We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Gear Art Complex 1928
Ranked #3 of 28 Concerts & Shows in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: "GEAR” is the first non-verbal performance originated in Japan.The world-class performers of mime, breakin', magic trick, and juggle presents a lovely story of a toy named “Doll” transforming a human girl through the various communications with an android named “Roboroid.”This performance is set without any “words,” just being compounded with the action, dance, expression, music, and images satisfying all the senses. And also, this performance is filled with the exciting materials. Stage setting gives an illusion loosing the way in the factory, or feeling like blown off by a gust of wind. And the contemporary technologies like the projection mapping, sparkling full colored LED dresses, and specially customized laser beams with 16million colors present everyone inexperienced impressions. Since started in the April 2014, this performance had a long run of 600 times and 30,000 audiences.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This show was perfect for me and my friends as we did not speak Japanese. The set was amazing, with so many moving parts and over all extremely visually simulating. The talents of each of the robots was worked into the storyline extremely well. I felt it was a fantastic way to experience Japanese culture. The plot was easy to follow despite no dialog, as well as remaining captivating throughout the show, I was not bored or conscious of the time at any stage. Overall i was extremely impressed and would recommend this show to literally anybody.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    21
    9
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Show!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This show was awesome! Great display of talent by the performers with an interesting plot, very entertaining! Also, as it's non-verbal, I didn't have to worry about the fact that I don't speak much Japanese.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank StuartJames90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rino1928, マネージャー at Gear Art Complex 1928, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for coming to our performance show!

I'm glad to enjoyed it.

I look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Gear's staff:Rino Takabatake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GO SEE GEAR”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

GEAR is a brilliant, modern piece of theatre that is at once very Japanese AND universal in its themes and messages. Also? Highly entertaining. I saw it twice (once in previews and once for the real thing) and I cried both times. It filled me with a sense of wonder, and made an intimate connection between me and the characters. So fun, and so beautiful!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyAstralis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rino1928, マネージャー at Gear Art Complex 1928, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for coming to our performance show!

We are glad you were to understand the story of us.

I look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Gear's staff:Rino Takabatake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great performance!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

occasionally found it before I went to Kyoto and ended up as a great experience! me and my wife like it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Guang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rino1928, マネージャー at Gear Art Complex 1928, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for coming to our performance show!

I'm glad to enjoyed it.

I look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Gear's staff:Rino Takabatake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages and languages”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We didn't know what to expect and were enjoyably surprised by the dance, mime, magic, juggling and lights show. Kind of a Kyoto Blueman Group with less music and no paint. Our 12 and 15 year-olds liked it too! A change of pace from Temples and gardens.

Helpful?
8 Thank Crocodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rino1928, マネージャー at Gear Art Complex 1928, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for coming to our performance show!

I'm glad to enjoyed for children.

I look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Gear's staff:Rino Takabatake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gear Art Complex 1928 also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Gear Art Complex 1928? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing