We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for.”
Review of New Miyako Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New Miyako Hotel
Ranked #46 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hotel was ok. Our room was right down the end of the long corridor which meant a big walk to get back to the room and we were also very close to a crosswalk which meant constant beeping and chirping from 7am until 10pm. That's ok if you don't like your sleepins. Wifi only in the lobby and I assume the next floor or two up if your room is centrally located. Very nice staff and good location. Recommended for the budget conscious only.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank PerthMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

This place is close to the station, convenient also to shops, a big supermarket and many inexpensive eating places. The room was a good size given that it was considerably less expensive than other places we stayed at. It had all the conveniences we wished for however the bedspread/quilts on the bed were synthetic and very slippery meaning they slid on to the floor several times a night and interrupting sleep.Other than that I thought it was great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hamilstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our second stay in New Miyako in Kyoto once again confirm what a delightful place they have right by Kyoto station. It is convenient to the subway, trains and the buses that are so useful to ride to vist the attractions in Kyoto and the environs. The shops and restaurants in Kyoto station are all a short walk away. Most helpful is the convnenience of two tour information services run by volunteers at the station itself providing valuable information to the sights.
The check-in service is very efficient and so is the baggage storage for those who are early for check-in or need more time to shop after check-out. The rooms are large by Japanese standard (more akin to western-size hotel rooms) and so is the bathroom. A definite place to return on furutr visits to Kyoto..

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the inside courtyard for that extra peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rywwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

At just Y16,000 for two rooms (and a total of 5 people), this was the cheapest hotel we stayed in during our trip to Japan. The hotel is large, relatively new, and located just outside Kyoto station. This made it very convenient for getting on the train and subway. The rooms were typical Japanese hotel rooms with a plastic bathroom, but we had no complaints. We were in Kyoto to see ancient temples, not to stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: Excellent value -- a rarity in Japan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertli1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very well kept (we stayed in the South Tower, supposed to be better) and located – just across Kyoto rail station, the New Miyako was a great choice. The tour bus departs from the other side of the station, so it’s even more convenient.

The room was of a decent size, immaculately clean, and services – front desk, concierge and bell boys (and girls) worked very well.

Baggage service was actually funny: as check-in in Japan is usually late – from 2 to 4PM – once you walk inside the lobby an army of bell girls take your bags, give you receipts and bring them to a safe room. I had to get something from my backpack just when it was going inside the room, and I was not allowed to do so: I had to wait outside with my receipt, get what I wanted, and then the backpack was returned to its safe place. Different, but you do feel very safe! There was a long line there at the actual check-in time, but the “army” gets the bags quite well.

There are shops – including a nice grocery - and good restaurants at the station just across the street, so it’s very convenient if you want to save at breakfast and also for your meals. Kyoto station looks more like a big mall than a train station. You can be confused for a while to get where you want: train, bus or shopping?

There is a cab rank at the hotel and the porter will make sure the driver will bring you where you want to go.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaoloT_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is a stone throw away from Kyoto Station. Easy to find, and great amenities around. There is a tourist information counter which gives excellent english walking tours of which the starting point (from taking bus) is from the station itself. Besides this hotel is a huge AEON mall where you can get food, Daiso, toys r us and even a gap outlet!

Room is comfortable, but small which is atypical of all Japan hotels. There are a few options for breakfast which may get very crowded and long queue early in the morning before the tourists set off for their day's plan. I personally like the traditional Japanese breakfast set to the international buffet.

I will stay this hotel again when i visit Kyoto again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siangjiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The location was decent and the rooms spacious. Walls and ceiling were patchy with what looked like water leakages and seepages. The wall was also cracked. Body wash dispenser in the bathroom was dirty with rings of dirt - yucks. Wi-fi signal was also very weak.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 376 in Kyoto
3,068 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#33 of 376 in Kyoto
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#51 of 376 in Kyoto
1,130 reviews
City Center
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Miyako Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Miyako Hotel

Address: 17 Nishi Kujoin-machi, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8412, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#19 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $117 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Miyako Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Miyako Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Miyako Kyoto
Hotel New Miyako
New Miyako Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing