We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in Kyoto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Ranked #50 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in Kyoto”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel was a very nice stay. The staff are extremely helpful and there are some english speaking staff in fact Simon on the concierge desk was from Australia but living in Japan for 20 years. He helped us a lot with places to eat and visit in Gion area. The hotel was clean and very well equipped. The restaurant buffet was splendid and there was a really pleasant waterfall just outside which added to the ambience. A hotel shuttle picks you up outside the Kyoto station and takes you to the hotel every 20 minutes or so. There are regular taxis and reasonably priced in Kyoto. We really enjoyed our stay and will return to this hotel in Kyoto on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    576
    229
    79
    27
See reviews for
356
436
127
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, beautiful lobby and very pleasant and helpful staff. Most spoke good English and our receptionist suggested places we could visit and how to get there. We had breakfast in the hotel both days and it was excellent with many choices and with the 500y discount only cost 1800y each which was excellent value. The Chief Concierge Simon ( NZ and Aussie) was very helpful and informative. The JR railway station is a 10-15 minute walk away and the underground about 5-10 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin room, we have found double rooms in Japan seem to be very small,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
240 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I had the most comfortable stay at the posh ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto. Greeting us at the spacious lobby is a beautiful floral display, professional English speaking staff in elegant kimonos to check us in and a person showing us to our room. We were very impressed by the impeccable service, both the spacious room and bathroom. This hotel certainly goes all out to pamper us with a pillow menu, aroma option, comfy yukatas, different types of tea for bedtime and next morning as part of their unique Sleep Advantage programme. There is a kettle and coffee which we enjoyed the next morning overlooking the Nijo castle from our window and its surrounding greenery . We were able to get a late check out at 12 noon to be able to enjoy the comfort of the room before we headed out, storing our luggage at the reception. There is also free and fast wifi access from the room and lobby. The spacious bathroom has full amnesties and nice bathtub with relaxing bath salts. We also enjoyed the live cello performance at their cafe overlooking the waterfall downstairs during the 4 pm tea break. Please look out for the special deals on Booking.com. The 13,360 Yen for a night’s stay is really worth it !

Room Tip: The view overlooking the Nijo castle on the high floors is delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Iam a frequent traveler in Japan and i found my self several times in hotel which didn’t met the expectation and satify the needs of western traveler. Not the case when you come to the Crowne Plaza Kyoto. not only front dest staff speaks good English, but they have a very very helpful Guests relation manager which appears to be French/ English ( in any case super helpful).
All ladies at front desk and in F&B are wearing their Kimono, which make the stay even more charming. as soon as i arrived i made sure to ship one of my large suit case to my next destination in Osaka, and hopefully after 24 hours i will find it there ( cost for shipping a 34 kilos suit case from Kyoto to Osaka 1,270 Yen= 7 euro) .
the room are larger that usual standard in Japan, mine probably was 28 sqm and i have a beautiful view on the palace . as many Crowne Plaza in japan ,
as many Crowne plaza i japan the sleeping set was there, mint green tea, relaxing bath salt and warming blind folder. TV has English channels Yuppy do! bathroom decent amenities.
i tried two of their F&B outlets: the all day dining, for the western breakfast and yes for the price we pay was very good value and great choice, well above the average, in the evening , when i wasted to try the buffet, i found my self wondering around and not particularly enticed, therefore i chose the Japanese restaurant and the experience of te sushi set was absolutely worth the 6000 yen i paid, if not for the food for sure by the service.
all and all the experience has been above my expectations, pity that to use the gym there is a fee, and i didn’t like had to pay for this service but I do understand their policy, Internet is FOC and wireless

Room Tip: palace view of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebalodorico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maili, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Customer service was terrific (this is Japan). Very helpful concierge staff -- head concierge Simon, Daisuke, and a young Russian woman (whose name I've forgotten) were especially friendly and knowledgeable.
The restaurants were great. A bit pricey (this is Japan) but the food was excellent.
Note that they will charge you an extra 3,000 Yen for an additional guest, but that includes the breakfast which ordinarily would cost you upwards of 2,000 Yen anyway, and was delightful, both the buffet and the traditional Japanese breakfast.
The toilet had lots of fancy options (this is Japan), and my only complaint was that the construction of the toilet prevented it from being cleaned completely and in my opinion it smelled like urine. The wife didn't notice, so I suppose it couldn't have been that bad. Other than that, the room was scrupulously clean, well-furnished, and everything in good working order.
Mattress in our room was very firm -- just this side of a futon.
View from the breakfast table(s) is spectacular.
The workout equipment is limited, and is at poolside so no A/C -- IMO not worth the 1,500 Yen to use it. If you want to use the pool, you need an actual bathing suit (my nylon running shorts weren't acceptable -- another 500 Yen :-)
On the other hand, I had an excellent 1-hour massage for about $75 US, and the other gym/spa facilities are quite nice (hot and cold baths, showers, large pool, lockers, etc.)
Location is convenient, and they have a free shuttle to the central Rail/Metro station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa-shi, Okinawa, Japan
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were extremely impressed with the quality of the customer service provided to us by each and every employee of the ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto. Never have I been treated so well by every member of a hotel's staff.

In particular, Mr. Simon Finch, the lead concierge, was immensely friendly and helpful with every aspect of our stay. His recommendations for sightseeing locations and restaurants were spot-on and helped us to enjoy our trip to the fullest.

Mr. Takashi Ueda, Captain of Bar at Castle Gate, the hotel's bar and lounge, showed us the meaning of hospitality. He is both a very skilled bartender and a very warm host. Any visitor absolutely must go see his amazing ability to turn an unremarkable cube of ice into a superbly sculpted ice ball - the perfect way to cool any cocktail.

I would also highly recommend the massage services provided by Ms. Asuka Yoshizawa. Her deft touch melts away all of the pains of sightseeing. In particular, her foot massage was the best I have ever had!

I also recommend the hotel's western style breakfast buffet. It was very tasty with a wide variety of choices, and set in a beautiful room looking out onto the hotel's beautiful waterfalls and koi pond.

All in all, we were very satisfied with our stay and highly recommend this hotel. As a side note, the hotel is conveniently located very near a subway stop, and is also directly across the street from the entrance to Nijo Castle. The hotel also provides a free shuttle service to and from the Kyoto train station.

Room Tip: Select the option to include breakfast in your hotel reservation. It's well worth the additional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OkiBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

A good hotel situated in a bustling area and right opposite the Nijojo castle. Very courteous staff who go all the way to help despite their poor English speaking skills.But I must say that the presence of a few non-Japanese English speaking front office staff more than made up for a hassle-free communication. The restaurants were excellent serving great food and serviced by helpful stewards. The good first impression one gets when setting foot into the wide lobby and spacious reception area is soon lost when you step into the rooms - they were pretty ordinary with hardly any space The beds were quite low, there were no proper cupboards and had small windows notwithstanding the high tech toilets with buttons that dont fail!
Another advantage was that hotel was within walking distance to atleast 2 subway stations. In addition the hotel had 15 minute free shuttle services to the main Kyoto Central station. Overall a pleasant and comfortable stay thanks to the ever courteous and smiling hotel staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suneel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#42 of 369 in Kyoto
1,075 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 369 in Kyoto
2,935 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 369 in Kyoto
1,196 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Property: ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Address: Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ANA Hotel Kyoto looks almost out of place with its modern exterior nestled amongst the sublime beauty and historic grandeur of Japan s old capital. This however belies the traditional hospitality and classic atmosphere to be experienced within her four walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Ana Hotel
Ana Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing