We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel and pricey!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kyoto Tokyu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Ranked #38 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
221 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and pricey!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Like everything in Japan, hotels are expensive and this one seemed even more so. That said, it was beautiful and the staff was great. We ate once there and the food was quite good...coffee was $8.20 for a small, non-refillable cup. They have a very good gift shop there with many items for making origami and other traditional crafts. I enjoyed browsing there as much as outside the hotel. The only complaint I'd have about the hotel was the beds....very hard for my liking. Might as well have been on the floor but I think that's traditional. Anyway, very nice hotel in a good location very close to the train station.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdfloyd322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConciergeKyoto, マネージャー at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel.
We are delighted to know that you enjoined us and we love to create a warm and cosy atmosphere throughout our hotel.

We were sorry to read that you were not happy with our beds that was Japanese standard. However when you come to stay with us we will try to sort it out for you.

I look forward to you joining us again at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel in the near future.

Thank you.
Regards

Concierge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    498
    183
    38
    19
See reviews for
301
278
74
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
242 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed here on business. The reception staff is courteous, helpful and understands English. Rooms are not spacious for price, but it may be specific to country and not hotel. There is no complimentary water for drinking. The instructions in bathroom talk about water being soft for hair, but not if fit for consumption. The toiletries provided were more than generous, and temperature control for hot and cold water is finely tuned. My hair was really soft after using shampoo here. The electric charging points have two flat rectangular sockets, and i had tough time keeping my laptop and mobile charged up for 3 days. Please carry universal adapter to this hotel suited to your instrument. The hotel room guide is mostly in local language, so there is no point referring to it. There is free wi-fi everywhere in hotel rooms and meeting rooms, but you will have to ask them for print outs which they will oblige only if 1-2 pages. One has to switch AC and lights on/ off manually. The electronic safe is small one for medium sized documents. you cant put laptop or A4 size papers in it. The closet does not have light source. The hotel provides footwear which is soft and comfortable to wear. I had comfortable stay though there were few things that could have complimented it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saket G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConciergeKyoto, マネージャー at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your visit to Kyoto Tokyu Hotel.
We are delighted to learn that you stayed with us and that you found our staff to be friendly and caring and also you like our amenity.

However we were so sorry we did not mention our tab water is drinkable which is
natural water is carefully filtered uses as drinking water inside hotel.
Also we did not mention againe about universal adapter .We prepared them for the guests at the front desk.

I am grateful for you taking the time to write about your experiences and hope to welcome you back to Kyoto Tokyu hotel in the future.

Thank you.
Regrds

Cncierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

There is much to like about this hotel: great location, regular shuttle to Kyoto station, very courteous staff (typical of the Japanese), reasonable price. We only gave it three stars because the room itself was very disappointing. We were on a "superior floor" and able to get a non-smoking room, but half the floor was smoking, so that was sometimes iffy. The room was neither comfortable nor well-appointed. The bathroom was about the size of that on a cruise ship, and using the shower required contortionist skills. The toilet was right next to the sink, so you could at least brush your teeth while you took a bio-break, if that's your thing. The telephone would not work properly and the sheer curtain over the window had distracting brown stains. The thermostat was sealed off, so we had no ability to control the room temperature; even in April, we were too hot most of the time. We know the Japanese like hard beds, but often there is a mattress pad for Westerners--not here. We joked that the pillows were so hard that they felt like bags of cement. The television had no English stations. The hotel restaurants are quite pricey--typical of Kyoto--but you can take the shuttle to Kyoto Station and widen your dining choices. We understand that there are limited options regarding hotel rooms for Westerners in Kyoto, so some adaptability is needed. However, there were a few improvements to the room that the hotel could have done to make our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel has a curious arrival area, with many interior gardens and water features. The set down area leads into an upper entry foyer, then you go down a set of escalators to the main reception area, and from there you traverse the full length of the main foyer to get to the lifts. The lifts to the rooms don't connect with the upper foyer, so people with a lot of bags may find the escalators a difficulty.

The staff were friendly and helpful, however, in many cases their English was limited. The rooms are spacious and clean, but the beds were too firm for our liking (although this could be said for every hotel we stayed in in Japan). If you want to eat in, there are Japanese, Chinese and Western-style restaurants in the hotel. The breakfast buffet is very good, although there can be long queues early in the morning as many group tours use this hotel. Free Wi-Fi is provided in the rooms and in most public areas, although we couldn't make a connection from our room.

The hotel is in a good location, close to Kyoto Station and a regular shuttle bus service is provided.

Room Tip: Go for the upper floors as the lower level rooms on one side look straight out onto a large car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anw190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have a difficulty rating this hotel as if the reception staff wouldn't change our room (At 23:00 after third complaint ) from 343 to a lovely room on the 8th floor – I would give this hotel 2 but as our room was changed and the bell boy was so nice moving our luggage and even returning with two minor items we forgot – The hotel deserves 4.

We stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of an organized tour group so couldn't choose the type or room. We also didn't use any of the facilities and didn't need transportation so I can't comment on these issues.
Explanation: Although it was the end of March – The two days we spent in Kyoto were warm. The room 343 (Standard) and it's window faced the spacious lobby (under street level) which had a fountain. The window could be opened to 10-15 cm and no air. The room's facilities and it says A/C but only warm air.
Arriving back in the evening – didn't make things better in fact they must have weakened the fountain flow which "covered" the noise of traffic form the street (The only opening to the main street seemed to be opposite this roomת at a far end, and the only source of air). I asked for a ventilator (Fan) as a replacement for no A/C and this four star fancy hotel – didn't have even one. They also said there was no other room we could move to.

The third time I went down to the reception I was very angry and showed it. This time they found this amazing room for us facing an inner court with A/C, sliding doors covering the huge windows and possibility to open them. This room fits the description described in the review of Cristine s from this April.

Breakfast very nice, enjoyed the way the breakfast room staff dealt with the seating of the many guests - first you stand in an ordinary queue outside the restaurant and then chosen to sit on chairs along the wall till a suitable table is ready and at last shown to your table with many excuses as only Japanese know to give.

Room Tip: Not 343, not facing the main road, if you suffer from heat - make sure there is a/c. or at least ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Kyoto tokyu hotel.

From the moment we hopped on the free shuttle bus service from Kyoto station (runs every 15-30minutes) we experienced friendly helpful and respectful staff.

While the exterior of the building is outdated, do not let this fool you as the inside boasts a modern Japanese fusion interior.
The room was nice and included decent wifi, good amenities , twin beds each big enough for 2, a TV, arm chair and table and a nice modern bathroom. The hotel cleaning staff did a good job too.

The hotel offered services such as room service, massage and laundry services.

Unlike all the other hotels we stayed in in japan, this one had a gym open until 9pm which we enjoyed! It wasn't huge but it had a few cardio and weight machines in there which was enough.

Located a short 7 - 10 minutes shuttle bus ride from the station it was not too bad. Kyoto station is a great base for staying in Kyoto as there are many shops and good outlets (try the restaurant floor of isetan on level 11) as well as it being a major transport hub for buses, trains and taxis. There is also a good tourist information point at this station.

Unfortunately the last shuttle bus from the station to the hotel is 8pm which was too early to be heading back for the night so we often found ourself paying for a taxi back to the hotel at night as we could not walk there from the station. This was probably the hotels biggest flaw.

If you're thinking about staying here I would recommend this hotel, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
134 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Although another hotel in the Tokyu chain, this one is superior.Its location is central,rooms are large, its atmosphere is brisk, and its staff efficient.
The most attractive feature of the hotel is the use of water. Its lobby level water body can be viewed from the plate glass walls. The water is then moved over into pools at several different levels, their geometric dimension broken by the feathery bamboo that lend a zen like feel.
The rooms are large, the beds roomy. The 'tempur comfort pillows' are, as their name suggests, comfortable. We were able to open the windows, as the room seemed warm despite the air conditioning. The flat screen TV comes with a DVD player, the electronic kettle, mini fridge, the hair drier, large sized bathroom toiletries are all there. The cotton kimono kept for guests use is of superior quality.
The breakfast, included in the room rate, is elaborate. There is a live counter that turns out fried eggs, fresh orange juice is squeezed out of a juicer, breads, sausages,bacon,- everything that one might want. The coffee is excellent.
Be aware: Tour groups use this hotel, so the lines for breakfast are long. Although the breakfast ticket specifies the time, we got in early to beat the queue

Room Tip: Get to the breakfast early to beat long lines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aney60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#27 of 363 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,787 reviews
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#43 of 363 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Tokyu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Tokyu Hotel

Property: Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Address: 580 Kakimotocho | Gojo-sagaru, Horikawa-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8519, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kyoto Tokyu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel's contemporary interpretation of traditional Kyoto values has earned the Kyoto Scenic Beauty Award, as well as the BCS Awards for excellence in modern architecture. From the impressive main entrance, and the courtyard water feature recreating the simple purity of the city's Horikawa River, the atmosphere of quiet composure communicates a sense of calm and relaxation to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kyoto Tokyu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing