayed at last week while in Japan, this was my least favorite. I found the rooms to be quite small. You can't roll your suitcase between the beds and the sofa as there isn't enough room. Beds were quite hard and I like a firm bed. Breakfast buffet was okay but lacked the selection I found at other hotels. The location is right across the street from the train station so it's very convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 376 in Kyoto
3,068 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#33 of 376 in Kyoto
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#51 of 376 in Kyoto
1,130 reviews
City Center
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Miyako Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Miyako Hotel

Address: 17 Nishi Kujoin-machi, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8412, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#19 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $117 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Miyako Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Miyako Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Miyako Kyoto
Hotel New Miyako
New Miyako Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing