We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good if you can spend at 150usd per pax.”
Review of Misono Kyoto

Misono Kyoto
Ranked #415 of 12,274 Restaurants in Kyoto
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good if you can spend at 150usd per pax.”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Wagyu beef is awesome together with the live lobster cooked while still moving, a fresh catch from the aquarium.. It's worth it if your willing to spend.. The menu is not ala carte, rather you choose what set you want, price ranges from 112 usd to as high as 220usd. Per person. It is according to them the first teppanyaki restaurant in the world, the founder of teppanyaki restaurant.
So again rather than going to some new teppanyaki resto that serves Wagyu, Kobe beef, and pricing it just a little lower, you might just go to the founder, the original,. Then it's wort talking about.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Good place for a good price lunch in kyoto but not for kobe beef”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch had the cheapest set option 2,100 for beef which comes with rice beanspouts, miso and sherbet desert.
The beef was very good considering it was the cheapest option, probably some of the best ive had and the setting was plesent enough
I dont think though if i was going to pay for kobe beef though this is the resturant i would want to have it in, for example toliet is very outdated down a cold passage and the decor in the resturant is so so.

Helpful?
Thank Kate198727
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“OK, but probably not worth the price”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Misono is a very old traditional teppanyaki steak house. They have several locations in Japan. This one in Kyoto may be a little tough to find. Went there to have kobe beef. Our chef was somewhat interactive, explaining how to make their famous garlic rice. After a few beers, our price was about $180 per person. The steak was OK, but not the best I've had in Japan. Sad to say it wasn't my best meal in Osaka.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EfficientTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, CT
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Not Just Beef That Melts in Your Mouth”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Let me start by saying the Kobe beef here is as good as beef gets and most in our group of 6 didn't even order the highest grade. It was nice though that this place is not all about the beef. It was served alongside a tasty array of vegetables and all grilled in front of us. It was not an inexpensive evening (the reason for 4 stars instead of 5) but it was enjoyable, delicious and entertaining.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Kobe beef. its everything you've heard it is. and in this place its even better!
the meat was amazing, although I personally preferred the garlic.....that was to die for! the meat is so soft it will nearly melt in your mouth, the rice, miso, salad and everything else were also delicious. the staff were nice and friendly and the best was watching the chef cook it right in front of you!! the original teppanyaki was developed by this chain!
Dont miss their lunch deal- amazing prices!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mish_H50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misono Kyoto also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Misono Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing