We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location for sightseeing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Miyako Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Miyako Hotel
Ranked #43 of 352 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location for sightseeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in 2 rooms for 3 nights, with my teenagers. I could not fault the location as we were across the road from the train station which we used everyday. The train station is huge and has such a great selection of restaurants and convenience stores with very reasonable prices. Hotels in Kyoto are so pricey and it was hard to make a decision but the location was superb. There's not much in the way of facilities and the rooms were a little tight but the showers were good, the beds comfortable,and it was spotlessly clean. We had breakfast included which was good but offered pretty basic western fare, it did save buying anything out until late in the day. We found this the perfect spot for our daily sightseeing, using trains, taxis and buses it was easy to get back to the hotel each time as we just aimed for Kyoto station. Kyoto is such a pretty city I would love to come back My heart is still at Kiyomizu and I need to go back there in the spring or autumn. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelholic88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    956
    333
    74
    31
See reviews for
572
539
155
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The location of New Miyako Hotel was a step away from Kyoto Station, which had many restaurants/shops and allowed us to easily travel around Kyoto over the 5 days we were there. The room was a little outdated, although the room size made up for this. I would possibly recommend the premium room if it is not much extra. The staff were great and very helpful. The only letdown was wifi was only accessible in the lobby. Overall, we had a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magpies010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was ok. Our room was right down the end of the long corridor which meant a big walk to get back to the room and we were also very close to a crosswalk which meant constant beeping and chirping from 7am until 10pm. That's ok if you don't like your sleepins. Wifi only in the lobby and I assume the next floor or two up if your room is centrally located. Very nice staff and good location. Recommended for the budget conscious only.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney,australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This place is close to the station, convenient also to shops, a big supermarket and many inexpensive eating places. The room was a good size given that it was considerably less expensive than other places we stayed at. It had all the conveniences we wished for however the bedspread/quilts on the bed were synthetic and very slippery meaning they slid on to the floor several times a night and interrupting sleep.Other than that I thought it was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hamilstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our second stay in New Miyako in Kyoto once again confirm what a delightful place they have right by Kyoto station. It is convenient to the subway, trains and the buses that are so useful to ride to vist the attractions in Kyoto and the environs. The shops and restaurants in Kyoto station are all a short walk away. Most helpful is the convnenience of two tour information services run by volunteers at the station itself providing valuable information to the sights.
The check-in service is very efficient and so is the baggage storage for those who are early for check-in or need more time to shop after check-out. The rooms are large by Japanese standard (more akin to western-size hotel rooms) and so is the bathroom. A definite place to return on furutr visits to Kyoto..

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the inside courtyard for that extra peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rywwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

At just Y16,000 for two rooms (and a total of 5 people), this was the cheapest hotel we stayed in during our trip to Japan. The hotel is large, relatively new, and located just outside Kyoto station. This made it very convenient for getting on the train and subway. The rooms were typical Japanese hotel rooms with a plastic bathroom, but we had no complaints. We were in Kyoto to see ancient temples, not to stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: Excellent value -- a rarity in Japan
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertli1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
181 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very well kept (we stayed in the South Tower, supposed to be better) and located – just across Kyoto rail station, the New Miyako was a great choice. The tour bus departs from the other side of the station, so it’s even more convenient.

The room was of a decent size, immaculately clean, and services – front desk, concierge and bell boys (and girls) worked very well.

Baggage service was actually funny: as check-in in Japan is usually late – from 2 to 4PM – once you walk inside the lobby an army of bell girls take your bags, give you receipts and bring them to a safe room. I had to get something from my backpack just when it was going inside the room, and I was not allowed to do so: I had to wait outside with my receipt, get what I wanted, and then the backpack was returned to its safe place. Different, but you do feel very safe! There was a long line there at the actual check-in time, but the “army” gets the bags quite well.

There are shops – including a nice grocery - and good restaurants at the station just across the street, so it’s very convenient if you want to save at breakfast and also for your meals. Kyoto station looks more like a big mall than a train station. You can be confused for a while to get where you want: train, bus or shopping?

There is a cab rank at the hotel and the porter will make sure the driver will bring you where you want to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaoloT_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#29 of 352 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 352 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,723 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#70 of 352 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
City Center
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Miyako Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Miyako Hotel

Property: New Miyako Hotel
Address: 17 Nishi Kujoin-machi, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8412, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#19 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Miyako Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your New Miyako Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Miyako Kyoto
Hotel New Miyako
New Miyako Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing