We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kyoto - - don't miss it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Ranked #45 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed November 10, 2007

Stayed for 3 nights, had a great room overlooking Nijo Castle. Easy bus links to the golden temple and walking distance of shopping areas and Imperial gardens, couldn't fault it. Find it hard to believe some of the other reviews are of the same place.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ferdia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,345)
There are newer reviews for ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 544 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2007

We stayed at the ANA hotel for three nights. Although I agree that the rooms need a little updating the level of service from the staff was excellent. Everybody that we dealt with spoke very good English and were always helpful.

We ate one evening in the hotel and had the buffet. My wife and I both thought that it was very good value for money, Y8100 with a mandatory 10% discount for hotel residents. This included lobster freshley cooked while you waited.

We also had the excellent buffet breakfast included with the room (which wasn't dark and smoke free!). Yes the bathroom suite was a little "tired" but my toilet seat warmer worked just fine!!

Overall the position, value and service this hotel provided would allow me wihtout hesitation to recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Wharfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

We just stayed at the ANA Kyoto for four nights a few days ago and loved it. I must say that I was a little worried about staying here after reading some of the recent reviews, but we experienced nothing but good things. Our room was anything but dark, lovely appointed, had a nice, large bathroom, tons of free toiletries and a comfortable bed. The location was good and the staff were amazing....very attentive to our every needs. And the free shuttle to Kyoto and back left every half an hour, making it very convenient.

The lobby is stunning, with a huge waterfall and Japanese garden outside of the floor-to-cealing window of the lounge, and the paintings throughout the hotel were gorgeous.

My only complaints were that the internet connection cord kept on coming lose so we would loose connection and the furniture was in need of some updating as some of the furniture was peeling in places. But the positive absolutely outweighed the negative and we would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank tcreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

The hotel is quite worn and could do with a gut and refurbishment. The first room we had was supposed to be non-smoking but someone never told the previous guest that - it was pretty stinky. We asked for a change and they gave us a "non-smoking" room with a castle view but this room too had a smoke smell. We asked again and third time lucky, we got a clean-smelling room (with a castle view). The rooms (and bathrooms) were very spacious.

The service was pretty good and it was nice having a shuttle to the train station. Getting around town is easy after mastering the bus system - make sure to buy a 1-day bus pass for Y500 - excellent value.

Only one computer in the lobby to check e-mail so was seldom available - seemed odd for such a large hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dregish_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

The rooms we were given were not particularly clean and were certainly not non-smoking rooms. The service was excellent and our complaints about odors and such were quickly handled. However, the next day we asked for another room and were given quite a deluxe room compared to the smoking den we did have.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank sa_fari08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

I booked via Rakuten Travel for two persons at JPY 14,000/night ($120). I got a completely dark room. The view out the window was some industrial infrastructure and almost no sunlight at all! You need to have the light switched on the whole day, otherwise it's completely dark. I asked the staff for a better room, but they said there aren't any available. My advice is DON'T GO THERE unless you like to live like a rat.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank loco667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2007

We stayed five nights at the ANA Hotel Kyoto in late August. Booked on a 21-day in advance pre-pay rate it was really reasonably priced for Japan, although it didn't include breakfast but that has never really worried me.
The rooms were a decent sized, well furnished and with a good bed - thee most important thing. While not being the most central location for the sites excepting the must see Nijo Castle next door, this is made up for by the excellent shuttle bus service to the station running every 15mins up till 9 plus in the evening in summer.
The hotel is an easy mile or so walk to the modern city centre.
Only negative gym/pool isn't great and on top of that they charged.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Trixiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#49 of 374 in Kyoto
1,116 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 374 in Kyoto
1,243 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#18 of 374 in Kyoto
3,039 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Address: Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $125 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ANA Hotel Kyoto looks almost out of place with its modern exterior nestled amongst the sublime beauty and historic grandeur of Japan s old capital. This however belies the traditional hospitality and classic atmosphere to be experienced within her four walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Ana Hotel
Ana Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing