We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Memorable time in Kyoto”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wombie03
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Machiya”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Lovely old styled place close to transport.
Easy to access.
The place is lovely, but don't expect to be able to cook too much - basic facilities.
Lovely but not a layout that could be sustained for too many days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2013
Thank you for staying at Suoan. Japanese Machiyas, like this one, are renowned for using a small area of land as efficiently as possible. The kitchen may not feel as spacious compared to a Western kitchen, but the design does adhere to the layout of a traditional machiya. Despite any inconvenience you may have felt with the kitchen, we hope that you were able to experience and enjoy the traditional lifestyle and accommodation of a machiya. We hope that on your next travel to Kyoto you will consider staying at Suoan or at the other machiyas that Machiya Residence Inn has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFT78
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memorable time in Kyoto”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We spent a great moment in Suo An machiya. This house is very pleasant and comfortable, in a nice and authentic style. The place is very clean, and the staff give us a warm welcome. Everybody, children and friends, have loved their travel. The access is easy and the location in Kyoto is pratical, transports and sites can be easily reached. The pictures of the website are representative.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: genral atmosphere of the house
Liked least: access of a too small kitchen for six
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a memorable and enjoyable stay at Suoan and look forward to your next visit to Kyoto. We wish you all the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmegaTaur...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gorgeous traditional house in the heart of Kyoto”
Reviewed December 19, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed in the Suoan Machiya for seven nights as part as our honeymoon tour of Japan and highly recommend it as an ideal base in Kyoto. The house is stunningly furnished with traditional tatami floors and seating, alongside enormous and comfy twin beds and a luxurious modern bathroom. We loved the deep stone bath! The location is perfect - a 15 minute walk to Shijo Dori and Nishiki Market, a 20 minute walk to Nijo Castle and a half hour walk or approx. £5-8 taxi ride to the middle of Gion. The subway is a 10 minute walk away, and the directions provided were excellent. There is a book in the house with maps and instructions to find the nearest supermarkets, convience store, pharmacies and post office, and instructions on how to take the bus to the major sightseeing spots. Hiro-san was welcoming and helpful, and explained how to use everything in the house, and was also kind enough to pre-book us a taxi. The cleaning lady came every 3 days to tidy, remove the bins and change the towels and sheets - it's the most luxurious self-catering we've ever been in! All in all, a fantastic and atmospheric place to stay, a hugely practical and convient location, fully stocked with amenities including wi-fi and a laptop - you really couldn't ask for more. We would definintely stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mix of traditional decor and modern amenities
Liked least: Struggled with the washer-dryer - but I think that's us, not the property...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your stay with Suoan Machiya Residence Inn. We are so delighted to hear you that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful honeymoon trip. It was a great pleasure welcoming you and we look forward to seeing you again next time! Thank you for your time to make such nice comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewed November 3, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2012
Thank you for your stay at Suoan Machiya Residence Inn. We are glad to hear that you were able to make most of the time in Kyoto. It was a great pleasure welcoming you all and we look forward to hearing from you again next time! Thank you very much for your nice comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Simo85
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Best experience in Kyoto, great place and great service from the management.
Everything was perfect and they were really helpful during the whole stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing View
Liked least: Not enough bikes for all the people
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2012
Thank you for commenting on Suoan Machiya Residence Inn. It’s so great to hear how you enjoyed your stay. It was really nice accommodating you and we look forward to seeing you again next time!

Happy travels!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claradog
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A little gem in Kyoto”
Reviewed July 31, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This was one of three properties that my group of 14 stayed in for 6 nights during Gion Matsuri. The location was perfect--in an ordinary neighborhood, not far from the subway (also walkable to Shijo shopping and Kyoto Station), and on a quiet side street. Always received quick responses from the manager in the booking process, and check in/check out were efficient. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in a traditional machiya with all the amenities you could want.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: decor, ;location, comfort
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your stay at Suoan Machiya Residence Inn. We hope you all enjoyed the Gion matsuri and spent a memorable time in Kyoto. We look forward to accommodating you all again in the near future.! Thank you very much for your nice comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Reviewed May 22, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 22, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments. I am glad to hear you enojoyed your stay at Suoan and look forward to hearing from you again next time! All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$250
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing