We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Service Top Notch”
Review of Ryokan Heianbo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryokan Heianbo
Ranked #114 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Location and Service Top Notch”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Kyoto is a very large city, so finding a ryokan like this was a real coup. The location is fantastic, primarily because it's a five-minute walk from Kyoto Station. That's key not only if you're trying to get to the train for the airport or just to get around for sightseeing, There are also lots of things to do and see within walking distance, including places to eat. There's a comfortable sitting room and the Japanese-style room we stayed in was spacious and also had a private bathroom. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was incredible (extra charge).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LorenzoF65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    50
    12
    1
    5
See reviews for
17
45
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This Ryokan is perfectly located about 5 minutes walk from Kyoto Station, yet it is quiet. The Japanese breakfast was delicious and the rooms spacious. Very friendly staff. Everywhere is within walking distance, from Gion to the Nishiki markets. And plenty of restaurants to Kyoto Station. For those wanting to do laundry there's a coin laundry just 5 minutes walk away. Definitely recommended. One thing to remember though, the place only take cash payments (no credit cards) but there is a 7-11 atm (ask the yodobashi camera reception for details) that takes international cards.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Our experience in Heianbo was really great! It feels very much lived in, and the staff makes you feel well taken care of! I would stay there again if I had the chance to go back!

Location was perfect as well; it's easy to access from Kyoto Station, but despite its prime location, it was really quiet.

The Japanese breakfast was light but really filling, and as authentic as it gets. They cook it fresh every morning, apparently, and it was really good!

Consider Heianbo as your home in Kyoto!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank carlalovestea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Heianbo. Easy 5 min. walk from Kyoto Station, We stayed in 2 Japanese style rooms, and both were tastefully decorated and large for Japan. Bedding was clean and comfortable. Owners spoke some English, but tried to help as much as they could. Very accommodating. Wi-fi does not work in back, but good in the front. Only reason 4 stars is because smoking is allowed in the lobby. Otherwise, excellent stay.

Room Tip: Wi-fi does not work in the back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gohead88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed in four ryokans during my trip to Japan and this was by far the best. The Japanese-style room was large and the en-suite was cute and cosy. The ryokan was decorated with lovely statues and traditional Japanese items. I was allowed to leave my suitcase in the lobby the date of checkout whilst I went exploring the city, which was very handy. I collected my case when I was due to leave Kyoto. Staff were very friendly and the whole ryokan was pristine. I will definitely be staying here again when I visit Kyoto in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesPratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Had a really great time in Kyoto, and part of it was because I stayed here. Really love the place, very comfortable and the service was good. Just walking distance from Kyoto Station. I think I've got more than I expected considering the relatively cheap price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninainay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This easy to find ryokan is walking distance from the station, on a quiet side street. Super-friendly staff speak reasonable english, and provide spotless, comfortable rooms, great breakfasts, and a coffee table covered in guide books. Bike rental next door, on 2 bus routes, is an excellent find - well worth staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piggotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Inn Kawashima
Inn Kawashima
#163 of 369 in Kyoto
54 reviews
Yadoya Hiraiwa
#214 of 369 in Kyoto
58 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Matsubaya Inn
Matsubaya Inn
#62 of 369 in Kyoto
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nishiyama Ryokan
Nishiyama Ryokan
#76 of 369 in Kyoto
346 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokan Shimizu
Ryokan Shimizu
#43 of 369 in Kyoto
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Heianbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Heianbo

Property: Ryokan Heianbo
Address: 725 Higashi Shiokoji-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Hotel Style:
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryokan Heianbo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ryokan Heianbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Heianbo Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing