We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel; Perfect location; Superb Customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Ranked #15 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Superb hotel; Perfect location; Superb Customer service!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Id recommend staying at this hotel when in Kyoto as its perfect for most things:
Close to the shopping district/areas as well as the abundance of places to eat breakfast/dinner and lunch.
Stones throw away from the bus stop which joins the main routes to most of the amazing temples in this wonderful city. Note: bus prices are standard and very reasonably priced. We used them al the time.
The staff are just wonderful. Not only with general queries, but also helping you plan your time (there is a desk in reception with both JPN/English guides showing you things you can do and places you can go). I have to personally thank all the staff for helping me throughout my time here especially with giving their PERSONAL recommendation for a local restaurant for my mom's birthday. Just perfect, honest and wonderful. PS. the food and customer service at this place was just great! its called AGUREMA and is located 2 minutes walk from this hotel. gnavi.co.jp/en/…kyoto.html. Ask for a private seating room. Staff speak wonderful english.

The rooms are ample, very clean and have all the ammenities. The hotel is "new" and there is a fresh feeling and aura throughout - a mix of traditional with the big wooden doors as well as modern - they slide to reveal the reception area (just super cool!).

We didnt use the restaurant for breakfast or dinner. You dont need to - theres cafes and restaurants outside. We often went down to the mall/shops area each morning and had eggs n toast with coffee for a reasonable price at the local cafes. Just perfect!

If you are in Kyoto make your choice to stay here. Its convenient for everything and you will feel very very welcome! :).....

Room Tip: all rooms are nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLaMEUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    506
    102
    19
    7
See reviews for
410
556
138
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you're looking for a western style hotel and don't mind spending some money, this is a great hotel, very well located, with large rooms and good breakfast buffet.

That said, it's quite expensive and does not offer anything amazing. The bar is depressing, there are only two washing machines and dryers so that you'll waste an evening to do your laundry. You'll get what you pay for, but don't expect anything particularly amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulienTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is located in the center of all big attractions in Kyoto,
It has WiFi in the room - with a really good speed
and a safety box in the room
The only thing I found a bit annoying is the narrow transition in the room and the small place
for luggage. also the bathroom was small space - but its Japan..
There is a laundry room on the second floor

Room Tip: The ladies floor is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Li123116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I am very happy with my performance this year re. choosing hotels for our summer holidays. The one I selected in Tokyo was in an excellent position, and the position of this hotel here in Kyoto is at least as good. It is in central Kyoto, more or less at the junction between two of the city's main streets (Kawaramachi-dori and Sanjo-dori) within walking distance from some of the main attractions like Gion, Nishiki Market, Pontocho and the river. Additionally it is very well connected to the city main station, Kyoto Station, as buses No 4, 17, 205, 5 (the latter's route is slightly less direct) stop within 100-200 meters from the hotel and take you to/from the station in approx 15 minutes. Another railway station nearby, approx 200m from the hotel, Keihan Sanjo Station, provides a direct connection to Fushimi Inari and the unmissable views of its thousand vermilion torii gates. If this was not enough bus 11 takes you directly to another of the spots that should not be missed in Kyoto, ie Arashiyama. I could add more but you get the idea. The hotel itself is modern, with rooms larger than the japanese standards, clean and well furnished. The staff seems pleasant and helpful enough. Wifi is available everywhere (also in this case info of Booking and other sites for hotels reservation seems oddly out of date). A small smoking area, for those interested is available in the basement.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was the first hotel we visited on our 4 week trip to Japan and it proved to be one of the best. the staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was immaculate.

It was in a great location from which to explore Kyoto which was an amazing city full of fun, history, and great food.

The rooms are a good size and we where able to fit 3 adults in one in relative comfort!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genghisfarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

No need to write again what has been said by most reviewers. They are all correct. This hotel is to be booked if you stay in Kyoto. This will be my refuge in Kyoto should I visit this area again. Location, location, location...Service, service service....nice stay.

Room Tip: I did not ask but was put in non smoking room on the premium floor which is the 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had the most comfortable time imaginable. We took the taxi from the station as it was late, but could easily have taken the bus. The buses stop right in front of the hotel and you can easily go to most of the attractions. The hotel is within walking distance from the covered shopping district - Nishiki Market etc and numerous restaurants. The rooms are immaculate and the service is courteous, helpful and friendly. Definitely coming back during our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sreeni2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 369 in Kyoto
2,958 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 369 in Kyoto
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#13 of 369 in Kyoto
2,348 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#36 of 369 in Kyoto
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto

Property: Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Address: Higashiiru Kawaramachi Sanjodori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8004, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Rakuten, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing