We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uno house has changed”
Review of Uno House

Uno House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Uno House
Ranked #105 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Reviewed February 25, 2008

We discovered Uno House a few years ago with a friend and loved the atmosphere, the dingy but old dorms and made lots of friends with the staff. Over the years it has gone up and down, the owner is not always friendly but I still think that it's a place that has a soul. Anyway a great place to mix with Japanese people and a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pitchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Uno House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 29 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2007

This was the worst hostel I have ever been to and I have been staying in many hostels over the past 11 months since I have been travelling the world. The owners want to charge you for absolutely everything and do not tell you until it is too late. We had an unfortunate run-in with the owners who wanted us to pay 5000 yen for sitting in the hostel for 2 hours after 11am, which was check-out time. We did not know we were not allowed to wait there even though our bags were being stored there. The owners are rude and do not speak a word of English.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank scottdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2007

Traditional Kyoto house right by the edge of the Impreial Palace Gardens, at dirt cheap prices.
Found it very friendly, and had no problems with cleanliness.
Of course it is basic and can get crowded - exactly bacuse it's great value and is in an excellent location.
Don't go expecting luxuries, but for budget travellers it is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hunwagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2006

We stayed here as a group booking during early November 2006. My husband and I were "lucky" enough to have reserved the "Private Premium" room, while most of the others were to stay in the dormitories. As we had caught a night bus we arrived early (around 8am), however we were told we could not check in till 16:00! It was very difficult to get them to let us leave our bags there while we waited to check in.

The Uno House appears to be an old workers house converted into a hostel. It is an old shack. The main rooms branch off a pathway that consists of small blocks of carpet resting on damp earth. The rooms have old, stained carpet or stained tatami mats and the bedding and floors were not clean. The shared bathroom was unusable, it smells of mould and is horribly unclean. We saw cockroaches on the bathroom floor. There are only two showers for the entire premise. My friends were given a room on the second floor. The handrail surrounding the steps was broken and very dangerous. Also there was a big sign in the room saying "Do not put anything here, do not stand here, do not sleep here, it is not safe" It kind of sums up our feelings of this place!!

On arrival we were told our Private Premium room was not available and we were being swapped to another, better room (at an additional cost to us). After seeing our friends room we agreed. We were taken to a room in the adjacent building. As we were being showed around the room the lady told us that this was her apartment. We were very embarrased as we did not feel right to take over her apartment. However she insisted as there was no other rooms available. It was quite an uncomfortable situation. Inside she had taped up all the cupboards, fridge, stove and written DO NOT USE THESE FACILITIES. The apartment was okay (badly furnished), it had running water, a bathroom and a proper western toilet (more than can be said for the other rooms) however it was very unclean, the lady had left dishes in the sink, there was hairs on our bedding and in the shower (which was also mouldy).

Being female, our friends decided against staying in their rooms as it was too uncomfortable and dirty. We instead invited them up to our room to shower and sleep. We all ended up having to share 2 futons and a blanket on the floor between the 4 of us. The apartment was VERY noisy. We were continuously woken by a small dog that was abandoned on the balcony outside our window and every footstep above and below us echoed.

Overall our experience there was very unpleasant. We would NEVER stay there again. If you are young and male and dont mind living in filth then this would be okay, but not for most people.

Rooms must be vacated between the hours of 11:00 and 16:00 every day for cleaning, and the main dormitories have set showering hours.

The best thing about the Uno House was the two funky cafes near by. One was across the street and had a really nice menu, good coffee and great interior design, the other was a (free) internet cafe with Macs that opens for a western breakfast and makes banana juice and expresso drinks.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank nxmq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2006

It might be one the cheapest place in Kyoto (still, 50 euros/night for two) but for me, it felt like an expensive nightmare. A "family room" for two is a dingy cupboard, japanese style, with twenty years old tatamis and awfull bedsheets. The rain drips in the corridors. The place is overcrowded and, according to me, downright dangerous (wonder what a fire would to to it). Plus, as many notices pined to the walls remind you, you have to pay. You arrive late: you pay. You check out early: you pay. Pay Pay Pay ! It is supposed to be a Youth Hostel. I would describe it as a dump and a rip-off.

6  Thank Brconcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2006

I and my friend are seriously traumatized by our experience in this hostel. I wish the owners (both father and daughter) could be more civilized in terms of interacting with their guests.

There's this rule that no guest should be in their rooms between 11am-4pm (cleaning time). However, since we were already too tired from travelling around southern Japan for the last few days, we asked the staff if we could stay in order to get some sleep. The staff agreed but we had to pay 100yen for every hour before 4pm. No problem. Then suddenly, after about an hour, the owners slam our door, get in, open the windows, turn off the AC, started shouting at us, shoving us back our money, and telling us to leave, just because we were in the room during cleaning time. What is that? Crazy. So we left.

Don't stay there. There are many other better options like the white house or the ryokans. cheap but treats guests as that, guests.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ryan-phils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2006

Do not stay here if you have any other options. Yes it's cheap, but you don't even get your money's worth here. It's moldy and dirty, poorly lit, smelling of smoke and dirty bathrooms (because of all the smoke and the dirty bathrooms). The staff speaks english but is pretty rude (very rude by Japanese standards). The location is inconvenient to sites or the train station. Seriously stay somewhere else.

Stayed: March 2006
8  Thank 1gr8plan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
The Screen
The Screen
#103 of 374 in Kyoto
229 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 374 in Kyoto
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#37 of 374 in Kyoto
544 reviews
City Center
Solaria Nishitetsu Hotel Kyoto Premier Sanjo Kamogawa
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uno House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uno House

Address: 108 Higahi Sawaragicho, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0906, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range: $68 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Uno House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing