We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Ranked #15 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Bandung, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is an excellent hotel located right in the middle of the shopping district. There are plenty of shops and restaurants around the area. There is a shopping arcade just 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Takashimaya department store is 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel. Gion area is about 15 minutes walk from the hotel. There is a subway station about 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

The room itself is not too big, its clean and comfortable.
The lobby is modern and the staffs are very friendly and helpful too. They help me arrange a takkyubin (luggage forwarder) to my next hotel in Osaka.

I highly recommend this hotel and it is a value for money!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kebenarans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    510
    102
    21
    7
See reviews for
416
559
139
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

we stayed here for two nights and thought it was wonderful. Excellent location in the middle of Kyoto. Room was elegant and well appointed. Breakfast was extremely good. Staff, particularly the front desk, were very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

positioned in the very center of the city, between Sanjo - dori and Kawaramachi - dori, is just 4 metro station far from JR Kyoto (cost 250 yen); Kamo river is only 2 minutes walking far away such as typical shopping galleries where you can find everything.
we (me and 2 friends) found a very good offer for a one-night staying at the end of August (12000 yen for a triple room): the room was very big and comfortable, all the furniture was brand newas you can catch just entering the main hall and the building itself; toilet was separated from the bathroom, with a button to keep it warm ! silent air conditioning, perfect pillows, TV, wireless internet (non perfectly functioning).
Staff was international, perfect english speaking and helpful (standard in all Japan.
+ : there's a very good bar just next to the entrance of the hotel perfect fot huge breakfast; Byrger King just in front !
really worth staying there, if you find a good offer !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lupin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The rooms are considerably smaller than the others in the same price bracket we have stayed in since our arrival in Japan. We booked a double room but when we saw it we were disappointed with the size and the (lack of) view. The lady at reception told us that all the double rooms are on the side of the hotel which only looks out at the back of another building, but changed us to a twin room which looked over the busy shopping area, a much nicer view. We were actually upgraded to the Premium floor, which was a nice touch, and the bathroom was definitely bigger, if not the room itself.
Free wifi in the rooms and a great location in the centre close to local train stations and bus stops made this a good pick, but if we had not changed rooms I don't think I would have considered it good value for money.

Room Tip: Even as a couple, book a twin room because the doubles do not have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowybennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

we only stayed in kyoto for a night. we had a lovely stay in this hotel. if we're back in kyoto, we'll definitely book here again. thank you tripadvisors who recommended booking the ladies' floor. it was perfect since they had little details meant for women travellers (like a little jewelry box and ion gadget for skin i think)

staff/reception - friendly and accomodating for giving us suggestions/directions on where we can go

location/views - around 10-15mins walk from the train station, this hotel is NOT near the kyoto station as you'll have to take another line but very convenient in exploring kyoto (gion district, nishiki market, etc) there were plently of malls nearby too

room/bathroom - the hotel/rooms looked just like in the photos, clean and modern. decent size. we had a little couch area. bathroom was clean. toiletries had cleansing oil, etc. there was no room view except some bldgs...

breakfast/food -we just had breakfast in the boulangerie downstairs, great bread, there are other nearby restos you can try; at night there is a vendo near the elevator in the floor where we stayed so that was pretty convenient when we needed some drinks

wifi - they had fast wifi in the lobby, and there was wifi in the rooms

Room Tip: try the women's floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovedollygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Good hotel in a very central and convenient location. Rooms are relatively small and basic but clean and comfortable. Plenty of good restaurants encompassing many cuisines on your doorstep. Good shopping within a short walk and Gion nearby for nightlife. Overall, a good base to explore all that Kyoto has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel was centrally located and made it easy to get around Kyoto. The beds are very comfortable and room was clean. The staff was friendly and helped out with travel plans around the city. We had breakfast once with a discount coupon given to us when we checked in. It was a buffet with some variety. There is also a cafe next door we also used for breakfast. They have great pastries. The only complaint would be the coffee in the room was individual tea bags. Wasn't strong enough for my taste. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a nice size room but we had heard from another couple their room was very small. They just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaobellaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 373 in Kyoto
2,995 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#23 of 373 in Kyoto
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 373 in Kyoto
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto

Property: Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Address: Higashiiru Kawaramachi Sanjodori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8004, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing