We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Just Beef That Melts in Your Mouth”
Review of Misono Kyoto

Misono Kyoto
Ranked #392 of 12,287 Restaurants in Kyoto
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Avon, CT
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Not Just Beef That Melts in Your Mouth”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Let me start by saying the Kobe beef here is as good as beef gets and most in our group of 6 didn't even order the highest grade. It was nice though that this place is not all about the beef. It was served alongside a tasty array of vegetables and all grilled in front of us. It was not an inexpensive evening (the reason for 4 stars instead of 5) but it was enjoyable, delicious and entertaining.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    25
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Kobe beef. its everything you've heard it is. and in this place its even better!
the meat was amazing, although I personally preferred the garlic.....that was to die for! the meat is so soft it will nearly melt in your mouth, the rice, miso, salad and everything else were also delicious. the staff were nice and friendly and the best was watching the chef cook it right in front of you!! the original teppanyaki was developed by this chain!
Dont miss their lunch deal- amazing prices!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mish_H50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not special”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This restaurant has received very generous reviews from the other members. I can accept that the raw ingredients are expensive but the final bill is just ridiculous compared to the many other excellent restaurants. I would not return as I feel the $300 + bill (no wine) for two people is ludicrous with regards to the value. The overall impression I got was that this was a massive tourist trap. First with the hype around being the inventors' of Teppanyaki. This was the only restaurant in my two weeks in Japan that also added in "table charge" of Yen 1400, a 10% service charge and a 5% tax on top of the already high prices... The only saving grace is that the beef is very good. Try it out if you are really out of ideas but in our two weeks in Japan we have found so many other excellent restaurants through Tripadvisor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ILReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Martin
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Amazing Kobe Beef”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

It was the first time that we ate the Kobe Beef...
It was a very good experience, in this restaurant that served the world's first "Teppanyaki" style.
The price is very expensive ~ $200 by peers, but this remains an unique experience as well...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cthsxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stopped at this restaurant for lunch whilst visiting Kyoto. I went for the "No" lunch menu and my partner went for the Set lunch menu with extra meat. Both were very reasonably priced and, although for this price, it was not Kobe beef, the meet was still lovely quality.
Food was expertly prepared in front of us and this in itself was enough to make it a great experience.
Decor was very pleasant; the restaurant s situated on the 5th floor of a building, so the views are also quite nice.
What really sells this place it the quality of staff. All extremely polite, whilst not being intrusive; some spoke very good English.
This is not the only place in Kyoto selling good quality beef, and some are considerably cheaper, but this is a place to bear in mind if you want to treat yourself for a special occasion. They also do great, excellent value lunches. I would recommend booking if you plan to go in the evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R_Henaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misono Kyoto also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Misono Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing