We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of New Miyako Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
New Miyako Hotel
Ranked #41 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights. Location is awesome, opposite the JR station! Its a bit tricky to make sure you get out of the station on the right side but there are plenty of signs in English and the Japanese people are always willing to help. Rooms are super clean and the size is OK for japan standards. Used the luggage storage as we arrived early by train..this was done very professionally. Staff are very welcoming and professional. This is certainly the location you would want to stay at in Kyoto if you want to be in the middle of everything with transport, food and sight seeing options in abundance. Use the subway and bus stations ( which are very close) to get to all of Kyoto's best sites which are scattered all around this beautiful city!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgia4868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    1,003
    353
    79
    33
See reviews for
617
563
164
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

So the perks of this hotel - Great location, friendly staff, good food at the breakfast buffet in the morning.

I do not know if all the rooms are like this but we really struggled with mold/mildew smell in our rooms. They moved me twice because I have a severe allergy to mold and I could not breathe in two of the rooms. I noticed there were dry watermarks along the wallpaper which indicated there was water damage at some point. They switched me to a different side of the hotel and I did not have any problems there. The rooms felt much like a dorm but that's okay. If you're out and about exploring Kyoto and use the rooms to sleep in you're alright. The staff was very accommodating and understanding when they had to switch my room. The employee actually stayed with me when we got to the second room to make sure I was going to be comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KG017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
146 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The location is very convenient as it is located by the train station, very close to the bus station. The train station includes a mall and lots of restaurants.

Rooms are small as with all Japanese hotels, but at least foreigners can fit in, not like the real Japanese hotels where Japanese lodge

It has a nice sky bar

Room Tip: By the station side, there could be an entertaining view, yet more noisy. So if you prefer absolute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ehab_Heikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
1,083 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you arrive by train and are tired from continuous travel for 24 hours, getting out of the Kyoto train station on the right side may be your greatest challenge. Depending on the line on which you arrive, you may need to escalate over the rails and back down to street level. The problem is that with all the shops and levels, the signage does not consistently point you where you need to go. The Hachijo West exit is the one you want to take. If you are on a level with no signs specifying that exit, change levels and follow signs for Exit 7, or West exit or JR West exit until you see signs for Hachijo West exit. This exit is opposite the bus Porta and subway terminals that are on the east side. On one level following the Pedestrian Walkway will take you to the signage that you need. As you approach the Hachijo West exit there are stairs down to the right and an escalator to the left. The stair side is the direction you need to go but if you need to take the escalator with your bags you can do so and then turn 180 degrees for a long block walk to where you will see the New Miyako Hotel sign high up on a large white structure just across the street.

The New Miyako Hotel was our home for six lovely days and nights. We had a run of the house room in the older section and found it sufficiently large and pleasant. The hotel was very competently run and extremely convenient to train, bus and subway. The concierge was very helpful. The bell desk loaned us great see-thru plastic umbrellas. We had our own internet access device so the complaints by others about slow internet access in the evening did not apply to us. The device was handy when we were out on the street because it was portable and we could look up maps and track our progress on buses so we knew where and when to get off. We didn't eat at the hotel but did pick up food at the train station for breakfast and dinner and the price there was right. Nice experience over all.

Room Tip: Our room in the older section on the fourth floor looked out over the train station and we could se...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a very nice hotel conveniently located across the street from the south side of Kyoto Station. Rooms are very nice, with special mention of the the tea set for brewing tea. There are several restaurants in the hotel. But you also have the choice of restaurants immediately across the street in Kyoto Station. It is within a ten min walk to the three temples Nishi Hongan-ji (西本願寺), Higashi Honganji (東本願寺) and Tō-ji (東寺). Since it is across the street from Kyoto station, it is easy to plot out the routes to other Kyoto attractions.using public transport. The staff is very helpful to give directions to attractions. Further directions are available from the tourism office inside the train station.
I was booked this hotel by the popular JTB Sunrise Tour and this hotel was apparently a central hub for their tours organised by a desk early in the morning in the lobby. Many local tours to Kyoto, Nara and Osaka departs from the hotel for which one can conveniently sign up.
The hotel is easily accessed via a train from the airport to Kyoto Station

Room Tip: If you fancy watching bullet trains arriving the Kyoto Station (see photos from this review), ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxon93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 week holiday in Japan and while there we stayed for 9 days in this hotel. We were upgraded to a Premier room having paid prior to leaving Australia. The room was very quiet comfortable and views over the railway station. We were able to get CNN news (in English) which kept us up with the rest of the world but take a good book as that is the only English channel. It was great watching the bullet train coming and going and I was able to get some great photos through our window including some fabulous night shots. We did not buy the breakfast package and very glad we didn't as we had a fridge in our room and stocked it with supplies. Because of the very convenient position (across the road from the railway station) we were able to eat at the huge range of restauarants there. Connecting to buses and trains was easy because of the position of this hotel. Though large, everyone was polite and helpful and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to you.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet non smoking room not too close to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulsa60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My best friend and I spent our 3-day Kyoto stay at this hotel, recommended by her family. It was more cost-effective than the other hotels in the area, and we still had a Twin room in the South Wing that was clean, simple and served all that we needed. The bathroom was a pinch small, but the beds and sofa more than made up for it. There was an Ethernet cord in the room, but only one computer could access it at a time. Wifi-sharing with my laptop solved that problem for my friend and me, instead of sitting in the lobby. What impressed me most was the helpfulness of the staff there. We asked for directions on how to get to an attraction, and the hotel staff gave us an English map and showed us how to get there. They also recommended the Tourist Information Center in Kyoto Station right across the street, which was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Go for the South Wing, without a doubt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
2,825 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#29 of 366 in Kyoto
773 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
City Center
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Miyako Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Miyako Hotel

Property: New Miyako Hotel
Address: 17 Nishi Kujoin-machi, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8412, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#19 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Miyako Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Miyako Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Miyako Kyoto
Hotel New Miyako
New Miyako Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing