We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful Experience!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of New Miyako Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
New Miyako Hotel
Ranked #41 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Awful Experience!!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Objectively, I have to admit this hotel has a perfect location, right next to Kyoto station and is convenient to take trains/buses to everywhere, and I understand we went there during the peak season, but I have to remind those who are attracted like me by its good location that this hotel is awful!!!

I booked 3 nights there at a quite unreasonal price, which is understanable as it's Sakura season. But I CANNOT imagine this hotel has no WIFI service at ALL!!! Lots of guests complained to reception desk but no solution or compensation was provided. The hotel stuff kept saying it's because of too many guests but I stayed at smaller hotels like APA during the same time, and they can offer very good WIFI service.

I don't like arguing with those innocent reception desk stuff so I, like many guests, had to choose to use the lobby wifi so you can see an interesting scene that all the hotel guests are browsing internet in the lobby!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    1,003
    353
    79
    33
See reviews for
617
563
164
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were fortunate to find a room at New Miyako Hotel Kyoto since most( all ) hotels in Kyoto as well as Shinjuku were fully booked on March 30- April 1, 2013. We found the room not by direct booking ( We emailed and were told it was fully booked ) but via asiarooms.com. We then emailed New Miyako requesting a roll- away bed and a Non Smoking room with note that we shall be arriving very late( took NEX from Narita and Hikari from Shinagawa ). Email was replied promptly and it was a relief to arrive close to midnight with a room at South Wing well prepared with an extra bed. We had two wider single beds( A queen would have been better ) plus an extra bed, which made our room really crowded; however the room was clean and quiet with a side view of the 'crystal' courtyard. They replenished the toiletries but do not provide bottled water - which we bought from 7 Eleven accross the road at the Station facing hotel. I particularly enjoyed the shampoo and bath soap by Pola.
This is not a luxury hotel but the staff is polite and helpful. Breakfast buffet was adequate; a good chance to try some Japanese breakfast ( about $30/person ). However, if you are not keen on waiting in line for a breakfast table ( particularly during big group of tourists),Turn left at hotel entrance cross the road to Aeon Mall and on the ground floor facing Hotel there is a Bakery with tables which serves coffee, tea and cost a fraction only. Upstairs from this bakery there is a cafe. If from Hotel entrance , you turn right, there is Colorado cafe with hot food breakfast. Cross the road to the Station, there are a lot more choices- Amicci Italian cafe right in front , then there are more cafe as you walk further. However, if you plan to have an early start, bakery and Cafe at Aeon are not open till 10 or so. Amicci was full, so as two other cafes along the way, the one closer to center station, serving Illy coffee had a table- but soon we were seated inside the little room near the open door of a smoking area room . Sadly we had to leave since our daughter is allergic to cigarettes smoke. ( Many cafes and restaurants allow smoking despite of a small enclosed room ).
We had a great Shabu-Shabu dinner at a restaurant on the 4th floor of Aeon Mall - there is an outdoor escalator straight to the 4th Fl. Shabu- Shabu dinner costs much less than our box set dinner at Gion- Geisha with no geisha area.( There are food court with more choices of food on the next floor.)
We use our JR Train ticket from Kyoto Station to Nara, also to Arashimaya. We use taxi from Hotel ( a few taxi are always parked in front ) to Kinkakuji and Ryoanji Temples around 2500 JPY and also taxi to Ginkakuji 2800 JPY. Beautiful places with Sakura blooming.
We are pleased with New Miyako and with our South Wing Room.

Room Tip: South Wing room with view of courtyard is quiet and has good two Double beds and pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budgy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

As part of a tour group we had to stay in this hotel. It certainly would not be my first choice. It is very close to the train station, a necessity when travelling around Japan, but there are others to choose from that would be much better.
The rooms were clean but the room and bathroom were very small by Japanese standards. The rooms were overheated and turning down the air-conditioning didn't seem to make much difference.
There was no wifi available that we were able to access. They have a disclaimer that says the building may cause problems with the wifi, but few of our group got any sort of a connection. There was a business centre downstairs for a 1000 room hotel that had 2 computers. Both of these were out of action and if they had been working there would have been a cost.
The foyer was like a bustling train station, with many large groups coming in and out on a daily basis. Not personal feel to the place at all. Though the few staff we dealt with were helpful.
Breakfast in the morning was a queuing event - at all the restaurants. Masses of people, all with trays, elbowing for room to get food and drink. What food we had was just OK.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel, look for something else around the train station area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTraveller3204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Was planning 1 week ahead of the blossom, this was the only hotel available, didnt look that bad... but it was, it had a really convenient location though to move around, still, was away from the action, but if you're taking the train, then perfect location. Still, the hotel was not that good at all, even though the staff was really trying to be helpful.

Oh, the internet SUCKS, I even tried to connect my mac with the ethernet cable, took around 30 minutes to check my email... so dont even try

Room Tip: Dont expect to have internet, really!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tito V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the older section of the hotel. The beds were incredibly uncomfortable and I could feel the coils of the mattress poking my back. Internet connection was poor, room cleaning left much to be desired, and I noticed water damage on the walls and ceiling if our room.

The location is convenient but that is where the positives end.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khm2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
291 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We found the New Miyako a poor choice for us - it is very convenient to the train station and it's large mall, but we were not travelling by train and found the rooms small and noisy (both from outside and from hall noise). Many large tour groups use this hotel and the elevators are grossly inadequate; in addition, there are long lines for all 3 restaurants for their breakfast buffets (tho the food is good). Internet connectivity seemed spotty at times. Rooms are clean and the bed, while hard, is comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location. It's only a short walk from Kyoto Station (the major hub of Kyoto transportation). It has all types of transportation - bullet train, metro, buses. Shopping centers are connected underground - isetan, the cube, avanti. There are other shopping centers nearby eg Aeon mall, Kyoto tower.
Though the station has many shops selling local specialty (cookies, cakes etc), they are for tourists. The food hall at isetan sells excellent madeline and cookies for friends and relatives.
There are many good and reasonably priced eateries in the vicinity.
I find the hotel expensive. The bathroom is tiny. The bed sheet has strange smell for one night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
2,825 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#29 of 366 in Kyoto
776 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
City Center
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Miyako Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Miyako Hotel

Property: New Miyako Hotel
Address: 17 Nishi Kujoin-machi, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8412, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#19 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Miyako Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Miyako Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Miyako Kyoto
Hotel New Miyako
New Miyako Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing