We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Ranked #15 of 395 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Excellent location, very nice, new, modern hotel. Really nice reception and the bar looked very modern and inviting. It was close to a metro stop and lots of sites are accessible by walking, ie. nishiki market, ponchoto, gion, ...etc.

Upon arrival they gave us a smoking room that had been cleaned for non smoking. We could smell smoke and they were very accommadating and gave us a different room. The room was very clean! Bathroom was also very clean and a decent amount of space. Beds were comfortable and clean, in general if I had to be stuck in a hotel room, this would not be a bad one. The hotel had a very modern, sleek, boutique feel.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

947 - 953 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

This is a nice little hotel, in the middle of the city, close to the shopping belts, subway, and a short walk to the city sights.. I resisted taking a cab, and instead figured out the subway system, which was convenient indeed. Nevertheless ended up in the wrong hotel, it is kinda confusing with another similarly-named hotel with a "spa" in it, but fortunately this was very close by..

The hotel was very comfortable. Suffering from a severe backache for some reason, I spent a fair bit of time in my room, which was nice enough, and the bar, which was a delightful and quiet attraction for me. Really loved chilling out with a book at the bar on some evenings..

Strongly recommended..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rj-spark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The Royal Park Hotel is a small design hotel in the heart of Kyoto , with good connection to the train station by bus or metro and walking distance to most of the main tourist signs.
The rooms are small /like in most Japanese hotels/ and cozy, modern and have free Wi-Fi.
The breakfast at 21,000 yen is not included in the price - there is a French style patisserie next door and many other cafes around.
Going back to Kyoto, I would certainly stay at this great hotel again.

Room Tip: There is an excellent Indian restaurant in the same street towards the river - in case you woudl lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boris2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Alright. Out with it: our room was tiny. It was so small, we could barely open our suitcases at the same time. But we were lucky to get any booking on late ish notice for cherry blossom season, and we loved the hotel anyway.

First of all,you feel a soothing modern vibe upon walking in to the hotel. You feel relief...like its all going to be ok!

Ponto Cho is right nearby and we loooooooooved hanging out on Ponto Cho. It never failed us, whether we were dining w my inlaws or going out for a boozy night. So fun.

The hotel staff get things done. Japan is not so English fluent, so this matters.

Medi-ya, Starbucks, boulangerie are all close. Short cab ride to most places you want to be.

The best part was the laundry! Our floor had a wonderful laundry nook. We did a load for cheap...it was good to our clothes. Didn't mess them up. Saved us a fortune in laundry costs. They will do laundry for you, but this is better. Cheap and awesome.

But....bring your own beer when you arrive. There's a fridge, but no contents.

Enjoy!

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank DallasFlysolofemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Very good location and comfortable hotel. It is within walking distance from Gion and most of the shops and restaurants in Kyoto. A little bit pricey, though

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_cooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We arrived to Kyoto by Shinkansen. You can get a taxi from Kyoto station for around 1200 yen, or get a bus. Bus is 220 yen per person flat rate anywhere within city limits. I'd suggest going to the tourist information in the station as they speak many languages, and they can best explain how to get to the hotel! (and provide you with much needed and very useful maps). The hotel was easy to find, and very modern. Low level lighting in lobby
gives it a very cool feel. Staff are excellent very helpful and accommodating, with excellent English.
We got a high floor room as requested. Did not hear a sound at all from other guests, despite being near elevators, the sound proofing is excellent!!! Most floors have a drinks vending machine and there is a coin operated laundry on 2nd floor. We had a standard twin room, which was actually rather spacious by Japanese hotel standards! Tv had 3 or 4 English channels.
Free wifi was excellent had no problems with connectivity. Beds slightly on the firm side but still comfy! Room has a fridge, desk, small
table, 2 chairs and safe. Bathroom had bath and a very cool japanese toilet :) complimentary toiletries replaced daily.
Small hanging space for clothes.
I would definitely recommend the bakery on the corner for breakfast :) delicious!!!! The hotel is 5 stars for location absolutely superb!! Turn left and you have the river and Pontocho alley, and Gion district. Turn right for shops, shops, shops!! Family mart round the back of hotel for snacks, water etc. Coffee provided in Room! Bus stops and subway 2 minute walk so you can go wherever you like cheaply and easily! We got a good deal on hotels.com for £83 per night (2people) and we only booked 2 weeks in advance so you can probably get an even better deal if you plan ahead!! An amazing hotel great price, great rooms, great staff and great location! LOVED it! :)

Tip: great Italian restaurant turn left out of hotel, on the same road as hotel 1 minute walk, it's on the river side & great food! Also, Nijo castle is a must.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RayleighTasha_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The hotel is brand new and very well located, it is walking distance to Gion (Geisha district) and to the restaurants area next to the canal. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle4-7-2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 395 in Kyoto
3,117 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#17 of 395 in Kyoto
921 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#22 of 395 in Kyoto
1,295 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto

Address: Higashiiru Kawaramachi Sanjodori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8004, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 395 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $89 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing