We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Decent Clean Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Ranked #17 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good Location, Decent Clean Rooms”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Good
1) Good location
2) nice hotel
3) Free internet
4) decent sized rooms for Japan
5) clean room

Bad)
1) Dark black decor
2) inflexible check-in time (we experienced this quite a bit in the land of the rising sun)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    510
    102
    21
    7
See reviews for
418
561
139
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed at Royal Park for three nights in November. It is conveniently located, close to everything. The lobby is nice, and so are the rooms & bathrooms. The ARE on the small side, but then again we're not in Kyoto to hang out in our hotel room. Highly recommended!

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Dusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012, we booked our rooms through Expedia and got very good rates. We made our decision on these reviews and pleased that we did. The hotel is new and clean, the rooms are spotless and very well-appointed, and more than adequate in size (a bit of a squeeze in places, but probably larger than other comparable hotel rooms). The location is ideal - a 5-minute walk from train station, which itself is only about 10 minutes from Kyoto station. Leaving the hotel, turn left and in a 10-minute walk you are in the Ponto-cho and Gion areas of Kyoto. Turn right from the hotel, walk to the lights, cross the road and you are in the Sanjo & Teramachi area - a fascinating mixture of modern shops, markets and temples/shrines. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again most certainly! Just go out and walk, walk, walk - there's so much to discover in Kyoto. Bus services are also handy and convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nzdavid2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Easy to reach from Kyoto-eki; 1200Y by cab or take number #5 citybus to Kawaramachi-Sanjo stop. Closest subway is Kyotoshiyakushomae station which only take about 3 mins walk north, but for better sightseeing take Sanjokeihan station to the east so you can walk along beautiful bridge over Kamogawa River beetwen hotel and station, cost you 2-3 more mins.
Hotel itself have a luxurious lobby with calm dark coloured atmosphere, our twin room was clean and have a very clean-spotless bathroom. Toilet with warmed seat was amaze us :). Single bed was adequate enough for 1 adult and 1 child to sleep together.
Food around hotel was amazing. Cheap delicious gyudon are surrounding the hotel; step outside hotel and you'll find Matsuya on far left, Nakau cross the road, Sukiya on far left. Good japanese home cooking style Ootoya just few step on the left. Marugame soba and two kaiten sushi across each other on your right at Kawaramachi-dori. If you prefer western style fastfood, Burgerking and McD are across the road and starbuck on far left near the bridge.
From Kawaramachi-Sanjo bus stop you can reach most of the top sightseeing spots in Kyoto. I recommend taking cabs for families with young children to reach Kyomizudera, cost about 1000Y from hotel.
This hotel was all about location, Pontocho and Gion was easily reach by foot without a haze. Staff was very helpful with fluent english, they even arrange you luggage if you wish to send them to your next hotel/airport by 'Takyubin', so you'll travel easily without dragging any luggages.
Very recommended hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abihaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Royal Park Hotel is conveniently located near the center of Kyoto, within easy walking distance of the metro line and surrounded by all manner of restaurants, shops, and attractions. While the subway can help you get out to some of the more remote areas, we walked for hours within a three or four mile radius and had plenty to see (temples, landmarks, gardens, the notable Gion district, and restaurants galore).
The hotel itself is very modern (as of our trip, July, 2012) and well decorated in a minimalist, artsy way. No, the rooms are not large, but the bathroom was quite nice, and there was a place to put your luggage so that it wasn't on the floor and you could walk about the room.
Being American, we found it very helpful that one of the desk staff (perhaps the manager?) was born and raised in the USA, so we could easily communicate with him. He offered good suggestions and seemed better able to help us than the concierge.
I would give this a 5 star rating execpt for the fact that it is not a luxury hotel. Within its price range, I think this is an excellent value and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CycleTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Very new, clean and comfortable. Every amenity is catered for (laundry room, vending machines, spacious bath, hairdryer...even a beauty steamer!) The hotel is in a super central location, the Royal Park Hotel, it would be my first preference if I ever came again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NATASIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I think it is a new hotel, as the taxi driver was very surprised, having read its address on Japanese. Our trip by a taxi from the railway station to hotel cost about 9 euros. Let me begin with the positive: - Our registration was very fast, - Our room was very comfortable and clean, -There is a lot of different restaurants nearby, -There are huge shopping areas on the right, - Kyoto is a fantastic city. I do not remember any negative aspects of our stay in this hotel. I would highly recommend you this hotel, it left only pleasant memories in my mind.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roman073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 373 in Kyoto
3,004 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#25 of 373 in Kyoto
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 373 in Kyoto
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto

Property: Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Address: Higashiiru Kawaramachi Sanjodori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8004, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Rakuten, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing