We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice, clean Hotel with a great location..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Ranked #45 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of days whilst visiting Kyoto. Kyoto is a marvellous place..so much to do and see and such a beautiful part of Japan.
Ana from what I make of it, was bought by the Crowne Plaza chain.
We had forwarded our luggage from Tokyo and were extremely happy that it was there waiting for us on arrival. We were a little early upon arrival and the hotel was very busy, but the front desk reception happily checked us in. Staff are helpful and efficient and have a very good level of English.
The hotel in itself is a little dated, but is very clean and organised. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurants as the price was way too excessive. Breakfast was good, large variety of choice for both western and eastern tastes.
You will be able to find so many eateries around Kyoto. (Can recommend a fantastic Spanish restaurant in the centre called Antonio's also a great Italian at Pontocho called Trattoria Amore).
The hotel location is excellent in terms of being close to Nijo Castle, literally a five minute walk away! It's best to get there early when visiting.
We did make use of the shuttle bus, I must admit, we arrived at Kyoto station and stumbled upon It by chance, but it is so handy for getting to and from the main train station (Again this place is full of great eateries).
The concierge was very highly recommended from other reviews, he seemed like a really nice guy, but every recommendation he gave us did not turn out so well. We walked around and around, looking for a recommended restaurant, even stopping to ask a localer, to find that it was closed. The next night the recommendation was similar, restaurant was in a difficult place and was so packed by the time we got there it was a no go. I recommend just doing as the guide book says and have a mooch about yourself and eat where you stumble across. We had some fantastic meals this way.
All in all this hotel is not to the usual Crowne Plaza standard as stated by other people, but we would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gateau99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Dhabi10,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad you found our location to be convenient and clean. In addition, thank you for taking the time to recognize that our breakfast served was at par with your needs. Your additional comments have been noted and this will be used to consider further enhancements needed at our hotel.

Again, thanks for the candid review and we hope to see you soon!

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,345)
There are newer reviews for ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed only one night in Kyoto. This hotel is very Western in layout and is a large hotel; large expanses in the lobby and several restaurant options although unsurprisingly they're quite expensive, except for the Japanese and Chinese restaurants.
Staff were very friendly and accommodating; room was large and comfortable, good internet service, and close to some of the historic tourist attractions.
Price was reasonable; would recommend it without any trouble.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaundiced_Eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were part of a tour group that booked this hotel for 2 nights in Kyoto. The hotel has a nice lobby and a adjacent bar with a cascading waterfall that makes for pleasant respite--downside is that a beer from the min bar is $5.00 but at bar it is $9.00.
The hotel is close to a subway station and it is relatively cheap and easy to take a subway to the lively area along the Kamogawa River known as the Noryoyuka area where there are unlimited dining choices and a lively night scene. Do not miss the Giro Giro restaurant which offers a nine course meal for around $40/person. A friend recommended this restaurant (reservations a must). Cab rides to main area are under $10.00 so if the subways are to intimidating, cabs a cheap and will take 4 people so cost/person is the same as subway.
We were coming back to Kyoto a few days later and Simon, the hotel concierge, made us a reservation at Giro Giro even though we were staying a a different hotel on our return. Unusual to find a concierge who is a 6'1" New Zealander who speaks Japanese. Overall hotel is a good choice for Kyoto.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dmahler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Three metro stops away from the railway station and quietly located right in front of the Unesco World Heritage Site Nijo Castle is overlooking a park and the in the distance snow topped mountains. Hotel rooms are reasonably sized with all guest aminities in the bathrooms, minibar, safe, coffee and tea making facilities. The 'concierge' Simon (a New Zealander) speaks fluently Japanese and English and was extremely helpfull.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betelnutisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is situated next to Nijo Castle which is 10-15 minutes drive from Kyoto Central. The excellent regular Shuttle Bus service to Kyoto station means that you have easy access to downtown Kyoto.
If you arrive at Kyoto station look for the information office as I doubt you will find the pickup point without some assistance.

If you like walking it is very easy to get around, public transport system is also excellent.
If you have limited time don't be afraid to use taxis, they are reasonably priced and because distances are not far to most places of interest it is a very efficient way to travel.
Ask the very helpful staff to write down preferred destinations because taxi drivers can have a lot of difficulty understanding.
They all know the name of this place as Hotel ANA (pronounced anna, don't say A.N.A. )
There is also a free guide service in Kyoto manned by university students called the Good Samaritan Club (not affiliated with any religious organisations) and they will help find a guide for you.
Keep in mind that these are university students so week day assistance may be limited. We had a wonderful young man show us many of the wonderful gardens and cultural sites, he had his own pass to most sites so we only paid our own admission and taxis (all up we paid about $30 in taxis for the whole day).
A truly beautiful city and a very good experience at the hotel. Their restaurants are very good but expensive but there are many choices outside of the hotel.

Room Tip: It may pay to choose a more expensive room judging from some of the other comments, ours was a delux...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnandFeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The key annoying thing was smell of cigarettes even at non-smoking floor. Otherwise value for money hotel in good location. Not fresh but clean. We didn't indicate beforehand that we need a non-smoking room and by default the room was on a smoking floor. Took a while to solve this issue

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katerina123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Never stay in a place that misleads you. My husband and I chose the property for the pool but it didn't open until 1300 hours each day and the staff requested a cost of approx $10. each for one to swim in it. When I spoke to the NZ bell boy he indicated the pool was a separate entity yet on further examination the signage in the pool area mentioned it was the ANA crown plaza pool?
We will never stay here again and never stay at a Crown Plaza Hotel on principle.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Elizabeth A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#49 of 374 in Kyoto
1,116 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 374 in Kyoto
1,243 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#18 of 374 in Kyoto
3,039 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Address: Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $125 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ANA Hotel Kyoto looks almost out of place with its modern exterior nestled amongst the sublime beauty and historic grandeur of Japan s old capital. This however belies the traditional hospitality and classic atmosphere to be experienced within her four walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Ana Hotel
Ana Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing