We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Ranked #15 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location along Sanjo-dori (third street) and practically next to the Kamo river, surrounded by many eateries and shops, and within walking distance of several attractions including Gion district, Nishiki market and Pontocho lane next to the river where you can find many restaurants. It is however a fair 12-15 minute walk to the nearest north-south subway line station. The only better hotel locations I can think of in Kyoto (having been there several times) is along Shijo-dori (4th street) between the Shijo subway station/Hankyu-Karasuma railway station intersection and the Kamo River; or a hotel within walking distance of the Kyoto central station for the trains to Nara, Osaka, Arashiyama and Kansai airport. I was there during peak autumn and the scenery was breathtaking, even better than during the cherry blossom period.
.
The hotel looks new, with an impressive lobby and bar area. I had a small double room which is good enough for a single person, very clean and comfortable, with air purifier but no view. It's very quiet even though it's on the second floor and next to the lift. No mineral water is provided in the room. For the price I paid, it was very good value for a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UWA_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,497)
There are newer reviews for Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 834 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

The location is great, near to shopping districts and bus stops. We had the three beded room, it makes the room a bit tight with our luggages, but still fine...
Convenient is the word I can describe... there are many restaurants : fast food (Burger King is just opposite the hotel), bakery (hotel downstair), pharmacy (opposite the hotel), family mart (walking distance) and many more!
The service was good, we would not hesitate to recommend it and hope to stay again for our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMY_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I chose this one based on the reviews and how it was centrally located. This place is surrounded by shops and restaurants and about a 15 min walk to the Gion district. The hotel itself was very nice and modern looking and wasn't even that small for US standards. It is a bit pricey, but the atmosphere and location of the Royal Park Hotel merit the extra cost.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located and a few minute walk from the subway station and bus stops which service all the local attractions. The staff are very friendly, helpful and knowledgable.

Wifi is quick and free and breakfast buffet has a very good selection.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickbelluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We weren't expecting a palatial room but when we realised there wasn't even enough space to put both our bags on the floor at the same time we were a tad surprised. Great location which does partly compensate for the cramped living conditions. Make sure you specify non-smoking when you book otherwise you might find they've run out of doubles.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliott1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent 6 nights here in late October and would be hard pressed to find anything to complain about. The hotel appears to be only a few years old and has some very interesting architectural details like the entrance doors being hidden from the street. The hotel's restaurant, La Natura, below the lobby not only serves a great breakfast buffet (both Japanese and Western food) but is beautifully designed. We also ate dinner where the menu is Italian and surprisingly good. Our room on the 6th floor was small by US standards but very well appointed, especially the bathroom with both a deep bathtub and a shower that has the option of a ceiling mounted head. High quality towels and accessories. Staff is excellent with everyone at the front desk speaking English. There are coin operated washers and dryers on the 2nd floor. As others have noted the location is great too with the Teramachi Shopping Arcades beginning just to the west of the hotel and the antique and Gion districts just to the east, all in easy walking distance. Finally, unlike some other reviewers we had no contact with cigarette smoke, either directly or indirectly. We will stay at the Royal Park on our next visit to Kyoto.

Room Tip: There is a "Lady's Only" floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speedroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at this hotel and would definitely go back. As per previous review, the room was clean,quiet and relatively spacious. We also travelled by bus from station- no problem. Lots of great eating and shopping right there.
We loved the Gyoza restaurant at the back of the hotel, just walk down the light path near front door. It's on the 2nd floor next door. Tiny, funky, delicious. Good veggie options as well. For vegetarians there's a fabulous soya specialist shop diagonally opposite the hotel with a restaurant above the shop front. Bliss. Gion is walking distance and worth a stroll.
I also borrowed an adaptor from reception to recharge my camera. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#17 of 374 in Kyoto
3,039 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 374 in Kyoto
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 374 in Kyoto
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto

Address: Higashiiru Kawaramachi Sanjodori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8004, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $124 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing