We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“98% perfect :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Ranked #52 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Maili, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“98% perfect :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Customer service was terrific (this is Japan). Very helpful concierge staff -- head concierge Simon, Daisuke, and a young Russian woman (whose name I've forgotten) were especially friendly and knowledgeable.
The restaurants were great. A bit pricey (this is Japan) but the food was excellent.
Note that they will charge you an extra 3,000 Yen for an additional guest, but that includes the breakfast which ordinarily would cost you upwards of 2,000 Yen anyway, and was delightful, both the buffet and the traditional Japanese breakfast.
The toilet had lots of fancy options (this is Japan), and my only complaint was that the construction of the toilet prevented it from being cleaned completely and in my opinion it smelled like urine. The wife didn't notice, so I suppose it couldn't have been that bad. Other than that, the room was scrupulously clean, well-furnished, and everything in good working order.
Mattress in our room was very firm -- just this side of a futon.
View from the breakfast table(s) is spectacular.
The workout equipment is limited, and is at poolside so no A/C -- IMO not worth the 1,500 Yen to use it. If you want to use the pool, you need an actual bathing suit (my nylon running shorts weren't acceptable -- another 500 Yen :-)
On the other hand, I had an excellent 1-hour massage for about $75 US, and the other gym/spa facilities are quite nice (hot and cold baths, showers, large pool, lockers, etc.)
Location is convenient, and they have a free shuttle to the central Rail/Metro station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    560
    225
    78
    26
See reviews for
346
426
127
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa-shi, Okinawa, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were extremely impressed with the quality of the customer service provided to us by each and every employee of the ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto. Never have I been treated so well by every member of a hotel's staff.

In particular, Mr. Simon Finch, the lead concierge, was immensely friendly and helpful with every aspect of our stay. His recommendations for sightseeing locations and restaurants were spot-on and helped us to enjoy our trip to the fullest.

Mr. Takashi Ueda, Captain of Bar at Castle Gate, the hotel's bar and lounge, showed us the meaning of hospitality. He is both a very skilled bartender and a very warm host. Any visitor absolutely must go see his amazing ability to turn an unremarkable cube of ice into a superbly sculpted ice ball - the perfect way to cool any cocktail.

I would also highly recommend the massage services provided by Ms. Asuka Yoshizawa. Her deft touch melts away all of the pains of sightseeing. In particular, her foot massage was the best I have ever had!

I also recommend the hotel's western style breakfast buffet. It was very tasty with a wide variety of choices, and set in a beautiful room looking out onto the hotel's beautiful waterfalls and koi pond.

All in all, we were very satisfied with our stay and highly recommend this hotel. As a side note, the hotel is conveniently located very near a subway stop, and is also directly across the street from the entrance to Nijo Castle. The hotel also provides a free shuttle service to and from the Kyoto train station.

Room Tip: Select the option to include breakfast in your hotel reservation. It's well worth the additional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OkiBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

A good hotel situated in a bustling area and right opposite the Nijojo castle. Very courteous staff who go all the way to help despite their poor English speaking skills.But I must say that the presence of a few non-Japanese English speaking front office staff more than made up for a hassle-free communication. The restaurants were excellent serving great food and serviced by helpful stewards. The good first impression one gets when setting foot into the wide lobby and spacious reception area is soon lost when you step into the rooms - they were pretty ordinary with hardly any space The beds were quite low, there were no proper cupboards and had small windows notwithstanding the high tech toilets with buttons that dont fail!
Another advantage was that hotel was within walking distance to atleast 2 subway stations. In addition the hotel had 15 minute free shuttle services to the main Kyoto Central station. Overall a pleasant and comfortable stay thanks to the ever courteous and smiling hotel staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suneel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

As written in the title if you care regarding your IHG status (which I do) than this is your only choice as to date when travelling to Kyoto. On the positive side I have to mention that the Hotel provides a free shuttle bus service every 15 minutes (watch out, goes only until 8 pm) from JR Kyoto station to the hotel and vice versa. Other positive is the City Kyoto, where you can see some real Japan (not like in Tokyo where you can't).
The hotel itself looks a bit old and the room (although described by staff as executive) is rather small but clean.
During our 3 night stay we had a warm water shortage for a short period, but thankfully this was solved quickly by staff.
The biggest negative experience is some sort of japaneese habit for charging someone for the pool usage (here ¥1.000/person/day). I mean what is this nonsense?? I wouldn't care if they would add another ¥1.000 or so to the roomcharge but doing this separately is a but strange.
All in all I was satisfied with the hotel, since the price was okay the room was clean and the location was great, but the "pool story" made me bit angry.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laszlo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Tohimen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online and being an IHG Rewards Club Member. I am happy that you find our shuttle service to be useful and our rooms adequate for your needs. I apologize if you were unhappy with the pool facility services and charges. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

I hope the next time you're in the area you choose us again for your lodging needs.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed at the Ana Crowne Plaza, Kyoto - Japan in May 2013. The hotel is so-so. The lobby looks newly renovated, but the rooms have a lot to be desired. REALLY need an overhaul.

However, the Restaurants are by far some of the best, we have dined in. Who knew! We ate twice in the French/Japanese Fusion restaurant, and the experience is one we still talk about. The service was superior and the food was REALLY good. One of the dishes served was Foie Gras with a Lychee Glace; so good!

We also ate in the Teppan-yaki Steakhouse once and that too was above par. We were happily surprised to find an English speaking Chef, Peter Butler, who prepared our food to perfection. He explained in details what he was preparing for us, and we truly enjoyed every morsel he put in front of us. Everything was DELICIOUS! Japanese food at its best! Peter was a gem! He took the time to chat, while he prepared our food, and we had a wonderful time "comparing notes" between the UK and Japan. So much fun! Peter, thank you for making our meal and our stay in the Hotel so memorable!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room overlooking the Nijo Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PTJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel rooms are clean and maintained well but relatively small. It is likely that most Kyoto hotels may not have much spacier rooms, however. What bothered however is the busy breakfast restaurant, having to wait to be seated and we even saw some guests wait upto 20 minutes to be seated. Hotel of this size should have a larger dining room.

Also strange is how buys their pool and gym are. In fact, you will be notified that there is space for one male or one female at such and such time.

The gym does not open till 11 am which is quite distinct from any other hotel we encountered in our world travels. Wonder if this is a Japanese phenomenon. When we notified the manager on duty, his only response was that he will convey our displeasure to the higher management and made little attempt to get the gym open earlier.

Simon Finch at the Concierge desk has been extremely pleasant and helpful. He certainly is an asset to the hotel and hope that they reward staff like him.

Free Wi Fi is appreciated and wish that all fancy hotels adopt this strategy. And, on top of it, the internet download speed is more than 15 mB/sec.

We will not stay at this hotel again unless we have to.

We never stayed at ANA Crown Plaza hotels before but if this hotel represents the chain, we may shun the chain altogether.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rama J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear rmjager,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our breakfast area. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Location
- Convenient for Nijo castle and close to Japan Rail and Subway stations
- Some distance from Kyoto station, but the hotel does operate a shuttle bus. Alternatively, a taxi costs about Y1500
- Some distance from the major temple sites, but these are also served by public Transport
- On balance, hotels closer to Kyoto Station may be a better bet for hardcore tourists as the excellent Public Transport Tourist Shuttle buses will be closer to hand

Facilities
- Large lobby
- Small breakfast restaurant: get there early or be prepared to queue
- Swimming Pool on site but very high charges (Y1500 for an adult) for a swim.
- Bedrooms are reasonably sized but need refurbishing. Decor is worn and old fashioned

Customer Service
- Unusually for Japan, this was not consistently good
- Restaurant service was efficient but rather cold. No real problem for me but this has been reflected in other reviews
- Some of the Front desk staff were excellent but others should not be customer facing - rude, aggressive and unwilling to be accountable for errors. I observed one member of staff shouting at a customer who was calmly asking questions. Very odd.

I left this hotel not really understanding how some elements can be so good but, unusually for a Japanese hotel, other customer service points can be so poor. My best guess is that a culture or arrogance has built up amongst some staff: visitors flock to Kyoto so the hotel does not have to try too hard. On balance the positive outweigh the negative but there are better choices in Kyoto. As such would not choose to stay here again and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Anon A,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#40 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Property: ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Address: Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ANA Hotel Kyoto looks almost out of place with its modern exterior nestled amongst the sublime beauty and historic grandeur of Japan s old capital. This however belies the traditional hospitality and classic atmosphere to be experienced within her four walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Ana Hotel
Ana Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing