We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, lovely people”
Review of Ryokan Heianbo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryokan Heianbo
Ranked #132 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Compared to the average nightly rate at a typical ryokan, this place is actually not that expensive. That does not say that it is cheap, and whether this type of accommodation is worth the money is another discussion.

The rooms are very decent and clean. Breakfast was a great way to experience Japanse tradition. The owners and the cook-girl/student were really really friendly. It makes you feel like staying at someone's home, so I would definately arrange for breakfast when you stay at Heianbo.

One small minus was the airco. It took long to start working in the room. In the rest of the place there was no airco at all. Although I must say we were a bit unfortunate as we visited Kyoto at a very hot time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 109 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed the experience. It's not luxurious, but you don't expect it for the price. However, it was comfortable and had everything we needed, and we loved the breakfasts, especially the tofu! The people who served us the breakfast were very friendly and attentive. It is in a central location, so a great spot for visiting Kyoto, which is highly recommended! If you are looking for somewhere basic and not too expensive, but clean and comfortable, and something a bit more traditional rather than all the mainstream hotels, this is a good option.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EvaCarinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had booked in for a 3-person room. When we arrived, we were greeted by the very excitable lady owner. She offered us 1 room or 2 rooms at no extra cost. We opted for the 2 rooms for some extra space. This place was great, the one and only downside was getting our suitcases up and down the long, narrow staircase. It was a perfect location for exploring kyoto, and in a quiet area. Breakfast was served between 7-9am, which was perfect. Breakfast was great, the owners gave amazing service, going above and beyond. The owner offered us tips and hints of local things that were happening, like the kyoto firework festival! The room was spacious and comfortable, we had a private shower but shared the toilet between the 2 rooms, which was fine. Ahhh, this was such a great experience, I only wish we'd stayed longer than 3 days. Definately recommend staying here and would definately go back again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room downstairs if you have large luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband had visited Japan before and insisted that we must stay in a Ryokan and I am so glad he did. I absolutely loved staying here, everything from the beautiful room and the distinctive smell of the tatami mats to the gorgeous gardens was great. I think my favourite part was using the hot bath; really eased my aches and pains after a hard days walk! It was refreshingly easy to find too, only five minutes walk from the incredible Kyoto railway station.

You are provided with traditional patterned dressing gowns for use in the room, which is a nice photo op! I was dubious about the bed initially, but it was cosy and comfy and we slept soundly. Staff were lovely and although they didn't speak English, they were happy to listen and respond to our attempts to speak Japanese. Much to my delight, there was a friendly cat lounging in reception in the evening, although non cat lovers may feel a little differently about this! Apparently there are two cats living there, but the second furry friend didn't put in an appearance.

An amazing, very Japanese experience, well worth the money.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank dubaipenguinchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed at The Heian Bo Ryokan for 4 nights. It was easy to get to and we arrived really late at night and mamasan waited for us and welcomed us in. It was really close to Kyoto station where you can access pretty much all of the wonderful things Kyoto has to offer and to Kyoto yodabashi department store. There was five of us including two children and we couldn't fault the service. The breakfast was wonderful. Sleeping on the futon takes a little getting use to (kind of like camping) but after walking the streets of Japan for a day you don't really mind. Make sure you remember to collect your shoes. I would highly recommend this Ryokan to someone wanting a down to earth friendly japanese experience. The distance from the station cannot be beaten for price and value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed in this ryokan only for one night, but thought that when we visit Kyoto again we will choose to stay in it - it was one of the best ryokans we stayed in during our one-month trip in Japan, and in a very good location (3 min. walk from the Kyoto JR train station, 15-minutes walk from Gion).

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AmirFreimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed at the Ryokan Heianbo for 4 nights while in Kyoto on a tour.

It was just like staying at someone's home, The rooms weren't huge, nor the bathrooms, but it was a real Japanese experience. If you were looking for a plush western motel, then I'd be looking elsewhere, but if you have come to Japan to absorb the culture, then it's a nice little place to stay.

The rooms have ensuites, which is rare for a Ryokan, and the location to the Railway station is fantastic.

The staff are very freindly, and make you feel comortable.

There is a small onsen, which with the size of the Ryokan, could land you with a private onsen.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KatandAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Southern Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
#100 of 407 in Kyoto
355 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokan Shimizu
Ryokan Shimizu
#61 of 407 in Kyoto
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Shizuya Kyoto
Shizuya Kyoto
#197 of 407 in Kyoto
12 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
#23 of 407 in Kyoto
245 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Inn Kawashima
Inn Kawashima
#182 of 407 in Kyoto
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Heianbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Heianbo

Address: 725 Higashi Shiokoji-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Hotel Style:
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryokan Heianbo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ryokan Heianbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Heianbo Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing