We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Ryokan close to the station” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryokan Heianbo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryokan Heianbo
Ranked #111 of 352 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Ryokan close to the station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Ryokan Heianbro is a great way for you to experience the traditional accommodation of Japan.

Very close to the station, although we did get lost due to another tourist directions headed us in the opposite way. A kind local stopped and helped and then we were on the way.

We stayed here as we wanted to experience the traditional living, the bedding on the floor was to hard for me but glad I did it and would welcome Heianbro for anyone wanting to stay close to the station.

Unfortunately my husband was very sick in Kyoto so we used our room a lot and found it very spacious with good air con and we also had private bath and toilet (which was a surprise as we only paid for private bath not toilet).

Pro's - Close to the station, hospitality, spacious rooms, private amenities, Air con, high speed internet in foyer, japanese breakfast.

Con's - For me the bedding ( too hard), no internet in the room,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allieswans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    46
    10
    1
    5
See reviews for
15
43
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

easy walking from the kyoto station; Quiet side street. ..... very clean, comfortable affordable accommodations, courteous staff. Had to return to Kyoto unexpectedly on the same trip; chose this ryokan to come back to!

Room Tip: book early (months ahead) to get best room. Ours was assigned. It was great ! Had a sitting room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfieyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, West Yorskshire, UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here as part of a guided tour. Unusually for a small ryokan we had ensuite facilities. The ryokan is extremely well located just a short walk from Kyoto station, but in a quiet street. We particularly enjoyed the Japanese breakfasts that were some of the best we had during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

when we arrived here we were a little early for checking in but there was no staff around! luckily there was another guest who was sat in the reception who advised us they had popped out. we hung around for a little while and they appeared not long after. we were greeted by who i presume was Grandad, who spoke a small amount of english but was very friendly. he showed us to our room which was quite small but just big enough for sleeping and eating. the bathroom was also quite small but the shower was super fast. there was also a private onsen which was the family bath but if you ask them they will get set up for you. the yutaka they provide was incredibly starched! nice location from the station, not bad at all

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirsteen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Kyoto is a very large city, so finding a ryokan like this was a real coup. The location is fantastic, primarily because it's a five-minute walk from Kyoto Station. That's key not only if you're trying to get to the train for the airport or just to get around for sightseeing, There are also lots of things to do and see within walking distance, including places to eat. There's a comfortable sitting room and the Japanese-style room we stayed in was spacious and also had a private bathroom. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was incredible (extra charge).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LorenzoF65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This Ryokan is perfectly located about 5 minutes walk from Kyoto Station, yet it is quiet. The Japanese breakfast was delicious and the rooms spacious. Very friendly staff. Everywhere is within walking distance, from Gion to the Nishiki markets. And plenty of restaurants to Kyoto Station. For those wanting to do laundry there's a coin laundry just 5 minutes walk away. Definitely recommended. One thing to remember though, the place only take cash payments (no credit cards) but there is a 7-11 atm (ask the yodobashi camera reception for details) that takes international cards.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Our experience in Heianbo was really great! It feels very much lived in, and the staff makes you feel well taken care of! I would stay there again if I had the chance to go back!

Location was perfect as well; it's easy to access from Kyoto Station, but despite its prime location, it was really quiet.

The Japanese breakfast was light but really filling, and as authentic as it gets. They cook it fresh every morning, apparently, and it was really good!

Consider Heianbo as your home in Kyoto!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank carlalovestea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Inn Kawashima
Inn Kawashima
#152 of 352 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokan Shimizu
Ryokan Shimizu
#33 of 352 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Matsubaya Inn
Matsubaya Inn
#44 of 352 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northern Kyoto
Ryokan Yamazaki
Ryokan Yamazaki
#162 of 352 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Gion Hatanaka
#36 of 352 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Heianbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Heianbo

Property: Ryokan Heianbo
Address: 725 Higashi Shiokoji-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Hotel Style:
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Hotel Class:2 star — Ryokan Heianbo 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN so you can book your Ryokan Heianbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Heianbo Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing