We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy and Comfortable”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Traditional) first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Rainbowla...
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Cozy and Comfortable”
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Suoan Machiya Inn is located in a quiet lane in a residential neighbourhood, and about 10 mins walk to Shijo subway station. As there are 6 of us, we decided to stay at a service apartment instead of in a hotel. For the 6 nights stay, we paid JPY39076 each. This is my third visit to Kyoto but the first for several of my friends.

Pros:
- Suoan Machiya is a traditional wooden townhouse which has been newly converted with all the modern facilities. It has 2 levels with a spacious area on the ground floor that can sleep 2 adults on futons. On the upper level it can sleep a total of 4 persons (with 2 twin beds and another 2 futons). We managed to squeeze 4 futons on the adjacent area on the upper level so that all 6 sleep on the same level. It is very clean and comfortable.
- There is a tiny toilet on the ground floor and a spacious bathroom & toilet beside the foot of the staircase
- Washing machine is provided and there are 2 collapsible plastic stands for use to hang your clothes (they are well hidden and it took a very observant woman to find them 2 days after our stay).
- Self contained kitchen with 1 induction heating plate, small microwave, toaster and fridge.
- Public bath house located 40m to the left of the Machiya (we did not use the facilities)
- As it is located in a typical Japanese residential area, it is extremely quiet.

Cons:
- The overhead lamp lighting the black staircase area is too dim and a few of us almost missed our footing at the foot of the stairs. We had to buy a sensor lamp from Daiso to enhance the lighting. Safety is an issue in this respect.
- Would not recommend staying here for those on wheel chairs or for the elderly.
- Suggest that an additional lamp be placed at the entrance to the raised area, and the ceiling light at the stairs be brighter
- Not many eateries around the area, and the nearest cafe for breakfast is Takagi Cafe about 8 mins walk.

If I am travelling with my spouse, I would prefer to stay in a hotel in the Kawaramachi/Gion area which is more accessible and convenient to eating and shopping. If you are staying a week or more, then do consider staying at Suoan Machiya as it is much cheaper than staying in a hotel.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2015
Thank you very much for your thorough feedback! We are pleased to hear that you found your stay to be comfortable and spacious. We’ve strived to keep the original structure and atmosphere of a traditional Japanese townhouse for our guest to enjoy, which is why these properties are often designed with stairs and two-floors. However, we do apologize if you found the lighting in certain areas of this particular machiya to be a bit dim. Although we would like our guests to fully experience the atmosphere that each machiya offers, our guests’ safety will always be first and foremost. We will take your feedback into consideration and implement a safety measure for our future guests!

And you are right in saying that this property requires a short walk to Kyoto’s main shopping district. However, we like to believe that the Suo-an machiya is unique in that it allows our guests to explore Kyoto as a local to provide a one-of-a-kind experience! In addition, Kyoto’s convenient transportation system (subways, trains, buses) does allow for easy access to many popular sightseeing spots, too!
We also have several machiya located in the Gion area also, so we hope that you will choose to stay in one of our many other machiya, and experience another side of Kyoto during your next visit!

From,
The Machiya Residence Inn Staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray D
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A "must do" when in Japan. Experience the past.”
Reviewed November 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

On our stay in Japan we spent time in Osaka, Kyoto and Tokyo. In Osaka and Tokyo we stayed in hotels but in Kyoto we thought we'd try something different and stayed at Suoan Machiya Residence Inn. It was like stepping back in time or into an old samurai movie but with all the modern amenities we're used to. This was definitely a highlight of our time in Japan and it would have been nice to have a few more days here. There is a convenience store just around the corner and some really good places to eat are just a short stroll away. The only thing to worry about is if your over 6 foot tall. Some of the door ways are a little low. For international tourists I would definitely recommend staying here for at least a few days to enhance your Japanese experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2015
Thank you very much for your review.

It pleases us to hear that your stay at Suo-an was the highlight of your trip! Staying at a machiya will definitely offer you an unforgettable experience that you cannot obtain from any other "typical" hotel. It is just as you have described...a place that seems to transport you back in time and allow you to "live" in a past Kyoto, while still having modern day conveniences (such as WiFi, a kitchen, a convenience store around the corner, etc.). And yes, because we have kept the original architecture of the machiya, the doorways may seem quite low for our taller guests. However, we appreciate your understanding and hope that you view this as part of the machiya's charm!

We hope you return to Kyoto to stay with us again soon!


From,
All of us at Machiya Residence Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threekidm...
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Intimate stay in a Kyoto neighborhood”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at the Suoan Machiya Residence Inn! Check in at the rental office (close to the subway station, not connected to the inn) was simple. We left our luggage there and had the agent deliver it to the inn so we could sightsee.

The house is cozy and sleeps six adults comfortably. The stairway is narrow and steep-be careful! At the bottom of the stair is a small step painted black and all of use fell off it at least once. The ceilings are low and you need to be careful not to bump your head. The bathroom is modern, and lovely, and also includes an ofuro if you are so inclined. There is a very tiny secondary toilet, though only one of us felt comfortable using it. Comfy sleeping on futons.

We were happy to have a combined washer dryer but it does take a while to figure out how to use it and it's VERY SLOW. If you open the windows be careful to position the screen carefully or you will suffer plenty of bug bites. Once we figured out the window screens it was no problem.

The manager leaves a booklet with instructions for the washer/dryer, air conditioner, etc. and most valuable to us, a list of nearby restaurants within walking distance. The nicest thing about staying here versus a hotel is not only could we all be together, but we felt really connected to the neighborhood. We walked to the nearby grocery stores to get produce and box lunches, walked to the subway station, and one night walked to the shopping district as well.

Note though that if you are a group of four it's cheaper and easier to take a taxi to the Kyoto station, rather than the subway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The neighborhood intimacy.
Liked least: I would not recomment this property for anyone with mobility problems.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2015
Thank you very much for your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Suo-an. The way that Machiya are built is quite different from an average western house, so you are right in suggesting that guests need to be careful with the low ceilings and narrow steps. Safety is just as important to us as comfort, so we will be sure to remind our future guests of this! And yes, it does take a while for the spin dryer to get the job done. However, as many Japanese people do in their own homes, we do have a drying rack available in the house for use!

We are also glad to hear that you were able to experience a different side of Kyoto, as opposed to what you may have experienced during a typical hotel stay. We look forward to your next visit and hope to make your future stay even more enjoyable!

From,
All of us at Machiya Residence Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoCantr...
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A traditional experience. Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at the Suoan Machiya for 4 nights. It was very well appointed and had plenty of room for our family of 4. It also had a washing machine and basic kitchen so great for self catering. The are is close to shopping and has a range of food stores within 1 block. The Machiya had wifi and airconditioning so was perfect with teenagers in Summer. Would return to this property. A great experience.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad you were able to have a pleasant experience in Suo-an. In an unfamiliar place, we know it may be comforting to know you have a house you can come back to, with a kitchen, washing machine, and other amenities that make for a more enjoyable stay. We know summers can be quite hot in Kyoto, so are glad to hear the air-conditioning was working and kept you cool. Thank you again, and we hope to see you in Kyoto again!
From all the staff at Machiya Residence Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGS-Bruns...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic townhouse in a great location”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Very impressed with the service provided. After signing the paperwork at reception the office manager was kind enough to hail a cab for us and she gave the driver directions. The townhouse was in immaculate condition. Very clean and comfortable with a luxurious bathroom. More than enough room for 3 people. Very comfortable beds. The house was an enjoyable 5 minute walk through a pleasant neighbourhood to the main street and subway. Nice to see people going about their everyday business. Watch out for bicycles! If I travel to Kyoto again I would stay here without any hesitation. Wonderful experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Suo-an. We know how confusing it can be, navigating around a foreign country, so the staff here do our very best to help our guests. Thank you again, and we hope you can travel again to Kyoto and stay with us!
From all the staff at Machiya Residence Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drdamo
Darwin, Australia
1 review
“Great place for a small group. Excellent place to stay!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was a great little place. Would suit a small group/family. I stayed there during my brothers wedding with friends and it was perfect. It's well worth it for an experience that lets you enjoy the comforts of home with everything you need on hand or nearby while visiting Kyoto.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Suo-an and in Kyoto. We strive to give you comfort and privacy, while also giving you a chance to experience Kyoto life, so are happy that our machiya could provide what you needed during your sibling's wedding. Again, thank you, and we hope to see you back in Kyoto in the future!
From all the staff at Machiya Residence Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sushichti
Lille, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful house in a perfect place at Kyoto”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've stayed 2 weeks into the beautiful Suoan Machiya and we enjoyed a lot this house, the neighborhood and the staff of Machiya Inn.
The house was perfect for the 4 of us (couple + a 4 years old girl + a 1 1/2 year old boy). We enjoyed to sit, eat and have a rest in the living-room. The kitchen is small but very well organize to cook (and it's a pleasure to use very nice plates, bowls, dishes). The bathroom was one of our favorite rooms as you can guess through the pictures. Our children loved to wash them like young Japanese and then play into the beautiful tub.
The bedrooms are very confortable. Our children slept into the Japanese bedroom, on tatami and very soft futons. They were very happy about that (but be careful, this bedroom isn't excatly on the same level of the main bedroom. It's one meter higher).
The area was great. It was our 3rd time to Kyoto and I wanted to stay in this part of the city because it's central, near subways and buses (and taxis), and most of all it's a quiet residential area (for those who have young children there is a playground nearby). There are lots of convenience stores and a very good supermarket 10min by foot (Fresco). We've tasted some restaurants and you must go to the one which cooks wonderful gyoza (2 min by foot) and to the beautiful café Kitone (10-15 min).
Finaly, the staff of Machiya Inn was just perfect, from the person working at the reception, to the cleaning lady and the ones who came very quickly when we had some questions about the house. In fact, these machiyas are the perfect place to stay : you're staying into a genuine old house but you've got all the services of a very good hotel (reception, direct phone, people who help you if you want to book a taxi for example, cleaning ladies, very kind staff).
Just one more thing : these machiyas are perfect place for quiet people. As the houses are made of wood, with thin walls, we can hear people if they make lots of noise (i had to knock on the door of the other house rented by Machiya Inn, just nearby, at 2am, because they had a big party because they were on jetlag ;)
And now, book the house and enjoy !

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2014
We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay at this house and were pleased with the service you received. We always strive to offer the conveniences of a hotel by ensuring that guests are able to easily contact our staff should they be in need of any assistance. As you pointed out, the house is also in an incredibly convenient central location, making it easy to access public transportation as well as restaurants and the supermarket or convenience stores. We would also like to sincerely apologize for the noise of the next door guests, though it appears to have been an out-of-the-ordinary and isolated incident we are sorry that it happened during your stay. We hope that you will choose to stay at this or any other of Machiya Residence Inn’s accommodations the next time you visit Kyoto. We look forward to making your next stay an even more memorable one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing