We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely service, but not great value, and a little tired...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Three Sisters Inn Annex
Ranked #50 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely service, but not great value, and a little tired...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

The staff were all extremely friendly, and a great deal of effort was put into making this a comfortable stay for travellers. The garden was pretty, and the breakfast room was in a lovely setting.

Breakfast was good - decent toast and coffee! But expensive for what it was.

The plus points of the ryokan:
- Pretty setting, with a lovely tranquil garden
- Extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff - they provide great information and have put together some really good tour routes around Kyoto
- Good continental-style breakfast
- Good information provided in rooms (which we used to find a really fantastic dinner experience).

The downsides:
- Decor is looking pretty tired
- There is a strict curfew
- Both my husband and I are tall, and we were unable to safely walk around the bathroom - dangerous in the night!
- Rather inexplicably, our room had a ricepapered window leading on to the corridor, which had a light on outside - we ended up having to rig up a cover for the window so that we could sleep in darkness.
- It is very pricey for what it is - despite the good service positives, on being presented with the bill, you will not feel you have had good value

Other points:
- Go for a day out in Nara - fabulous temples and the Golden Buddha is not to be missed. You'll tick a whole load of World Heritage Sites off your bucket list!
- Eat at the Hotel Fujita "Oomi" steakhouse, in the most beautiful hidden garden. You will need to take out a mortgage, but it will be worth it and you will dream about the steak for the rest of your trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citygirrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    15
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
17
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

Returning to Kyoto for a 5-day visit after having lived there for two years some 37 years ago, I longed for a place to stay that was reminiscent of my former Kyoto 2-room apartment. The Three Sisters Inn Main did not disappoint. The tatami mat room was spacious and even had a sort of enclosed balcony sitting area with two comfy leather chairs and a table.

Hot tea provided each afternoon awaited me in the lobby and fresh, cool water in a pot in the room was near at hand. The room appointments are not fancy but are rather homey making the room feel comfy rather than formal. There are no expensive frills (i.e., scented soaps, pillow candies) but there is plenty of hot water for showers and lots of charm.

Everything is sparkling clean, esp the shower and toilet areas.

I thought the futon (bed) was especially comfortable and did not even need to use the little travel pillow I brought "just in case" because the one provided was perfect.

It was quiet at night in my room even though it faced the street, which is a side-street but does have light traffic during the day. Traffic noises never interrupted me.

Lots of sights were close by (Heian Shrine, Gingkakuji, Philosophers Walk) and the sisters are very helpful with bus and city maps, tickets and ideas for eateries, tours, etc.
Very nearby is a bank, ATM and coin op laundry. Several small eateries satisfy as well.

I mainly walked and took busses all over Kyoto from the inn. When I returned, someone always personally greeted me at the door, making me feel welcome, as if back home.

I recommend this charming inn to anyone who wants to experience Japanese living style and culture up close. It's almost like staying with favorite aunts!

The three sisters have been hosting foreign visitors for decades and are adept at anticpating your needs and questions. You will find helpful information from the front desk.

Oh, BTW, the morning coffee was great! Brewed fresh, the whole pot is set at your place with enough java to refill your cup at least three times! I'm from the Pacific NW, home to Starbucks, Seattle's Best and a few other coffee meccas. So, if I am a bit of a coffee snob, that's why!

Note that there is also an Annex. It's about two blocks away and just beside the wall to Heian Shrine, actually. I didn't have a look inside so cannot comment on rooms there. It looked nice from the front gate from which a lovely garden walkway leads to the front door.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JazzyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

I stayed with Three Sisters Inn at the end of my 3-week vacation in Japan. I stayed six nights here and loved it. Kay and the personable, polite staff make this place a wonderful stay and great introduction to Kyoto and the Higashiyima area. I was here for the Gion Matsuri festival, and they provided wonderful recommendations where to view the parade, what to enjoy the evenings prior, and also gave some nice walking itineraries for the surrounding area. They also checked on tickets to the sumo tournament in Nagoya for me before I went up there for a day trip! Access to both Northern and Southern Higashiyima was super easy - Three Sisters is central for both. Buses to downtown and western Kyoto were a block away. I really liked the location.

I did not take breakfast at the inn. I opted to go to the supermarket a couple blocks away, and it served me quite well. I had a room on the 2nd floor, it was small, but it was perfectly fine - small table with tea and hot water, comfortable futon, closet with hangers. The bathroom and shower was shared and across the hall, but access was never a problem.

This is not a fancy, five-star hotel. Its a old-fashioned, service-oriented inn. I am so glad I stayed here, and really enjoyed getting to the know the staff. If you stay here, take the time to have a few conversations with them about Kyoto. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atwoodexplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

Kay and the personable, helpful three sisters staff make this place a great introduction to Kyoto and a convenient base for exploring the Higashiyima area of Kyoto. Aesthetically pleasing and not for those who prefer impersonal and homogenised business hotels.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

This ryokan has no warmth to it at all. Everything in the room (each hanger, tea pot, tray etc.) was labeleld with the room number which made me think I was staying at a motel in the States. I travelled all over Japan and the other ryokans I stayed at were lovely - it takes more than a tatami mat to create that feeling of "old Japan". I think this place has "had its day" and is just coasting - it 's pretty run down so look elsewhere!!

Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank NiHaoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

The hotel is basically a budget ryukan in the midst of temple/shrine area. The futons are comfortable, the bathroom basic and small, and the service pretty basic too. The staff recommendations should probably be avoided, but they mean well.
For the price, nearly us$170 per night I expected slightly more tlc or at least knowledgeable staff and amenities.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LazyExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

Lovely little Ryokan. Cosy breakfast room which leads to friendly discussion amongst guests. Staff are welcoming, considerate and helpful. Kay was outstanding, assisting us with organising train tickets. Reception staff could communicate well in English. Rooms were clean and comfortable - overlooking small garden.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherAngelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Traveler's Inn
Kyoto Traveler's Inn
#151 of 366 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
City Center
Hotel Heiannomori Kyoto
Hotel Heiannomori Kyoto
#179 of 366 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#31 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
City Center
Guest House Kobako
Guest House Kobako
#218 of 279 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Matsubaya Inn
Matsubaya Inn
#55 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Sisters Inn Annex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Sisters Inn Annex

Property: Three Sisters Inn Annex
Address: 89 Okazaki Iriecho, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto 606-8322, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place is reported to have had a fire on Aug 23, 2012. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
3 Sisters Inn Annex
Three Sisters Inn Annex Hotel Kyoto
Three Sisters Inn Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing