We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Hankyu - no thank you!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Ranked #86 of 361 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New Hankyu - no thank you!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2006

The hotel is far from new, although the position is good if you want to explore Kyoto and of course travel to other Japanese destinations via the train. However the rooms are worn and a little disappointing compared to other Japanese hotels we stayed in. In the rooms there was no english tea available and you had to buy the coffee, whilst Japanese and chinese tea was free, which we felt was geared to getting the tourists to pay extra! a little exploitation maybe!

Also and I know this was maybe a little sad but there were no English speaking channels on the TV at all - yes yes I know! but believe me after you have been in Japan for a week you do crave a little of you own language for comfort - or maybe I felt homesick!

We were checked in to a 2 x single bedded room which was wrong and no effort was made to correct this when we complained.

The staff were very helpful and the breakfast OK, but the general feel of the hotel felt a little dirty and old, especially as the general Japanese standard was excellent, this hotel was not as good and I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victoria399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    225
    114
    27
    18
See reviews for
136
89
60
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edwardsville, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2006

This was not a great place for non Japanese speaking tourists. This hotel was old and dirty. When we checked in they gave us breakfast coupons for the three days we were staying which I thought was nice until they called our room and asked for them back saying they were given in error. Any other hotel would have chalked it up to their mistake and not said a word. Luckily my mother is Japanese so she could read the message they sent to me one day written completely in Japanese! I also noticed a group of Japanese coming into the hotel one day and a doorman opening the door as well as a hotel staffer greeting them. I found this odd as we never had anyone even acknowledge us as we came into the hotel. I was with my 24 year old daughter and my 63 year old mother and all three of us felt that the hotel was dirty and unfriendly. The only positive I can say is that the hotel is conveniently located across from the train station; however, there were other nicer hotels nearby. We definitely would have changed except we were on a tour package.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kyoto hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2005

The New Hankyu Kyoto is definitely convenient to the Kyoto JR Train Station. It's literally across the street, separated only by the bus terminal and taxi stations. However, the service and upkeep of this hotel were not nearly on par with Japanese standards. Security consious folks might take note that the hotel still uses 'regular' keys for doors, not keycards.

Upon arrival, we were overwhelmed by the smoke smell in the lobby, which continued in the elevator and throughout our non-smoking floor. More than that, the customary enthusiastic greeting from Japanese hotel staff was noticably absent. The hotel room was small, which is expected in Asia. However the walls were paper thin, the matress was in need of replacement, and the entire room and floor were just plain 'worn'. This is clearly a very popular spot with tour groups, who spend short amounts of time and abuse the hotel accordingly.

I spent one night here, and would have immediately changed hotels had I been booked for a longer stay. To give US travelers an image: Red Roof Inn. We had a room rate of $91 through a discount website. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank globaltiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, CA USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2005

We spent 8 days in Japan. Three nights were in Kyoto at the New Hankyu. The hotel is a good size and located across the street from the Kyoto bus terminal, the Japan Rail Kyoto Station, the Tourist Information Center for Kyoto and a huge department store complex that has a spectacular veggie and sushi and sake section on the two bottom floors and an entire floor of restaurants.
They had king non-smoking rooms and the staff spoke English and the service was just super. We would recommend it to family and friends. On top of all that it was extremely reasonably priced because they included continental breakfast for 158,000 JP!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#72 of 361 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#46 of 361 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#27 of 361 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#43 of 361 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto

Property: Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Address: 579 Higashishiokoji-cho, Shiokojidori, Shinmachi Higahi iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 361 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing