We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Ranked #12 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We got a small room. My son and hisband shared a bed which made it tight but we managed. Not as big a room as the one we had in Tokyo but about $100 less a night. Best thing or things about the hotel are location and staff. We asked for a lot of help with travel plans and printing and faxes rtc and they were always as helpful as could be. We loved the bakery on the right and grocery on the left which made breakfast easy. We had a fridge in the room and all fo us loved the shower. Nothing bad to say. Shopping, restaurants, cinema all very close. Took taxi to station but rode bus to most of the attractions.

Helpful?
2 Thank mommoves
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    479
    96
    17
    7
See reviews for
387
527
128
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bennington, Vermont
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The entrance to this hotel and its lobby were absolutely zen, and I was informed that my single room reservation had been upgraded to the premium floor. I'm sure the regular room would have been fine, but this huge room with living-room area, giant-screen TV, and phenomenal bath was a real treat. The only reason I could figure out as to why I won this lottery was that there did not appear to be American travelers in general in Japan, and perhaps this was a way of highlighting the hotel's offerings in hopes that I would take the word back. I also left my electric toothbrush in the bathroom, and a day later, I went back and they had it put aside for me. Lovely service, scrupulously clean, and an amazing Japanese or American breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Based ourselves here for 6 nights while we explored Kyoto, Osaka, Kobe and Hiroshima. Hotel entrance was a bit nondescript until you step though the 2 sliding block doors to review a nice lobby with helpful staff.

Check in was fast, though we had to wait till after 2pm (having arrived in early morning flight). Room was small but comfortable and clean. Bed was nice and hard but pillows a tad too soft. Bottled water was not provided though kettle was provided. Bathroom was awesome - warm toilet seats were a pleasure to use! Loved the water pressure in the shower, especially good for soreness after a long day of walking! Toiletries provided were nice - especially the shampoo, conditioner and shower gel! If only body moisturisers were provided too - just a minor gripe here.

Took a bit of experimenting with the air-con before we found a comfortable setting - read the english brochure for instructions as the text on air-con panel was in kanji - which we could read but still had to "reboot" the air-con a few times to get it to blow properly.

Location of hotel was great especially for travelling to various spots within Kyoto. Lots of food and shopping choices around the hotel. Check out the covered shopping streets on the next street! Travelling to Kyoto Station was a breeze on the local buses (220yen) to be paid when you alight at the front of the bus (board from the back door!). You can exchange larger coins eg 500Y for smaller denominations at the coin changing machine next to the driver before counting out the exact change for the fare. Do change ahead of time or you'll hold up the bus while counting out the money you need! But the drivers are very polite and helpful - no fear of being yelled at! Taxi may charge about 1200yen to Kyoto Station - useful if you have lots of luggage for the trip home. The hotel staff helped us call for a taxi on our last day out.

Overall the stay at the hotel was great and highly recommended for the price we paid. Thanks for a great experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ycwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
363 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I would highly recommend this place. The toilet is the latest in hi-tech. Nice room, spacious bathroom. Friendly, helpful people at the front desk. There are a bunch of fast food places to eat breakfast for Y400 within a block. They have a laundry room, so for Y500 you can do a load. You can get buses to anywhere from here walk to the shopping areas and the river, Ponto-cho and Gion.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank HnLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our stay at Royal Park Hotel was nothing less than awesome. The entrance is narrow and dark, but it's all for a reason because as soon as you walk into the lobby you are really impressed by the posh-ness of it all. There's a very polite and courteous lady at the Concierge Desk who will suggest places for you to visit, arrange tickets to the theatre and even call a cab. The other staff are all professional.

The rooms are absolutely fantastic. In fact, going by Japan standards the room we were in was HUGE. The beds were super duper comfortable and the room was a pleasure to be in. Their restroom was so good that I took several baths there - in one day :D They have an awesome shower and it felt like a waste to not use it many many times!

Our stay was very comfortable, bordering on luxurious.

Not to mention the fact that the hotel is bang in the middle of some really interesting things. Gion is just a ten minute cab drive away, there is a wonderful market a stone's throw away from the hotel where you can stroll and experience both economy stores and luxury ones, the Kamo river too is very close by and you can get yourself a lovely cup of caramel macchiatto from the Starbucks near it and spend a lazy evening at the riverbank soaking in the sun and the atmosphere.

Just a small tip about the tea-ceremony in Gion - don't do it! It was not just a waste of time and money, but also such a hurry-scram-shoo sort of affair.

But, the hotel itself - a great place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash0092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on vacation for 4 nights in a single, double bed room and could have been more pleased. The customer service was excellent and the hotel is centrally located in Kyoto near tons of shopping, restaurants, fast food, train stations and some tourist spots.

I'm not sure when the hotel opened, but during our stay it looked brand new. It's sleek, modern and well-worth the price.

the Good:
-Very convenient location if you are touring Kyoto.
-New, clean rooms. Comfortable bed and pillow. Soft, quality towels.
-Very good customer service. We had no trouble speaking English to them for making reservations or asking for recommendations.
-They do have a laundry room that we did not use (FYI), but I recall it being pricey - maybe 500 yen for a single wash.
-Have fitness center, but we did not see or use it (but no swimming pool)

I only have two complaints. First is that although wired internet is included, they don't have wifi in the rooms. I recommend a ZyXEL Wireless N Pocket Travel Router and Access Point so that you'll have wifi and connect multiple devices. It came extremely handy for our trip. Second, the way that the bath tub was designed, water leaks on the bathroom floor. It's hard to describe without seeing it, but it's not a deal breaker.

Unfortunately, we did not get an opportunity to eat downstairs in the restaurant for the breakfast buffet that was highly recommended. However, if we get an opportunity in the future we will definitely give it a try.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krappei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

A great hotel located near the main shopping and restaurant district with easy access to the local bus system and subway. Rooms are very modern, clean and quiet. Staff helpful. Most guests seemed to be Westerners. A great base from which to see Kyoto.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiT0wnF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#11 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto

Property: Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Address: Higashiiru Kawaramachi Sanjodori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8004, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Ctrip TA so you can book your Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing