We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for the station, but that's about it...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Ranked #76 of 395 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed here one night on a 'day off' during a business trip. The hotel itself is a bit tired and in need of a makeover, certainly the reception wasn't a particularly welcoming environment and the staff seemed a little distracted (though not many spoke good English and not being a Japanese speaker, it could simply have been down to the stress of communication).

The rooms were a but old fashioned, the bed a little on the hard side, but there was a decent choice for breakfast and overall it seemed reasonable value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10MC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 536 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2011

This hotel is directly across the street from Kyoto Station, which is probably how most people get to Kyoto. It's a perfectly respectable chain hotel with clean, attractive rooms that are reasonably sized by Japanese standards. The hotel has a good lunch buffet with both western and Japanese food. (We didn't try out their breakfast buffet.)

Although it has a few significant historical sites, the Kyoto Station area isn't really in the middle of things as far as Kyoto is concerned -- downtown Kyoto is a few subway stations to the north, and the historical sites spread out from there. The good news is that it's very easy to get to the major historical sites from Kyoto Station, either on the subway (which of course has a stop at Kyoto Station) or on the "Raku Bus" city buses that are dedicated specifically to getting tourists to major tourist sites. These buses depart from Kyoto station. Downtown-ish Kyoto traffic can be problematic especially during rush hours so consider using the subway rather than the bus.

Checkout at the hotel is at 11:00 am. We found that out the hard way, as the staff entered promptly at 11:00 when I was out of the room and my wife was in the shower (somehow we were under the impression checkout was at noon). She was able to negotiate a noon checkout for a small extra fee, but the staff was pretty brusque and it was not exactly an example of good customer service. We also somehow ended up with a smoking room rather than the non-smoking room we always request, though I am not sure whether that was an issue with the hotel or with the agency that booked the package we were on.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ihbToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

The location is excellent, being right across the street from Kyoto Station. We had breakfasts as part of our package, and there is a great variety of foods available, both Japanese and Western. However, the mattress on the bed was as hard as a dining room table. If we hadn't walked our feet off every day touring Kyoto it would have been very difficult to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miharashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We have traveled throughout Japan from 19th May to 2nd June. We were really enthralled by the Japanese hospitality everywhere. We stayed at Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto for 2 days. Japanese hospitality was missing there. The receptionists and the restaurant people were rude and harsh.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank naturelovercovai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 5, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed February 3, 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 26, 2006

The hotel is far from new, although the position is good if you want to explore Kyoto and of course travel to other Japanese destinations via the train. However the rooms are worn and a little disappointing compared to other Japanese hotels we stayed in. In the rooms there was no english tea available and you had to buy the coffee, whilst Japanese and chinese tea was free, which we felt was geared to getting the tourists to pay extra! a little exploitation maybe!

Also and I know this was maybe a little sad but there were no English speaking channels on the TV at all - yes yes I know! but believe me after you have been in Japan for a week you do crave a little of you own language for comfort - or maybe I felt homesick!

We were checked in to a 2 x single bedded room which was wrong and no effort was made to correct this when we complained.

The staff were very helpful and the breakfast OK, but the general feel of the hotel felt a little dirty and old, especially as the general Japanese standard was excellent, this hotel was not as good and I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Victoria399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#79 of 395 in Kyoto
570 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#56 of 395 in Kyoto
657 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#49 of 395 in Kyoto
2,209 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#30 of 395 in Kyoto
916 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto

Address: 579 Higashishiokoji-cho, Shiokojidori, Shinmachi Higahi iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 395 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $80 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing