We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpha hotel”
Review of Hotel Alpha Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alpha Kyoto
Ranked #326 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed April 23, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 92 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2008

Thankfully, we only booked one night at Hotel Alpha.
There was mold on the shower curtain and the ceiling of the bathroom. I guess we should have guessed that it wasn't going to be pleasant when we found a bottle of "fabric refresher" among the room "amenities".
The carpet was dirty and stained. The final straw for me was finding dried blood stains on the ripped bedspread. If there had been another hotel available that night (the middle of leaf watching season for Kyoto) we would have been out of there like a shot.
Fodor's most recent guidebook to Japan lists it as clean, friendly and convenient. Well, it is convenient...

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ready2fly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. The room was smelly. The bathroom smelled like mold, and the windows couldn't be opened. The blanket and the carpet were dirty.
Overall, the location is great, but every night we didn't want to come back to our room.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank adereth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

I wish their towels were cleaner, carpet were neater. But knowing how annal Japanese are, I somewhat just believed they've cleaned it to the best they could (and a pair of flipflop helps). The location is unbeatable. I chose this place in order to have a shorter walk to the view of bonfire in Summer festival. The market right around the corner was a pleasant surprise. It's close to the subway station, which was a blssing in a hot summer. In all, I was happy with my stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MayJune67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2006

I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and thought that I would be getting a great deal on a clean, small hotel in the heart of Kyoto. Well, it is small and in a great location but it was certainly not clean. After requesting a non-smoking room (my wife has asthma) I was told there were none available upon arrival. Normally this isn't that big of a deal as most hotels have independent air control in each room. The Alpha Hotel, however, has central air for each floor if not the entire building. Since we were put on a smoking floor the room was VERY smoky. I have traveled in Asia extensively and recognize the difficulty in avoiding smoke, but this was excessive. In addition, the carpets and beddings were stained and dirty. The hotel staff was helpful and after 2 days moved us to a twin room on a non-smkoing floor but the damage had been done as my wife became quite sick. In general, I would say that if you smoke it is probably fine, but if you appreciate cleanliness when paying near $100/night then I would recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank will2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2006

Stayed here for 5 days while we visited Kyoto and Nara. Rooms are small by American standards but were adequate for 3 adult family members in 1 room for sleeping arrangements. Hotel was very CLEAN AND SAFE, front desk personnel were very helpful with directions and needs, English was spoken here, and location was only 1/2 block from subway and bus stops were in front of hotel along with "7-11" store for quick snacks! Entance is off a side street but I found it easily looking at the picture from their website!
Shopping district was only 1 block away and tons of food places to eat nearby.
If you are looking for a clean place to sleep with a great location, than this hotel will fit the bill, but if you intend to stay in your room, you may get cramped, but then why are you traveling? I would NOT HESITATE to stay here again!
PS, I found it much easier to use the bus to and from Kyoto station than the subway, no change in buses, but you have to make 1 change in subway lines.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2006

The Hotel Alpha Kyoto is perfectly located for a visit to Kyoto: It is only half a block to a major subway line and only 5 minutes by foot to two different train stations. Moreover, its just minutes by foot from Pontocho and from some popular shopping areas. My single room was small, but quite comfortable, and the hotel's English-speaking staff were very helpful to me. Breakfasts were nicely served and very satisfying. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#42 of 379 in Kyoto
574 reviews
City Center
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#19 of 379 in Kyoto
914 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 379 in Kyoto
3,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha Kyoto

Address: Sanjo-agaru-nisigawa, Kawaramachidori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8031, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $266 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpha Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alpha Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing