We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Round Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto
Ranked #62 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Round Hotel”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Lovely round hotel. Very clean room with firm bed and plenty of pillows. Staff extremely helpful. Wakeup call an hour late.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbunti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    286
    105
    19
    11
See reviews for
163
146
33
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
port orchard, wa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

If you are in town long enough, or you don't mind taking the subway 20+ minutes to your hotel each time you return this is a great place to stay. It's remoteness from town insures a quiet night's sleep. The rooms are very big (not something I can say about most Japanese hotel rooms), the beds are comfortable and the staff is curteous and professional. If you are traveling on foot/train as my sister and I were the welcome counter at the JR station downtown is a huge bonus. After one particularly exausting day of walking we returned and asked at the front desk if we could schedule massages for that evening. We could and we did and in just over an hour two massage therapist were knocking at our door. This wasn't a touchy feely oil and lotion, make you feel warm and fuzzy massage either. This Shiatsu massage was almost painful in it's delivery but every muscle and joint and tendon responded and relaxed into a great night. My personal negatives are: our room temperature was set at 78 degrees and I couldn't get the heater to stay off for more than about a half an hour. I ended up opening the windows just to be able to get some sleep, also the food is ridiculously expensive. I think a cup of coffee was $9 or something. We made it a point to eat in town before we got back to the hotel for the night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmtwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Grand Prince was the only hotel available in Kyoto in the cherry blossom season this year. All other hotels were booked months before. My wife and I spent a week at Grand Prince, staying at a spacious two-room suite on 4th floor. We liked the architecture and design of the 1960s, meticulous cleanness, warm-hearted service, simplicity of decor and quietness, as well as a hearty buffet breakfast in the morning and a full bar in the evening. The only shortcoming is a relative remoteness of the place from "downtown" (i.g. Gion district), however, the metro stop Kokusaikaikan is in only 5 min of slow walk and then you can make it to the Kyoto Station or downtown in 20-30 min. The hotel is close to some of the major attractions of Kyoto, e.g. Kinkakuji (Golden Pavilion), Daitokuji, Ryoanji and Ginkakuji (Silver Pavilion) Temples.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank War-chique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at the Kyoto Prince for 4 nights over Easter in 2012. The Trip was for pleasure and our main aim was sight-seeing in Kyoto and the surrounds. We stayed in two adjacent rooms on the 8th floor - (3 adults and a 3 year old).

The main reason we chose th hotel was availability for those particular dates at something like a reasonable price.

The hotel itself is easy to find - being the last stop on the underground line from the main station, and they operate a small check in office at the main station where you can leave your bags - if you arrive about lunctime and wish to do some sightseeing straight away.

The hotel itself is an imposing circular building - easily found from the underground and accessed by passage and covered walkway.

The public areas of the hotel are spacious and nice enough, staff seemed pretty helpful when we arrived. We had 2 rooms on the 8th Floor - both were spacious, clean and well appointed (TV,Minibar, Bathrobes/Slippers etc, Kettle, separate washing and bath/WC areas). And nice views onto neraby mountain and forest.

We only used the main restuarant (the Pond Cafe) once - that was for breakfast and was fine - with a pretty standard mix of Japanese and western foods - Other restaurants were available - Japanese, Chinese and another that I forget - but we ate out mostly.

Service in the hotel is OK - although they give the impression of not really being geared up for holidaying guests - the concierge desk lacks the usual wealth of local information but were helpful when asked.

In summary - this hotel is pretty much what you see is what you get - its a business/weddings hotel near the convention centre - so caters mainly for that audience. It lacks the sort of facilities that would make it a great destination (pool/spa etc) - but cant really be criticised for being something its not. Its a pleasant enough place to stay but - for the money I'd probably try and pick something closer to central Kyoto or with more of a resort feel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davemorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This hotel is by the conference centre and is some distance from major sites. However the subway station is only 3 minutes away so if you don't plan to spend much time in your hotel the location is fine.
The rooms are huge and overall our stay was a terrific value. This is a western style hotel, which is okay but don't expect a lot of atmosphere.
We ate in the lobby cafe - my only bad meal in Japan. Suggest you eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I was travelling for business but stayed here with family.

The best thing about the Grand Prince was its nearness to the International Conference Center. Frankly, I don't see why else you would possibly choose to stay in this location, although it's fairly easy to access central Kyoto via the subway.

The rooms were very spacious and clean on the 6th floor, with big windows, and we had a fantastic view of Mt Hiei. This made it very pleasant to stay in our rooms during the day.

The service, however, was minimal. My husband arrived around 10:30 pm with our 3-y.o., and there was no one to help him lug the bags and stroller to the room. A passing guest took pity and helped him push the trolley!

I asked a staff member about the hotel's service in delivering luggage to Kyoto Station, and got impressively confused answers (and I was speaking in Japanese so it wasn't a language issue).

This is also one of those archaic hotels that charge 1,000 yen per day for wired Internet access in the rooms. I found this unforgivable, especially considering it is the ONLY hotel next to the International Conference Center--people will be staying for business purposes and would clearly need Internet connectivity.

The restaurants in the hotel are over-priced, and there aren't too many dining options in the quiet neighbourhood, although there is a supermarket within walking distance that I would strongly encourage people to use if staying for more than 2-3 days.

To sum up: Lovely rooms and surroundings, but rather pathetic service for a 4-star hotel. I would not recommend to stay unless you need to be at the Conference Center.

Room Tip: The building is circular, with elevators only in one spot. If mobility is an issue, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emanate28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

If you are attending a conference in the Convention Centre, the place is perfect: it is located across the road from the Convention Centre. I stayed at the top of the hotel (Royal 8th floor). The rooms and bathrooms are very large and clean. Service was excellent: rooms were cleaned 2-3 times a day, all hotel staff was very helpful, all wishes were immediately taken care of. Breakfast was satisfactory. I did not have any lunches or dinners here.

However, if staying for a holiday, the hotel's location is far from tourist attractions, shops and the city center. There is no any kind of nightlife in the hotel, and the lobby bar opens at 8pm and closes by midnight. Most shocking, there is no WiFi, even though the hotel is mainly for people attending conferences, I suppose. In summary, recommended if staying for a congress at the Convention Centre, and no need for a WiFi connection all the time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Villgraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 369 in Kyoto
883 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 369 in Kyoto
1,202 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#43 of 369 in Kyoto
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto

Property: Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto
Address: Takaragaike, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto 606-8505, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Northern Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#29 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto is located a 3-minute walk from Exit 4-2 of Kokusai-Kaikan Staion of subway Karasuma Line, adjacent to Kyoto International Conference Center and Takaragaike Park. 20 minutes from Kyoto Station and 16 minutes from Sijyo Station to Kokusai-Kaikan Station by subway. Spacious guest room size ranges from 36.9 m² to 158.4 m². All rooms are No-Smoking rooms. Guests staying at the Royal Floor or Suite Rooms enjoy breakfast and beverages at the Royal Lounge, which opens on July 25, 2017. (Royal lounge opening hours 7:00 AM to 9:00 PM.) Main Dining ITO-ZAKURA will be opened on July 28, 2017, and the lobby lounge MIZU-NO-NE will be opened on July 25, 2017. There are also Chinese cuisine TOHEN, Japanese cuisine Takaragaike and Bar Ascot. The unique, curved form of the Kyoto Takaragaike Prince Hotel blends harmoniously with the surrounding beauty of the Kyoto Mountains. Reflecting the creative genius of famed architect Togo Murano, the hotel offers spacious accommodations to both international and domestic guests in an atmosphere of total relaxation. It is perfect for entertaining clients and holding special meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Fastbooking, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Kyoto
Prince Hotel Kinki
Kyoto Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing