We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Ranked #17 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Really impressed by this hotel. It was clearly a fairly new hotel. Whilst the view from the room wasn't great (Burger King!) and there was some traffic noise, the room was a good size and well equipped, as was the bathroom. The buffet breakfast organisation was a little chaotic, with unnecessary queues for tables but the buffet was good.

Staff were excellent and really helpful- coming up with great restaurant options.
The location is excellent- right in the middle of town and many, many food options nearby.

I would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FSMorecambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

707 - 713 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

Beautiful, chic hotel and a great base for exploring all areas of Kyoto. The staff was more than helpful in making the stay very comfortable and helped with directions, shopping and restaurant suggestions. The hotel was modern in decor and the rooms were very clean and had nice amenities in them. I only needed the basic room which was perfect in size for the duration. My room was next to the elevator and you could not hear any noises from the outside. It was very quiet on the inside.
From this location, I went to the Kiyomizu-dera Temple, Fushimi Inari-taisha Shrine, Arashiyama bamboo forest and the main area of Gion is within a 10 minute walk of the hotel. Also did a day trip to Hiroshima and Osaka from this location via the close subway station which is only a couple stops away from the main one in Kyoto.
The hotel has a restaurant and there are also lots of good places to eat at nearby. There is also a great boulangerie (bakery) right next door for breakfast pastries and tea.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunniw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Outstanding hotel. New, very clean, non-smoking, modern spacious rooms & bathrooms, comfortable beds and pillows, free wi-fi, excellent concierge services, convenient location near shopping, restaurants, subway. I would definitely stay here again. Extremely happy and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Delicious bakery next door with very reasonable breakfast sets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank springtulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Used the hotel as our base for a week to spend time with our son and his wife who live in Japan and to explore Kyoto, Osaka, Nara and some places off the tourist tracks. The location was great for seeing Kyoto by foot and linking to subway, train and bus transport to get to the other places. We got ICOCA cards which work on most of the transport network and were great as we didn't need to worry about having to carry change. Other than sleeping we didn't spend too much time in the hotel. Although relatively small by western standards the room was fine with a lot of clever touches particularly in the bathroom with the particularly high tech-toilet a joy. Loads of places to get a wide variety of food and drink just outside the door and in the vicinity (check out the Department Stores for style and the Izakayas for fun). Staff very helpful, polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigerhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed here with my partner for 4 nights after reading good reviews on this hotel. The hotel itself is very nice, nice decor, nice furniture and in a great locataion. Very close to train stations and shopping, food etc.

The reason I rated this hotel as average is as follows; I had booked a semi double, a cheaper room in this hotel. The room was larger then the other hotel rooms in other hotels we had stayed at in Japan, although the room was dirty and not ready when we checked in.

At check-in they confirmed 2 people were staying in the room but only one of each item was supplied ie towels, toothbrush, glasses etc. The room was also dirty, as in many scuffmarks half way up the walls, coffee stain down the wall, food and drink stains on the walls, dirty mirror with make up still on it etc. When I went to the front desk to ask for extra items and to tell them about the dirty room they sort of shrugged it off and said they would bring extra sets of everything up when we were out. They did, but gave us dirty cups, so again I went down stairs to bring this to their attention.

This time a lady from front desk came up to actually look at the room and agreed it was dirty and not up to standard and tried to clean some marks, she was apologetic but didnt offer us anything other then another room the next door but I couldn't see it until 1pm the next day whilst we were out but had to make the decision to move whilst she was in our room, so we decided to stay in the room. The next day the cleaners did manage to clean a few of the marks off the wall.

Usually these things wouldn't bother me and are fairly minor in my view, but when the hotel has a rating of 4+ stars you would expect more even an offering of a free breakfast would have been nice. I also felt that unless you had booked a more expensive room or were japanese the front desk staff seemed to care less about you, ie i saw japanese guests being taken to the lifts, helped with their bags, greeted everytime they entered etc but not us. It may have just been becuase i complained though. A bit surprising in Japan where as all the other hotels we stayed at we were treated with the highest respect and attention. Again its minor but its noticable.

On check-out they were very nice about it and still apologetic about the room not being ready and dirty.

In summary the hotel is in an excellent location and is a nice hotel with a resturant and bar, but unless you book a more expensive room then the cheaper ones maybe look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank p m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed 1 night only in a “standard” double, but wished it was longer. Spacious and extremely comfortable room, very clean, new and plush. The extra finishes were appreciated – i-pod dock, fluffy robes and such. The location is an easy 2 minute walk to the pontocho and/or river, 10 mins to Gion main drag, but is a bit of a hike to the temple and tourist area on the east of the city (maybe 30 mins on foot). Our only criticism of this hotel was the unusual check in policy, whereby we (and others) were told we could not check in until 2pm because of hotel policy, apparently regardless of whether the room was free or not. As a result the very art directed, shiny lobby was stacked high on all sides with luggage stored under netting. This was a new experience for us – having been up and travelling since 6am, arriving at 11:30, I would at least expect the hotel to check and see if our room was ready, not just robotically implement a ‘policy’. I assume this also meant they had to process a large number of people at 2pm – potentially causing long waits ? This was a very negative first impression of poor hospitality and inflexibility. I’m glad the experience after checking in was so positive, it outweighed the poor start. Overall an excellent experience - highly recommend.

Room Tip: The 'standard' size was spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outofbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have recently returned from a visit to Kyoto and stayed at Park Royal Hotel. The location was great, central to restaurants and shops. Easy pleasant walk to Gion.The hotel itself was lovely, great decor and a newly opened restaurant area in the basement where a full breakfast can be had, a great choice of food. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#12 of 407 in Kyoto
3,171 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 407 in Kyoto
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#16 of 407 in Kyoto
943 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 407 in Kyoto
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto

Address: Higashiiru Kawaramachi Sanjodori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8004, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $102 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing