We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Reasonable hotel in Kyoto (but why charge for the pool)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Ranked #51 of 354 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel in Kyoto (but why charge for the pool)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Kyoto on a recent holiday. I chose it because I had a lot of IHG points to use and it was, therefore, a free option. I was a bit worried what the hotel would be like after reading some of the reviews. I didn't feel that the hotel was as dated as some of the reviews suggest. It is not the most modern hotel but it was not bad. The staff are not as attentive or efficient as many other Asian hotels but they are better than most European or US hotel staff. However they didn't even acknowledge my gold IHG status and I thought this was poor. I would stay there again if I wanted to earn or burn IHG points in Kyoto (but not to use the pool as they charge for it).

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank samwardill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    534
    219
    77
    25
See reviews for
332
413
121
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Good location by metro and good shuttle bus service to station (operates from the Shinkansen side, not the bus station). Rooms were fine, but small, bathroom was in need of some TLC. Despite non-smoking room an overwhelming smell of cigarettes hit us on the last night (downstairs?). Breakfast was decent for choice, quality and value. Had to pay extra to use the pool, which was a world first for me.....

All in all - perfectly fine and recommended, but nothing outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAB8472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear JAB8472,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving feedback about our hotel. I am truly delighted you found our location convenient and pleased our shuttle service suited you well. However, I apologize if the bathroom facility did not meet your standards. Rest assured your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
146 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Its a very nice business hotel located in the center of kyoto with very good services, rooms, and staff.
Great luxurious lobby, and great and clean rooms. Piano bar that opens until 1am.
Very recommendable hotel for business (well located) and well communicated. They have a shuttle to the Central Station for the shinkasen.
Very good hotel and recommendable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rguerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We were given the wrong room (two single beds instead of the double bed room that we had actually reserved). In addition, we felt that their restaurant advertised its prices - based on a sign that was placed directly outside the restaurant - in a misleading manner. The price we were actually charged for our meal was quadruple the amount we had expected. While we may have misunderstood their menu, I simply don't understand how they can charge so incredibly much for a perfectly ordinary steak and veg dinner (the dinner cost much more than a couple nights' stay). There was nothing in the food or the restaurant itself to justify this (think ordinary meal served in a small room at a bar under very bright lighting). Overall, the experience with the hotel was disappointing, though it is a lovely city to spend time in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgal415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear beachgal415,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room assignment prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

On balance, we enjoyed our brief stay at the Hotel. Although our room was small, it was pleasantly furnished, if somewhat dated, & we slept well thanks to the comfortable bed & pillows together with a quiet air-conditioner. The staff we dealt with were all efficient, courteous & friendly, especially the shuttle bus drivers & personnel at Reception.
There was easy City Bus access to the Kinkakuji/Uzumasa area in one direction & to Nishi-Honganji Temple, & on to Kyoto Station, in the other. The Hotel's free shuttle bus service to & from Kyoto Station was also very welcome. Further, it is only a few minutes walk to the Nijojo-mae Station on the Tozai City Subway line. As others have commented, it is across the road from Nijo Castle, one of Kyoto's major tourist attractions.
There are several small restaurants & mini marts within a 10 minute walk from the Hotel & a number of vending machines for anyone wanting only a cold drink.
The small Hotel gardens are particularly impressive, especially the waterfall & pond just alongside the Lobby & the lighting display of an evening is an attractive feature.
My only negative comments are
1. our room, & bathroom in particular, were small even by Japanese hotel standards.
2. despite having a non-smoking room, there was a very strong smell of cigarette smoke in the hallway near our door, which I suspect came from the Castle Suite nearby. This smell leaked into our room & necessitated running the dehumidifier continuously as well as buying an air freshener, &
3. I emailed the Hotel a week before arriving to ask where my wife & I could catch the Hotel shuttle on our arrival at Kyoto Station but I did not receive a response.

Room Tip: If requesting a non-smoking room, also request it be on a non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Agfox46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Amazing views of the Ninjo castle from our 6th floor room, beautiful! I have to agree with many of the other reviews that the rooms are dated but clean. It was great sleeping in a comfortable bed though and having thick bath towels again after staying in moderately western style hotels in smaller cities. I think it was a very good value and the breakfast buffet was very good. The free shuttle was a real plus and the entire staff was very nice!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a castle view room on a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWLPalmBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Centrally located hotel across the road from the famous Nijo Castle. Regular shuttle to and from Kyoto station/shopping district is handy as are buses across the road to many a temple, castle and the historic town of Gion which is a must! The rooms are clean but dated. There was an unpleasant smell coming from the drain in the bathroom. Complimentary water daily was really nice as was the pillow service. The hotel is located in a backstreet of Kyoto and I really enjoyed walking the surrounding picturesque traditional old streets.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kicks66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear garciat,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your candid review about our property. It’s nice to know that our location was convenient for the purpose of your travel. Conversely, we’re sorry you were not satisfied with the room conditions. We have taken note of your feedback and will be used to focus on improvements. Should your future travel plans bring you back to Kyoto, we look forward to serving you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#41 of 354 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 354 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Property: ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Address: Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ANA Hotel Kyoto looks almost out of place with its modern exterior nestled amongst the sublime beauty and historic grandeur of Japan s old capital. This however belies the traditional hospitality and classic atmosphere to be experienced within her four walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN and Travelocity so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Ana Hotel
Ana Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing