We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the experienced kyoto traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto
Ranked #65 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Having stayed in a range of accomandations in kyoto in the last 15 years, I would recommend this hotel for it nice views over the mountains, close proximity to the green subway line ( 3 dollars to the centre of Kyoto), it is surrounded by easy walking paths to view cherry blossoms in spring and autumn leaves in fall.
The subway is 6 minutes away and this connects you to most area,s , temples and shrines .
The rooms are slightly dated but spotless clean and the resteraunt had us drooling with the choice of food at a cost of $ 30.00 each.
It was a welcome change from the run of the mill tourist hotel, which caters for the coach driven mass tourist ( today is Tuesday, we must be in Belgium) and we are now not that keen to sleep on tatami mats like the earlier days.
The one thing I could not understand was that a Monday night was substantially cheaper than the Tuesday night.
Last but not least they arranged a taxi ride to the Osaka airport for $ 36.00 each person ,which collected us directly from the hotel and safely dropped us of at the check in counter.

Room Tip: Room 835 which looks over to the mountains
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 586 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is the closest hotel to the conference center. It is nice, clean, but honestly, a bit dated. Service is great. There are no fitness centers on-site, but lots of great running outside. It is a bit away from any tourist activity and the train station is a little bit of a hike, but once on, its easy to get anywhere in Kyoto.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrainDoc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto was the perfect hotel for our one night on our tour of Japan.
Since we were on a group tour, we only checked in after dinner and checked out just after their breakfast buffet. Having said that, the location was not an issue. The time and the weather prevented us from trying to take the subway back into the city so we have a nice restful sleep in our room.
We were up early for the breakfast buffet which was included in our tour. The breakfast was good. My only concern would be that when we left the breakfast area there were a few people waiting for people to leave the tables. The breakfast area could be a little small for the size of the hotel.
The Wi-Fi access in the room was good however you get an access code which can only be used by one device. I think you can get another one but we didn't ask.

For a group, check-in was very smooth as everything was prepared beforehand.

Room Tip: All rooms face outside in this circular building. The inner courtyard is seen from the hallways
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2MoMyPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We chose to stay here as it was during cherry blossom season and the hotels closer to the city were booked out. It is a little out of town and away from points of interest, however is relatively easily accessed by the nearby train station. The room was huge and impressive, however was a little outdated and retro.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taziara7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had to book this hotel as the more central Kyoto Hotels were booked out. There is of course nothing wrong with this hotel as it has spacious rooms for a Japanese Hotel and has very nice inner courtyard with a Japanese style garden as well as a garden surrounding the hotel. In autumn the colours of the garden are fantastic. The hotel is at the end of a metro line an close to the Kyoto Convention centre, however there are no other choices for meals and whether you like it or not you have to eat at the hotel itself. The staff are friendly but like many Japanese hotels many staff do not have good command of English but they will get someone who will.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eaa1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This Hotel is great value for money and easy to get to. There are only 2 subway lines in Kyoto and the Grand Prince is at the end of the Karasuma line (20mins from Kyoto station) and a short walk (across the road) once exiting the station. We travelled in Nov 13 which is the most beautiful time of year to visit Kyoto with the colourful autumn leaves. The surrounds of this Hotel are gorgeous with so many trees. Eating in the Hotel is expensive like all Hotels, so you can take a short walk through a wooded park to any number of restaurants. We ate at a Chinese Family Restaurant - excellent value, fresh cooked food. There is also a 7-Eleven and FamilyMart close by for mini mart & supermarket style shopping. Rooms are very spacious with huge windows and bed is very comfortable. The Hotel is circular and all the rooms look out with a corridor which looks onto a lovely courtyard garden often used for outdoor weddings. Our room on the 6 floor looked onto a forest of trees, just beautiful. Would stay again and be happy to go with our kids next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I don't particularly have any complaints about this place, I was just a bit let down! As a note, I was here for work so I am able to critique this hotel having not paid for it.

As a 5 star hotel it's a bit lacking - no leisure facilities and the rooms and décor are outdated.

The location is a bit curious as it is absolutely out the way of everything, which I suppose some people may enjoy but we found ourselves on the subway every evening into central Kyoto to find something to do/eat!

The rooms are huge, but this doesn't make up for the outdated look and facilities. It's like a throwback to the early 90's! Old décor, old kettle, old shower, old toilet.

However, the staff are absolutely excellent. Very friendly, very helpful. There's a big hole in the centre of the building for weddings which is nice and there is a traditional tea room but I didn't go to it. The surrounding area is quite nice - there's a huge quite intimidating Kyoto Conference Centre right across the street, as is the subway station so it's very convenient.

We sampled the food - breakfast buffet, lunch buffet both 2500 Yen each (which was pretty similar to the lunch) where they offer all sorts of fried goodies like chicken and pork. There's curry, rice, pasta, croissants, cakes, jelly. We also tried to hotels Japanese restaurant which offered very nice sashimi, but horrendously overpriced compared to what you can get if you go into central Kyoto.

Overall, it's a pleasant experience, but don't expect it to be like other 5 star hotels you've been to. If I had paid for this myself, I would have been quite annoyed at the drawbacks of facilities.

Room Tip: Twin singles are absolutely huge!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blinkyjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 373 in Kyoto
897 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#51 of 373 in Kyoto
1,115 reviews
City Center
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#25 of 373 in Kyoto
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto

Address: Takaragaike, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto 606-8505, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Northern Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#29 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $118 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto is located a 3-minute walk from Exit 4-2 of Kokusai-Kaikan Staion of subway Karasuma Line, adjacent to Kyoto International Conference Center and Takaragaike Park. 20 minutes from Kyoto Station and 16 minutes from Sijyo Station to Kokusai-Kaikan Station by subway. Spacious guest room size ranges from 36.9 m² to 158.4 m². All rooms are No-Smoking rooms. Guests staying at the Royal Floor or Suite Rooms enjoy breakfast and beverages at the Royal Lounge, which opens on July 25, 2017. (Royal lounge opening hours 7:00 AM to 9:00 PM.) Main Dining ITO-ZAKURA will be opened on July 28, 2017, and the lobby lounge MIZU-NO-NE will be opened on July 25, 2017. There are also Chinese cuisine TOHEN, Japanese cuisine Takaragaike and Bar Ascot. The unique, curved form of the Kyoto Takaragaike Prince Hotel blends harmoniously with the surrounding beauty of the Kyoto Mountains. Reflecting the creative genius of famed architect Togo Murano, the hotel offers spacious accommodations to both international and domestic guests in an atmosphere of total relaxation. It is perfect for entertaining clients and holding special meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Fastbooking, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Kyoto
Prince Hotel Kinki
Kyoto Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing