We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to Kyoto Station, simple and accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Ranked #78 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“close to Kyoto Station, simple and accomodating”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The location is convenient, just opposite the huge Kyoto Station and bus terminal to all tourist spots. For first-time tourists travelling solo or with family, I'd say the hotel is your best choice. Whenever you get lost just take a bus/subway that heads back to the station. As it is just adjacent to the Kyoto Station, you can start your day at your own pace to catch your morning train or Shinkassen (bullet trains). There is Isetan and a few cafes nearby as well as a few department stores. The Kyoto Tower is just a walking distant. Our twin-bedded room is small but comfortable overlooking the Kyoto Tower with hot shower and coffee making facilities. Room was cleaned everyday and towels replaced daily throughout our 2 nights stay. The room comes with complimentary internet vouchers.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view of the Kyoto Tower, lovely view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anissha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    246
    124
    29
    18
See reviews for
153
99
63
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
somewhere
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a twin room. It was not spacious but comfortable enough after a tiring day of sightseeing. It looked tired from the facade but the room was spotless and refurbished. I was impressed by the service. The porterage service crew was friendly and accommodating. English was spoken by most staff and you could get assistance for sightseeing easily. When I moved out to the Gion area, I missed the location so much. You could go to a 24h mart across the road and Cafe Velocee opposite the hotel had good priced sandwiches and pastries for your morning breakfast. Being near the station is a great convenience for travellers with families or first time tourists to the city. Whenever you are lost somewhere, take a bus or subway that heads back the station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadallaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

If your top priority is convenient location, this is your absolute choice. The hotel is just a few minutes from the Kyoto staion and the bus terminal connecting most of the tourist spots. There are also department stores around. The hotel design and facilities is of a bit old fashioned. Like most other hotels in Japan, the rooms are small but was expected, though bed and pillow quality can be improved. Good services as always.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

What's good:
* Great central and convenient location - opposite railway station & close to tourist spots. There are 24 hour convenience stores within walking distance from hotel.
* Good rooms. I was also impressed that they use good quality toiletries in their bathrooms.
* Fantastic wi-fi connectivity in rooms. Since Japan is a technology advanced country, this is taken for granted but the wi-fi speed at this hotel was better than some other places I stayed.

What's not-so-good:
* Visited in peak season when they have more guests than the hotel dining area can fit.
* Breakfast options are limited. They do not have enough options for vegetarians
* Not a big negative but they need more English speaking staff considering the number of foreign tourists they cater to.

If I am back in Kyoto I would definitely consider staying here again but bring some food with me!

Room Tip: Take a room which is not facing the station/ Isetan area as the road can get noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1lifetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

First times stayed at this hotel, superb location just in front of kyoto station
Good size of room, good breakfast menu

In kyoto station are underground shopping centre closed by 2100
Also isetan dept store
On the left if kyoto tower with yodobashi shopping mall, a big super market on the ground floor
On the right cross the street is lawson minimart open 24 hrs

I love this location

Will stay here again

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonthedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Kyoto New Hankyu is directly across the street from the train station and all local transportation, so convenience is unchallenged. However, my room was small and not very pleasant. The concierge was very helpful in helping to plan the next part of my trip. Food was fair but expensive at the two restaurants I tried, but there are many restaurants across the street at the station as well as in other hotels close by. I agree with the review saying that refurbishment is needed; for now, I would recommend staying in the business center or, for a bit more money than the New Hankyu, at the Granvia (in the station) or Righa Royal, a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewM_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here because Kyoto was super busy in April weekend and I needed too many rooms.
Location-opposite Kyoto train station ( not Shinkansen side), very convenient for train, bus, and subway.
Hotel-big, old and very dated. Lobby is small for such a big hotel, hideous decor. Too many tour groups.
Room- good size but very dated, old and depressing feel to it. Bed & bath room is ok but not great. The unexplainable smell is well, unexplainable. Free wifi in room.
Breakfast- average, if you have to pay for it, don't, plenty of choice in the underground shopping mall.
I wouldn't recommend it unless you can't find anything else. And next time, I'd rather stay in a nice hotel in Shin-osaka and take a short train trip to Kyoto (15 minutes). Normally you can find so many nicer hotels around Kyoto station in all price ranges.

Room Tip: -rooms facing Kyoto station, you'll have something nice to look at
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arayaBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#67 of 373 in Kyoto
549 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#50 of 373 in Kyoto
634 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#30 of 373 in Kyoto
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#45 of 373 in Kyoto
2,091 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto

Property: Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Address: 579 Higashishiokoji-cho, Shiokojidori, Shinmachi Higahi iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Orbitz, Rakuten, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing