We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good central base to explore Kyoto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Ranked #45 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is right across the road from the Nigo Castle, we stayed here recently on a visit to view the Cherry Blossom, it is maybe not the latest in International Décor but to sit and have the wonderful breakfast with an amazing "waterfall" water feature just outside the huge glass wall is lovely!, personally we went to take photographs of the exquisite gardens and shrines that are all over this ancient city to remind us of our visit, not the bathrooms and bedrooms of the hotels!. The staff are very anxious to help and to be greeted by a beautiful young lady in national costume behind the concierges desk is much more memorable than needing to be in a hotel that might be anywhere in the world! Kyoto and indeed Japan is so different that we were enchanted by this uniqueness, there are many restaurants catering for all possible tastes, a narrow alley that runs right beside the river in the Ponto-cho district that has many small restaurants, on one side they all overlook the clean and spotless river, we ate at the one with the red umbrellas
outside, they all have different ways to catch your eye, from stunning orchids to many lanterns or exquisite little water features. Nishiki Market will have your eyes popping out at the staggering display of foods on display. The Arashiyama Bamboo grove will leave you speechless as one can only gaze at bamboos so tall, graceful and way over your head that your imagination takes over!
Would recommend getting a good guide book{ lonely planet?} There are many
iconic gardens in and around the city but do remember to allow time to let them all work their magic, and do wander around the Nijo castle across the road from this
very good hotel indeed, the staff are all very helpful and anxious to help.
Can't believe that nobody seems to have mentioned the nice warmed loo seats that are a bit disconcerting to start with in Japan but one really misses them when you get back!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the castle across the road, there is a little traffic noise but very...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinaweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,345)
There are newer reviews for ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in April and I have to say I cant believe they have got away with it for so long. The decor is so very 1970's - maybe if they waited another 5 years it might actually be fashionable again!
We had a good sized double room - there was complementary water every day. The room was clean and quiet.
Breakfast was good although waiting time of 15 - 30 minutes every morning to be seated was unacceptable - we noticed that after 9 am there wasn't too much of a wait.
Hotel is across from the Nijo Castle but quite far from most other things of interest.
Would I stay here again? - no!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LexiDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear LexiDublin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

I am delighted to note that despite the poor service you received during breakfast, you were still satisfied with the food served. I sincerely apologize for the shortfalls and for the dissatisfaction you had with our decors. We strive to be the best in the industry and regret that we were not able to deliver this to you.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Excelent hotel, wonderful facilites, very convenient shuttle bus, big and excelent room, amazing breakfast, excelent wifi, very helpful ladies from concierge( buy the day unlimited bus rides with them!)
Yes, Ana Kyoto is an old hotel, but is clearly still a wonderful hotel. Steps from Nijo Castle, if I come back to Kyoto, I will stay there again for sure! We loved our 4 nights there!
Alexandre and Renata Gomes , from Brasil

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liskauskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Our room was at the front of the hotel opposite Nijo Castle, very nice to wake up to. The hotel as a whole is average.
Our big disappointment was a girl at the Information desk, we went over to ask questions about buses, location of things etc... She kept on typing on a computer while I spoke to her, she provide no assistance, offered no suggestions, gave us nothing. We were very disappointed, after composing ourselves I went back later and found a Mr Yamada, Wow what a difference he couldn't do enough for us, and gave us a hotel bus map..... How about that.
Anyway Kyoto is a great city we really enjoyed the city, after all you only sleep in the hotel right.
PS you will see the hotel website tells you there is a free shuttle bus from the station, unfortunately they don't tell you where to catch the shuttle bus..... Exit the station on the Shinkansen side, you will see taxis etc... Walk to the left end of station, you will see a McDonalds, wait there. You will see the mini bus turn up about every 15-20 mins, it is bright purple with ANA Crowne Plaza written on the side. If you don't get the mini bus a taxi will cost you about ¥2000
Enjoy Kyoto

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Joneses2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Dear Joneses2010,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed the great view from your room and pleased you enjoyed your overall experience here in Kyoto. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcoming you experienced and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations in some aspects of your stay specially your experience with one of our Information Desk staff. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and service we offer.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments and thoughts regarding you stay with us.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Reviews are accurate, the property is in severe need of an upgrade. Unfortunately our experience was not at all positive - let me preface this review with the fact that my wife and I regularly stay in motels in the US (like a Best Western or Comfort Inn) and do not expect a lot when travelling as much of our time is spent sightseeing. The rooms of the property are well below what we would expect from a motel, so it was hard for us to fathom the Hotel was rated 4 stars. We were placed in rooms overlooking the palace, very nice view, but everything else was a let down. Carpets and furniture are from the 1970's, the air conditioning system did not work even when set to its maximum, it ended up raising the temperature during the night and it was not even that hot outside (windows are locked shut so we could not even get outside ventilation). The bathroom smelled like a public lavatory, my wife could barely go in there long enough to brush her teeth - it was nauseating. The bathtub would not drain at a reasonable rate, so you ended up showering in 3 inch deep water. The TV/Cable system is pretty much useless unless you speak Japanese (only 2 channels in other languages) or if you are willing to pay to watch On Demand movies. We were disappointed and also surprised that the hotel carries the name Crowne Plaza, it does not come close to the standard one would expect for a hotel bearing the name.

3  Thank citytracks
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear citytracks,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Kyoto.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I feel to adequately write this review I need to split it into 2 sections. The room and the rest of the hotel.

The room.
We requested a double non smoking for 2 nights. We entered the room and the smell hit us straight away. It smelt really bad of cigarette smoke, the room looked like something from the 60's really old fashioned. Our room was located next to the fountain which so there was a loud noise from the motor which luckily went off at 10pm. The air conditioning was also broke. We put up with it as it was difficult to communicate and we were only there for a short time.

The rest of the hotel.
The staff were nice and helpful. The buffet breakfast was exceptional, we didn't experience long waiting times however this may of been because we had a late breakfast. The location of the hotel is quite far out compared to others we stayed in however we used full use of their complimentary bus to the station. Using it 6 times in total.

Unfortunately for me the room just wasn't good enough quality for the price we paid. We resorted in staying out as long as possible so we only had to return to sleep.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank spudnik91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear spudnik91,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am happy that our breakfast options met your expectations and you found the level of service received to be exceptional. I am sincerely sorry that the room condition did not suit your liking. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and we will use your comments to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

We hope the next time your travels bring you back to the area, you consider us again for your lodging needs.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The location is convenient, close to the station. Several antiquities are here. Room is clean and comfortable, but the furniture is a little old fashion. I still recommend this hotel, maybe you love this style.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elijah1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Elijah1202,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the room furnishing. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#49 of 374 in Kyoto
1,116 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 374 in Kyoto
1,243 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#18 of 374 in Kyoto
3,039 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Address: Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $125 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ANA Hotel Kyoto looks almost out of place with its modern exterior nestled amongst the sublime beauty and historic grandeur of Japan s old capital. This however belies the traditional hospitality and classic atmosphere to be experienced within her four walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Cancelon, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Ana Hotel
Ana Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing