We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plush, but feels a bit out of it...”
Review of Kyoto Tokyu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Ranked #50 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The bus service is a bonus, but stops really early, meaning you have to find your own way back to the hotel after 8pm. The rooms are good, beware booking a semi double though- this does not mean two can sleepin the room and you have to pay a surcharge for an extra person.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mattnott118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for your previous stay with us as well as your comment. Yes, we run free hotel shuttle bus from and to Kyoto staion. As for other transportation between the hotel and Kyoto station, local city bus (no.9, bound for NISHIGAMO) is running approximately every 10min and the last one from Kyoto station is at 10:55PM. Also, if you take a taxi, it takes usually 10min.
As for booking system, the room rates differ depending on how many persons are staying in one room. We appreciate your understandings and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Thank you.




The rooms are good, beware booking a semi double though- this does not mean two can sleepin the room and you have to pay a surcharge for an extra person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

We spent two nights here recently for a short visit to Kyoto. The hotel has an attractive lobby and gift shop and offers shuttle service from the south side of the Kyoto Station (look for a brown van near the McDonalds). The hotel's location is otherwise out of the way; the only nearby attraction is the Nishi-Honganji Temple, and there are no nearby subway or local train routes. Rooms are small, typical for Japanese business grade hotels, but clean. Location is protected from traffic noise. We paid 25,826 yen for a double room with a king size bed.

Room Tip: Our room on the north side of the hotel was quiet as it looked out onto a large parking area. It may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bikers_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReceptionHY, Front Office Manager at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Thank you for your previous stay at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel. We appreciate your comments on our hotel. We are glad to find that you liked the lobby and the gift shop. Kyoto is famous for underground natural water, and that is why Kyoto produces good quality of SAKE and extremely soft TOFU. The water in the patio,which you can view from the lobby is also from underground of the hotel, and this natural water is used in guests rooms. For your next visit, please experience the difference of the water. Thank you again for your choosing Kyoto Tokyu Hotel, and we await your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Good:
Great location.
Relatively quet.
Possible to open windows to get some fresh air.
Very helpful staff
Very clean
Bad:
Small room (even in Japan)
Pricey
Included breakfast has very limited chices (either Japaneese or Western)

Room Tip: Higher floor facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alecb2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReceptionHY, Front Office Manager at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel and your comments. We will keep trying to be helpful and support our guests' stay as pleasant as possible. We look forward to welcoming you soon again in the near future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Although the hotel location is not the best location but the service provided since we arrived till checked out was outstanding. From the shuttle bus from Kyoto station to Hotel, check in process,concierge,bell desk all provide outstanding service.The information given by concierge about bus route very clear and helpful. We enjoy staying in kyoto and hoping to stay longer.
I absolutely recommend to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wira66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReceptionHY, Front Office Manager at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Thank you again for choosing Kyoto Tokyu Hotel and your comment. We are so happy to find that you liked our service. As you may have noticed, different from Tokyo, in Kyoto not many subway lines are running. Accordingly, city buses are covering many spots and if you know how to move around using buses, your stay will be a fruitful one. We are here to support you for any ways! Just let us know whatever concern you may have, and we are happy to try to find the solutions with you ,and we want to see big smile on your face. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Good value , good sized rooms, with convenient subway access.....evening buffet was fine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UtahBikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReceptionHY, Front Office Manager at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Thank you for your stay with us and your comment. We are glad to know that you found the hotel location convenient, and you enojoyed Kyoto stay. In Kyoto, we use city buses and subway mainly to go around the city. And there are so many city buses running. As you can purchase convenient and reasonable city bus one day pass at our hotel reception, with our staff's support , your sightseeing will be made practically. This year we are celebrating 30th anniversary of the hotel. We will keep trying to offer the finer service. We look forward to welcoming you soon again in the near future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The location of this hotel in Kyoto is o`kay considering the position of other hotels close to the station and main bus terminal where all the action starts and ends. The staff are competent and helpful and the breakfast is very good. There seem to be many catagories of rooms. We were surprized at the small size of ours booked by a travel agent, and wondered about the size of the bathroom and toilet, more appropriate to a two star hotel than a four star. On the whole we were satisfied with our stay but in future may try something else closer to the main railway station. However, it should be mentioned that the hotel runs a shuttle service to the station at half hourly intervals.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReceptionHY, Front Office Manager at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thank you for choosing Kyoto Tokyu Hotel for your previous stay and your precious comment. We are pleased to find that you enjoyed stay in Kyoto. Our hotel is located in the quite area and very convenient to visit major touristic spots. There are JR Tanbaguchi station (easy access to Arashiyama area) about 10 min walk away, and metro Gojo staion also 10 min walk away. Several bus stops are within 5min walk from the hotel (to Gion, Kiyomizu dera temple, Tofukuji temple, Toji temple, Daikakuji temple, Kamigamo Shrine, etc.).If you could visit our hotel again, please contact our staff so that we can advise you the best and easiest way to go around the city, without going to Kyoto station first. Hotel Free Shuttle Buses between Kyoto station and the hotel are running approximately every 15 min between the hours of 8am - 11am, and 5pm -8pm. We will keep trying and learning to be able to offer the best service for you, and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My recent stay with a friend in the hotel was superb. The shuttle bus to the station made arriving and departing by train so fast and easy. It was also convenient in order to go to the Fushimi shrine outside the city. The concierge, Naoko Shimizu, was fantastic. She was so patient with our needs and spent a lot of time recommending restaurants and helping us with the subway to get to various destinations. In addition, after a long day going over to Tobu on the Ise Peninsula, she was genuinely interested in how our day had been. The service at the hotel was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Kyoto.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanstrauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReceptionHY, Front Office Manager at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Thank you for choosing Kyoto Tokyu Hotel for your previous travel in Kyoto. We are glad to find that our concierge could be helpful to make your stay enjoyable one. Your warm words certainly encourage us all and we will be keep trying to support our guests' stay to be a comfortable and memorable one by listening their needs closely and by gaining wide range of knowledge. We look forward to welcoming you again here at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel soon in the near future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#46 of 376 in Kyoto
2,157 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 376 in Kyoto
904 reviews
City Center
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 376 in Kyoto
3,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Tokyu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Tokyu Hotel

Address: 580 Kakimotocho | Gojo-sagaru, Horikawa-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8519, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $135 - $731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kyoto Tokyu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel's contemporary interpretation of traditional Kyoto values has earned the Kyoto Scenic Beauty Award, as well as the BCS Awards for excellence in modern architecture. From the impressive main entrance, and the courtyard water feature recreating the simple purity of the city's Horikawa River, the atmosphere of quiet composure communicates a sense of calm and relaxation to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kyoto Tokyu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing