We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor but funny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Ranked #49 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed January 30, 2013

It's really hard to find a cheap hotel in Japan...I mean, I don't believe that there is any cheap hotel in Japan. We visited Kyoto and stayed there a few days. I guess we had to be lucky that some people in the hotel could speak English, because outside there was almost nobody who speaks a bit English - in contrast all the Japanese ignored us as we tried to ask some questions...However the hotel is really impressive in the lobby. Everything is big, but not the rooms! They are small, frumpy and the only funny thing is the toilet! You can heat the toilet lid. :) But that's not what makes a hotel a good hotel! The staff was friendly, but all people are smiling all the time no matter if they understand you or not... It was clean in the room. Nevertheless all in all I was a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnjaLuisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dea AnjaLuisa,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am pleased to note that you found our lobby to be impressive and our staff to be friendly.

On the other hand, I am sorry to hear your troubles during your stay. I apologize for the inconvenience the language barrier has caused you and we regret that this has negatively affected your impression of our hotel.

We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards of service our guests expect. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and will be used for future updates. We all hope that should your travel plans bring you back to the area, you will give our hotel another try and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here over the New Year while in Kyoto. The place was neat, clean and didn't as some others reported look worn down at all. The rooms were comfortable and fairly large by Japanese standards.
Best features: across from the Niji-jo (Castle), subway stop 50 yards down the road, several good local restaurants ( Japanese as well as Korean and Italian) and they have an excellent staff, in particular Simon Finch who was not only helpful but also asked for feedback on places we went so he could keep his list up to date.
They have a spa with various massage options at reasonable prices.
Bar is nice and relaxing. Restaurants as in all Japanese hotels are overpriced and we skipped them to eat locally. Breakfast can be found at the Colorado coffee shop down the street ( pastries, egg/ham/toast, pancakes).

Room Tip: Castle side is a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I spent three nights at this hotel in late October 2012 and on the whole, while it generally met my expectations, it was not of the same quality as the other (similarly priced) hotels I experienced whilst in Japan. As other users have commented, one of the main drawbacks for me was the lack of useable wifi in the rooms, which is now commonplace is most hotels. The room, while comfortable, was also quite small and both the room and bathroom could do with a facelift.

The staff were very friendly, helpful and as always in Japan, unfailingly polite. The hotel has a useful courtesy bus running to and from Kyoto station which is very handy as it is a little far from the centre of town and some of the key sights. That said, it is opposite Nijo castle which is a great place to spend an afternoon (I suggest going later as the crowds tended to reduce towards the afternoon). There are a few great little places to eat close to the hotel as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metaxas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Metaxas,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The staff were super helpful. The bed was hard like most other places I've stated at. It's location isn't too bad as it is directly across from Nijo castle and a 9 minute train ride to potcho area. The rooms seem a bit old and the hole place could use a renovation to make it not seem like its the 1970's. overall though it is a nice place to stay for its price.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Excellent service, shuttle to Kyoto train station very handy and very on-time. Almost perfect, except that there is no air-conditioning (only heating), even we were there in Nov, room is a little stuffy, so have to open the window. Another minus is no wi-fi in the room, only LAN line, so unable to use iPad.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cruise603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The public areas of this hotel are very upscale and glitzy no doubt with weddings and other functions in mind. The massive, skillfully executed flower arrangements that grace the lobby are a special treat. Breakfasts are excellent with a wide range of options for both western and Japanese. There are any number of restaurant options for lunch and dinner. The rooms are adequate but nothing special and surprisingly rather on the small side. However they do contain a efficient work area, good beds,and a well designed and equipped bathroom. Located right across from Nijo Castle and very near a subway stop, this location provides easy access to the rest of Kyoto. As usual in Japan, the staff is very helpful!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Overall, a good experience at ANA. Average amenities. The mattress was on the floor, creating an uncomfortable experience getting in/out/up/down with my knee problem. It's an older hotel, but clean. Had breakfast at the hotel and it was pretty good; dinner was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islaluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#48 of 379 in Kyoto
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#19 of 379 in Kyoto
914 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#22 of 379 in Kyoto
1,282 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Address: Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $109 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ANA Hotel Kyoto looks almost out of place with its modern exterior nestled amongst the sublime beauty and historic grandeur of Japan s old capital. This however belies the traditional hospitality and classic atmosphere to be experienced within her four walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Ana Hotel
Ana Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing